We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Epicurean Fine Foods

$$
French, Cafe, Seafood, Bistro
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
84 Queen St | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-3408
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Tue 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wed - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 463 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 160
    Excellent
  • 168
    Very good
  • 69
    Average
  • 35
    Poor
  • 31
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good

The food is simple but great. You grab whatever you want and then go outside to the patio at the back. It was very nice. Keep in mind that this is a quick grab lunch and not a sit down with waitresses.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
Nitsan W
,
Toronto, Canada
Good for:
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

463 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

First, all food is overpriced in Niagara-on-the-Lake. You are paying for the privilege of soaking up the character and atmosphere of the town. Something about this cute little town makes one want to spend money. Having said that, you really do not get your money's worth here. Husband and I both had the curried chicken salad sandwich. It was rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

Delicious, fresh, and great service. We were looking for somewhere to eat that wasn't just fish and chips and greasiness. Epicurean fit the bill perfectly. Best on the street!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

From the delicious food to the amazing and attentive service staff everthing was excellent! We will positively be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW

The only positive about our experience here was the well prepared entrees. Halibut for my wife and short ribs for me. The basic Cesar salad was made with iceberg lettuce not Romaine. The staff explained that considering the amount of salad they served the cost of Romaine was just too high. The $10 for the Cesar with iceberg seems high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your Cesaer. Salad. I can assure you that it was made with Romain lettuce. We do not have iceberg lettuce in the restaurant as we do not use it for anything, and never have. A server would have no idea about the cost of lettuce, and was completely speaking out of turn if they... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Prices extremely expensive for what you get. My wife wanted a simple salad which itself was $9.....the ham she wanted with it was another $6.50! A basic ham salad for over $15!!!! Staff were moody and not very helpful. Very basic lunch for 4 adults and 2 children worked out to be $70. Rip off.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at The Epicurean. Our large Garden Salad plate is $8.75. I am sorry to say, you were overcharged for the ham. I wish yiu had questioned it at the time. As to the price of your lunch for 6 people, a reminder that 13% of your $70 was tax, making your actual... More 

Philadelphia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

This has really gone downhill in the past few years. Food is uninspired, patio at the back has a garden that hasn't been kept up and blares loud pop music. Service at dinner was begrudging. Not much for vegetarians either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

The food is simple but great. You grab whatever you want and then go outside to the patio at the back. It was very nice. Keep in mind that this is a quick grab lunch and not a sit down with waitresses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

The patio here is especially nice, large, open and set under a beautiful tree. Our food was wonderful too and the service can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

My chicken entree was absolutely perfect and the outdoor atmosphere was very pleasant. My husband felt his charcuterie selection was good but overpriced. Would return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Hope, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

Our visit to The Epicurian last night did not, as usual, disappoint. Prompt friendly service (thanks Amy!) and great food, The New York strip loin was perfectly done (medium) and the frites also hit the mark. Fabulous asparagus too. I snuck a bite of my wife's Seafood Risoto (the scallops particularly) and I was reminded of the scallops in Digby,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Epicurean Fine Foods also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Epicurean Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 84 Queen St | Ontario, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Phone Number: +1 905-468-3408

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 29
  • Cuisine: French, Cafe, Seafood, Bistro

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Epicurean Fine Foods staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?