We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Baton Rouge

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1877 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J1W5, Canada (Lower Water)
Scotia Square and Waterfront transit stops are within walking distance.
+1 902-407-0007
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Wed 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thu - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene
Description: Baton Rouge Halifax is located in the heart of Historic Downtown...
Baton Rouge Halifax is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Halifax.Specializing in fall-off-the-bone Back Ribs,Reserve AAA steaks and daily fresh local seafood.Immerse yourself in a combination of rich history and delicious food, tied together by maritime hospitality that is second to none and remembered by all
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 246 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 91
    Excellent
  • 85
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Good job after reservation mixup

We booked online reservations for a family birthday only to discover on arrival the restaurant was closed for a function. The manager called the next day and apologized but also mailed a gift certificate. This turned a bad situation good. My family returned last week and had a truly wonderful... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Kathryn J
,
Lunenburg, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked online reservations for a family birthday only to discover on arrival the restaurant was closed for a function. The manager called the next day and apologized but also mailed a gift certificate. This turned a bad situation good. My family returned last week and had a truly wonderful meal with great service and atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn J
Moncton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I were both in Halifax for business and decided to try the Baton Rouge restaurant. It was suggested by a few of our friends so we were looking forward to it. We ordered an appetizer, a bottle of wine and steak meals for both of us. Twenty minutes after waiting for our meals, a man (not our... More 

Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller917
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review and to let us know that your dining experience with us was a very disappointing one. At Baton Rouge we have set high standards for the servers as well as for our food quality and presentation. It appears that the standards were not met on the... More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 4th visit to Baton Rouge Halifax and this restaurant never seems to disappoint. From the atmosphere, to the food, to the service....everything was top notch. Each time we come to the restaurant we order something different and always leave stuffed and satisfied. Can't wait to return!!

Helpful?
Thank Sheylene K
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is wonderful to know that your dining experience with us was an enjoyable one. I hope to have you dine with us again very soon. Donna Orr Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had to wait quite long to get seated and then to order on a quiet Tuesday night. Food was ok but burgers were nothing special, streak was tough and chicken rather tasteless. Good location but rather disappointing

Helpful?
Thank Indivisor
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am disappointed that your dining experience with us was not a a great one. I would like if you could email me at info@batonrougehalifax.ca or call 902-407-0007 so we can discuss this in more detail. Donna Orr Manager More 

New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been to 2 different Baton Rouge Locations and they never seem to let me down. This place has amazing food, Some might say the price is on the high side. However I think it's right on par with the quality of food and service you receive. I would totally recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food, service... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoshMatte
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our restaurant. I am extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal and that our service was exceptional. I look forward to your next visit. Donna Orr Manager More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Checked into our hotel The Hilton, which is on Brunswick street. Convent as it is close to everything, made reservations a week in advance and and got seated up stairs in a very relaxing both with dim light but the atmosphere was very celebratory and relaxed. Got there ten mints to reservation time, was told to wait as a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. New Year's Eve was a busy evening but thankfully it went very smoothly. I am happy to know your evening with us was a success. I have to agree, our Chicken Tenders are wonderful. Please join us again soon. Our menu is amazing. Donna Orr Manager More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in downtown Halifax for one night and decided to go Baton Rouge. Location was easily accessible and close to many attractions. I tried an appetizer and one of the burgers and both where delicious. Plates where full at a great price.

Helpful?
Thank Justin632
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that you had a great dining experience. We hope that you can dine with us again soon. Donna Orr Manager More 

Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2016

me and friends work in an office close to baton rouge so we often go on Fridays for their rib special. only on one of many occasions were the ribs not 10/10 but our service is almost always bad, one time the debit machines were down and we were pinched for time getting back to work so our server told... More 

Helpful?
Thank katie j
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you love our food however it disappoints me that you feel the lunch service is "deplorable". My suggestion for you, because you have a limited amount of time on your lunch hour, is to call the restaurant in the morning and pre-order your lunch with the time of your... More 

MONCTON, NB
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We had reserved online for NYE. The reservation system was great, we picked the time we wanted. They called to remind us of the reservation. The service was awesome like it always is. Due to the busiest night of the year probably the food was all really good. The only complaint I could give was the fries were a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank NADIADON
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time ti write a review of your New Year's Eve dinner. It pleases me to hear that it was a great success. We look forward to you dining with us again in 2016. Donna Orr More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

Three of us had the ribs and we were all very satisfied (fall-off -the -bone ribs). Large quantities. 16oz was $28. Nice atmosphere and warm atmosphere. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Bill K
Gaetan C, Manager at Baton Rouge, responded to this review

Thank you for this great review. I have to agree, our ribs are fall off the bone delicious. On Fridays between the hours of 11 am to 4 pm, we have our 10 oz rack of ribs and fries for $10. Hope to see you soon. Donna Orr More 

Travelers who viewed Baton Rouge also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1877 Hollis Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J1W5, Canada
    (Lower Water)
  • Public Transportation: Scotia Square and Waterfront transit stops are within walking distance.
  • Location: Canada  >  Nova Scotia  >  Halifax Region  >  Halifax
  • Phone Number: +1 902-407-0007

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 14 - 32
  • Cuisine: Steakhouse

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
  • Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene

Description

Baton Rouge Halifax is located in the heart of Historic Downtown Halifax.Specializing in fall-off-the-bone Back Ribs,Reserve AAA steaks and daily fresh local seafood.Immerse yourself in a combination of rich history and delicious food, tied together by maritime hospitality that is second to none and remembered by all
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Baton Rouge and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Halifax, Canada
7 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Baton Rouge staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?