We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar

$$
Downtown
American, International, Canadian, Family Fare
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
891 Homer Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5V 3P6, Canada
+1 604-687-6107
Website
Today
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 12:00 am
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Thu 10:00 am - 1:00 am
Fri 10:00 am - 2:00 am
Sat 9:00 am - 2:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At...
Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At Subeez we make room for everyone. We do not discriminate against age, race, gender, sexuality, politics or musical taste. However, you’d better still be a Canucks/Lions fan.We take reservations for all sizes -- up to 225 people.There is a beauty here.
read more
Good for:
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 80 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 16
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 15
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Third times the charm

Food came out cold and overcooked. Sent it back twin then it was mediocre at best. Management didn't discount anything for the 1 wait it took to get our breakfast. Your better off waiting in line for an hour at Cafe medina down the street . Way better options in the city

1 of 5 starsReviewed January 2, 2015
WordTraveller250604
,
Vancouver
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Food came out cold and overcooked. Sent it back twin then it was mediocre at best. Management didn't discount anything for the 1 wait it took to get our breakfast. Your better off waiting in line for an hour at Cafe medina down the street . Way better options in the city

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

First off... worst experience ever, anywhere!. We had a reservation for a large party on a very quiet night. Multiple servers, including the owner, took our orders for appys and drinks. It was utter chaos. Not sure how they tried to communicate this, but i waited 45 minutes for a glass of water with lime (despite reminding one or more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
vancouver
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We dropped in to Subeez prior to a hockey game. It wasn't very busy and we assumed, as such, that we would receive prompt service and our dinners would arrive without delay. We were wrong. Service was awful. The waitress seemed more interested in welcoming old friends and employees, shuffling menus, and tidying up around the bar than serving us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

My wife and I found Subeez years ago and we often went out of our way to go there whenever we were in town as we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. We walked about 6 blocks after a movie on a beautiful Sunday night and arrived at 7:00; the place looked dead. Before being seated our server advised us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Made a reservation at Subeez last night for 22 people for my birthday. I was never notified that the menu was going to be shrunk in half because we were a large party; so this turned out to be a big inconvenience as most of us had already browsed the menu beforehand and picked our choices and were then told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

This was my favorite stop for a drink and quick bite to eat when I came downtown when I shop or see a movie in town. I've rated this place before very favorably and come here often but just the other day I must say I was not impressed with some changes that have been made. I came in for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

On the surface, it seems like a fine place. The restaurant itself has nice decor and decent food. The staff is nice enough. But when you get down to it, it is a very poorly managed and it is evident this had a huge effect on the wait and kitchen staff. My main complaint is that the ladies washroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This place used to be good. Now it's downright awful. Food took forever, when it arrived both dishes were missing ingredients. My bf ordered a burger and it was awful, he felt terrible for hours afterwards. My pasta was poorly seasoned and featured asparagus cooked within an inch of its life. Gross.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Subeez, Marketing Manager at Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar, responded to this review

Dear Emily, Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the meal you experienced. We realize we did not meet your expectations or ours. At Subeez we work very hard to maintain high standards for our food and overall restaurant experience. We believe strongly that you expect and deserve nothing less! We know we did not reach... More 

Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Went here the night before we ran the Seawheeze half marathon. They food is good. Well seasoned, (not salty and lacking like most places) huge portions and great presentation. The patio is comfortable and clean. The restaurant itself is really unique. Great atmosphere. The prices are excellent. Their "pints" of beer are small. I found the wait staff to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farhad M, Marketing Manager at Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar, responded to this review

Dear btlbaby, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy you enjoyed the food the atmosphere. We would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of service and attention you received during your last visit. We care deeply about our customers and the experience they have when they visit us. We would like you to know... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Brunch on two Sunday afternoons in May. On the first occasion the restaurant was busy with a 'buzz'. Food was good (braised pork hash - $13.65 inc tax, steak sandwich -$16.80 inc tax, Egg Benedict - $12.50 inc tax), service friendly and efficient (but see below!!!!),Wine - a Pinot Grigio at $35 ($8.50 per glass) was fine. The odd -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farhad M, Marketing Manager at Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar, responded to this review

Dear budd4y, Thanks for your review! We are happy you enjoyed our service and food. I am deeply sorry to hear you have been overcharged. We have a new management team and we care deeply about our customers and the experience they have when they visit us. We would like you to know that your comments have been forwarded to... More 

Travelers who viewed Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 891 Homer Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5V 3P6, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver>  > Downtown
  • Neighborhood: Downtown
  • Phone Number: +1 604-687-6107

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 24
  • Cuisine: American, International, Canadian, Family Fare

Description

Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At Subeez we make room for everyone. We do not discriminate against age, race, gender, sexuality, politics or musical taste. However, you’d better still be a Canucks/Lions fan.We take reservations for all sizes -- up to 225 people.There is a beauty here.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
10:00 am - 1:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 2:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 2:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Subeez Cafe/Restaurant/Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?