We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Olde Angel Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
+ Add cuisine
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
224 Regent Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
+1 905-468-3411
Website
Add hours for The Olde Angel Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa...
Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!
read more
Good for:
Bar scene
Dining on a budget

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 834 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 415
    Excellent
  • 302
    Very good
  • 79
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
The Angel Inn never disappoints

Stopped at the Angel in on a Friday night for some live music and lively atmosphere. Both were top notch. It's a great haunt for locals and tourists alike, with a great sense of community. Had to return for a leisurely lunch on Saturday afternoon. Fish n' chips was delicious - melt in your mouth... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
Meagan M
,
Toronto, Canada
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Dining on a budget
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

834 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Stopped at the Angel in on a Friday night for some live music and lively atmosphere. Both were top notch. It's a great haunt for locals and tourists alike, with a great sense of community. Had to return for a leisurely lunch on Saturday afternoon. Fish n' chips was delicious - melt in your mouth batter and some of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Meagan M; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad to hear that The Olde Angel Inn provided you with everything that you were looking for and I have to agree that we never disappoint as we have so much to offer under 1 roof. Next time you visit us you might want to book... More 

Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 NEW

We went for a drive to Niagara Falls and on to Niagara-on-the-Lake, a historic area with buildings dating back to the War of 1812-14. One such historic building contains the Olde Angel Inn. It was busy (being March Break for the public schools), but our server was very efficient and we had menus immediately ice water shortly afterward, and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello David S; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to our Pub as you will find that you do get a lot of food here, as we give good value for the money. All our food is made freshly each day and it is home-made. As you did indicate, that... More 

Buffalo, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We love everything about the Olde Angel Inn - the ambiance, the food, the beer and the crowd that frequents this bar. We stop in every time we're in NOTL. I highly recommend it - even just to stop in and have a pint!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Dianascott_13; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's nice to hear that you enjoy coming to The Olde Angel Inn and you always have a great time here. This is what you will find at The Angel, it's a place that we offer everything, from a great ambiance, delicious food, live music, fantastic beverages and... More 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We are locals and this is one of our favourite spots! Terrific food, terrific staff, fun atmosphere. Last time we were there, Stephanie gave us great service. Famous for their fish & chips, best in town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello thelambsden2010; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's always nice to hear from our locals as this is one of the key factors that makes The Olde Angel Inn such a fun place to be. To come into a local establishment and enjoy in some camaraderie amongst other locals and tourists makes this place so... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Stopped bye on Friday for dinner and a guiness. We ordered the pub style fish and chips, the fish awesome the chips had to be the worst I have ever had total mush over cooked not edible . Our wiater dropped them off at our table ask us everything was before we had a chance to answer he was gone.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Robert K; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your fish, but sorry to hear that you did not have a chance to voice your opinion about the fries, because we would have changed them immediately if you were not satisfied with them. Actually they are very much a... More 

Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Despite regular visits to Niagara-on-the-Lake, it had been more than 30 years since I last visited the Olde Angel Inn, and that is most unfortunate as this is a very unique establishments, historic in nature, great service, and good tasting, traditional pub food. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello yankeefan730; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm so glad you had a chance to stop by again after 30 years. Not too many people can say they revisited an establishment in over that long and still have it operating successfully, just goes to show you that good things do last! Now that the better... More 

Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Let me start by saying that we have eaten at this pub many times over the past 15 years. We are very rarely in NOTL on a Sunday night, so we were excited to finally try their roast dinner with yorkshire pudding. We asked the waitress for medium beef, she replied it was all medium, Okay great. We got plates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Holakat; Thank you for taking the time to write your review and give us your feedback. We are sorry that you did not get what you were asking for, nor had the chance to fully respond to your server. In regards to the Roast beef, your server was in-correct in saying that it all came "medium" as it is... More 

Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Bartender was very helpful with drink and food suggestions. Nice atmosphere! We ate there for lunch and enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jenny H; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad to hear that our knowledgeable serving staff was able to give you some suggestions and make your visit a pleasant one. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Anna More 

Welland, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

This historic bar always offers a selection of people to talk to even if you are alone. The bands usually bring in a more mature crowd but everyone is there to have a good time. They have lots of seating for people who want less noise as well. The food is delicious. I have never been disappointed with a visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sarah B; Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm happy to hear you had a great experience and were able to meet some of the locals and other guests that evening. The Olde Angel Inn is always a great place to meet people and enjoy many of our local bands. It's the place to be... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

Good location and great pub food with a great selection of draft beers from all over. However the beers were served too cold!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldeAngelInn, Front Office Manager at The Olde Angel Inn, responded to this review

Hello Traveller201040; Thank you for taking the time to write your review and sharing in your experience. Actually that is the first time we had a review stating that our beer was too cold? I know many Europeans are accustomed to warmer beer, but I guess it is subjective to the person drinking it. We do hope you will stop... More 

Travelers who viewed The Olde Angel Inn also viewed

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario
 

Been to The Olde Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 224 Regent Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S1J0, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Ontario  >  Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Phone Number: +1 905-468-3411

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 32

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget

Description

Step through the doors and back into history! The Olde Angel Inn (Circa 1789 - burned down as a result of the war of 1812 and rebuilt in 1815) is situated in the heart of the historic district. We have 5 cosy, comfortable historic rooms and we are a short stroll to the Main Street and Shaw Festival Theatre; as well as a short drive to many of the local wineries. We offer hearty British Pub fare as well as 24 selections of draught beer on tap and 17 different wines by the glass. Live entertainment is provided on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights (Wednesday during peak season). Stop by and visit Canada's prettiest town!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Olde Angel Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?