We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2,811 Vancouver Restaurants

The Fish Shack

1026 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-678-1049
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #335 of 2,811 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $9 - $15
Hours:
Sun 10:30 am - 1:00 am
Mon - Thu 11:30 am - 1:00 am
Fri 11:30 am - 2:00 am
Sat 10:30 am - 2:00 am
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nelson & Granville
Transit: Public transit offers accessibility to every Lower Mainland destination within one minute of The Fish Shack's front door. Choose from the bus, the Skytrain, Seabus or taxis.
Description: From the fisherman’s ship to the Granville Street strip – here, the seafood is as fresh as the crowd. So roll up your sleeves, tie on a bib, grab a mallet and dig in – The Fish Shack has arrived.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    48
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014 NEW

Second time coming in here and it was even better than the first. I was solo this time and they treated me like a queen. Complimentary mocktail and then a complimentary dessert! Yes, I know this is not common and was not expected, but definitely appreciated. The staff was just so lovely and I guess they could just see I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ladysmith, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Always like trying seafood places when in Vancouver and this one was close to where our friends were staying. They ordered the Clam chowder and we ordered fish taco lunch box dinners. The clam chowder was very ordinary and watered down and my wife makes a killer seafood chowder, so they can get that recipe from Canadian Living magazine and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

Hi Brian. We agree that when a guest leaves feeling that it was ok...it is not ok. Your review has been passed on to the management and kitchen team so that each of your comments can be immediately addressed. We'd like to speak with you directly about your visit. Please email marketing@glowbalgroup.com with your TripAdvisor username and we will follow... More

Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Staff is super friendly, decor is great. I ordered the trout and it was very boney. I was picking fish bones out of my mouth all night. It was not enjoyable. I was embarrassed. I barely enjoyed the fish. I have had de-boned trout before and it makes all the difference. They have a great concept. My suggestion. Give the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

Hi there. I'm very sorry to hear of your recent experience. Embarrassed is never how we want our guests to leave feeling and I'm very sorry that you did. Please know that any dish that our guests are not 100% satisfied with, we are always happy to immediately replace it. As this fish is served whole, bones remain within the... More

GRIMSBY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Service was poor and food was at best lukewarm. Certainly not the place to go to actually enjoy the company of those with whom you are eating. The volume of background music prevented any conversation at a reasonable decibel level and we were crammed in a lot like sardines! Waitresses seemed to have too many tables to service with any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

Hi there. I'm very sorry to hear that we did not live up to the recommendation and you did not enjoy your time with us. Please know that we will be following up with each and every one of your comments to ensure that they get addressed. We'd like to speak with you about your recent visit. Please email marketing@glowbalgroup.com... More

Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We split the small fisherman's catch and it was one of the best meals I've had in a while. The seafood was incredibly fresh! It was plenty of food for two people. The restaurant décor was very neat with a lot of fishing items.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

LOVE the Fisherman's Catch! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back at The Fish Shack again soon. More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Really nicely decorated interior. I sat at the exterior bar bench so I could people watch, where air is cooler & less noise from a rowdy interior. I had a Teaser of Clam Chowder which was pleasant. Oysters came next a Malpeque from prince Edward Island & a Kusshi from Cortes Island both beautifully presented on ice. My main was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

Wonderful to hear! Many thanks for joining us on Granville Street! More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

And buck a shuck oysters everyday from opening until 5pm is the best! try there Fish and chips so good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

Thanks for the shout out! Great to have you at The Fish Shack. More

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This turned out to be not so much a treat as a it was a nothing really special. As a neighbourhood place, it is not bad for good fish but the wait staff did not know the kind of oysters and the was was all right but not great. Good concept but like all the Glowbal restaurants, it was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have passed them on to the General Manager. More

SEATTLE
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

It is noisy or lively, depending on one's attitude. It is the sibling restaurant to an upscale seafood restaurant. The quality of the fish was high. It was reasonably priced and our waiter was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Tonight was the 3 and final night at the Fish Shack, and it was one of the worst experiences I've ever had. Nearly 1 hour for 3 prawn appy. Meal was luke warm, and the waiter lied to us about why it took so long. First I should explain that we had a gift card for the restaurant, hence our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at The Fish Shack, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear about your experiences with us. Thank you for your review, it's hearing from our guests that allows us to continuously improve. We would like to follow up with you, please email marketing@glowbalgroup.com with your Trip Advisor username and any further feedback/comments you may have. More

Travelers who viewed The Fish Shack also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The Fish Shack?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing