We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 84 Niagara-on-the-Lake Restaurants

Epicurean Fine Foods

84 Queen St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
905.468.3408
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Price range: $5 - $29
Hours:
Sun - Tue 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wed - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Cuisines: Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    128
    51
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

8 of us went to dinner, and it seemed they never had such a large party. The service was below our expectations. The seasonal drink list wasn't updated, so after trying to order three drinks that weren't available, the only choices were locally crafted beer or a martini. It was hamburger night, and it just wasn't that good. The atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding The Epicurean. I am sorry you found your experience to be less than you expected. It was unfortunate that the evening was so busy, and so many people came without reservations. We try our best to accommodate everyone, and yes, we were short staffed. As to the décor, we offer a casual dinning experience... More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We always like to try new restaurants and Fabulicious is a good way to do that. We chose this restaurant because we loved the Fabulicious menu (fixed price menu: $35.00 for app, entree and dessert). Found out after we arrived that we could have brought our own wine with us. Service was quite slow but limited servers and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My husband and I and a group of friends went to dinner for the theme night at the Bistro (Wednesdays and Thursdays), this time Brazilian. We had all eaten lunch at The Epicuran in the past so we thought we would give the Bistro a try. We were allowed to bring our own wine with no corkage fee. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

I don't even want to take time to write anything about this. I felt ripped off. The quality of the food was poor. I wouldn't go back. I'd rather get a pre made sandwich in the fridge at a Starbucks...something I totally avoid doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

I wish you had more specific in your comments. All our food is made fresh daily, and we use only top ingredients for everything. As to our pricing, we are better priced that many establishments on the street. I recently had lunch with a friend at another restaurant and paid $30.26 plus tip for 2 sandwiches, 1 coffee and 1... More 

Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Situated on Queen St in the heart of the prettiest town in Canada, right across from the George theatre, this cafeteria style eatery offers sandwiches, quiche, salads and soups that are pretty good, and fairly reasonably priced. My grilled ham and brie ( with Dijon mustard, lettuce and tomato) was very satisfying ($12.00 )and the veg. quiche special of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

It's kind of been a tradition for my wife and I that when we go to Niagara Falls, we also stop at Niagara-on-the-Lake, and have lunch (typically Ham and Swiss sandwiches) at The Epicurean. This will probably be the last time we go there. The prices have increased and the quantity of actual ingredients (with the exception of the size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

My response to you did not get posted for some reason, but I want to thank you for your comments. Yes, prices have gone up. There was a large increase in minimum wage this year, the price of product has gone up, etc. Unfortunately, these increases, as in any industry, all get passed on to the consumer. All our sandwiches... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

While the food was very tasty, all the tables around us turned over while we waited for our dinners. We sat a full hour and 15 mins. before our dinner arrived, with no explanation as to the delay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The Epicurean. I am sorry you did not have a good experience with service. I have brought this up to our manager, and can only hope that it doesn't happen in the future. We try our best to deliver both good food and good service, and we rely... More 

Rochester, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

The rest rooms were very tired and dirty. Doesn't this say something more about the hygiene in the restaurant???

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruth A, Owner at Epicurean Fine Foods, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments re our washrooms. I couldn't agree more. We did a makeover this Spring, and I thought the sinks were just what we needed. Perfect size and shape. However, counter mounted sinks tend to splash very badly, and as a result water has gotten in to the new counter tops and made a mess. We will... More 

Dunnville, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I had a leg of lamb with a great selection of steamed vegetables. Good wine selection. Servers who understand the menu and wines that compliment the meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Epicurean is one of my favorite restaurants. Great staff and amazing food. I've been coming here for over six years and it never disappoints :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 5

Travelers who viewed Epicurean Fine Foods also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to Epicurean Fine Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epicurean Fine Foods

Address: 84 Queen St, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number: 905.468.3408
Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 5 - 29
Cuisine: Café, Bistro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Epicurean Fine Foods staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?