We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
102 - 5281 Rutherford Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
250-585-5337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 283 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Hours:
Wed - Sun 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nelson street
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    12
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Me and my wife went here for our anniversary. It was perfect! Excellent service! The food was absolutely amazing and by far the best quality and preparation I've had in a very long time! We will be back alot. Thank you for a amazing dinning experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Had to say I was not impressed with the food. If I wanted fries with my steak I would have gone to mcdonalds. The restaurant was nice but the view was bland. It was also way too expensive for what I recieved. The staff were ok but seemed more busy with chatting between themselves. Personally...I wouldn't go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marktartisandeli, Owner at Hilltop Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Lucille C! Thanks so much for your feedback! Sorry it took so long to reply, the christmas season is always a little hectic! We're sorry you think our Unique Handmade Organic Products are over priced! When you can purchase a pallet of beef at costco for $20 it's sometimes difficult to relate to the costs of ingredients not produced... More 

Tofino, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

It's been two years since our first visit to this lovely little restaurant. Mostly because we seem to be in Nanaimo on the nights they close. Luckily it was open today, and it is still lovely. My husband had the daily pate and a special scallop dish. He loved them. My endive salad with blue cheese and walnuts was delicious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nanaimo bc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

there are 3 course dinner specials which can be chosen from the menu. The ingredients were quality and fresh, preparation and presentation were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

This is food cooked properly by someone who clearly knows how to cook food right. The server is one of the best servers I have ever had even in Vancouver. I actually asked her what she was doing in Nanaimo when she could clearly be excelling in a bigger city. This is a great little place and should be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Restaurant is hidden in a strip mall, no left turn if on "wrong side" of Rutherford Road. But once inside, warm and inviting, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Big window into kitchen so from where we sat, could watch staff carefully assembling food. Moderate sized, but often changing menu. Local sources, fresh food, nicely prepared and presented with real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My friend took me to Hilltop for my birthday. We shared everything and we didn't have one dish we didn't like. Our server is one of the best servers EVER. Witty and knows her stuff. Nothing was over the top ridiculous in price. In fact, I think it's better priced than the Cactus Club!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you can afford to pay a little more you have to have dinner here because it is worth it. The menu changes with the season. Each time we've been here we have taken guests and have all been impressed. It's too bad they are not open for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My wife and I had a really great experience here. Service, food, and atmosphere are top notch. I would highly recommend this restaurant and plan to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We just returned from our first visit to the Hilltop Bistro for a 65th birthday celebration. We will be returning very soon for another delicious meal. The food was exceptional as was the service, the ambience, and the value. TEN OUT OF TEN!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Bistro also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Hilltop Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Bistro

Address: 102 - 5281 Rutherford Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Phone Number: 250-585-5337
Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Nanaimo
Open Hours:
Sunday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 30 - 30
Cuisine: Contemporary

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hilltop Bistro and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?