We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilltop Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Contemporary
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
102 - 5281 Rutherford Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada (Nelson street)
250-585-5337
Website
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Casual Dining

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 96 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Perfect in every way!

Wow!! Just wow. I have soooo many food allergies that eating out is generally impossible. Eating at hilltop was not only delicious, but was also worry free as the chef and servers were so helpful and accommodating. All of the food was if a very high quality, the service impeccable and the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 21, 2015
JeannieMae
,
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Good for:
  • Casual Dining
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Wow!! Just wow. I have soooo many food allergies that eating out is generally impossible. Eating at hilltop was not only delicious, but was also worry free as the chef and servers were so helpful and accommodating. All of the food was if a very high quality, the service impeccable and the surroundings intimate and classy. Can't wait to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Five of us celebrated a family birthday and were all impressed by the food, service, and knowledgeable staff. Our visitors from Calgary continually comment on the quality of restaurants in Nanaimo and this is one of their (and our) new favourites.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Me and my wife went here for our anniversary. It was perfect! Excellent service! The food was absolutely amazing and by far the best quality and preparation I've had in a very long time! We will be back alot. Thank you for a amazing dinning experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Had to say I was not impressed with the food. If I wanted fries with my steak I would have gone to mcdonalds. The restaurant was nice but the view was bland. It was also way too expensive for what I recieved. The staff were ok but seemed more busy with chatting between themselves. Personally...I wouldn't go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Marktartisandeli, Owner at Hilltop Bistro, responded to this review

Hello Lucille C! Thanks so much for your feedback! Sorry it took so long to reply, the christmas season is always a little hectic! We're sorry you think our Unique Handmade Organic Products are over priced! When you can purchase a pallet of beef at costco for $20 it's sometimes difficult to relate to the costs of ingredients not produced... More 

Tofino, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

It's been two years since our first visit to this lovely little restaurant. Mostly because we seem to be in Nanaimo on the nights they close. Luckily it was open today, and it is still lovely. My husband had the daily pate and a special scallop dish. He loved them. My endive salad with blue cheese and walnuts was delicious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nanaimo bc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

there are 3 course dinner specials which can be chosen from the menu. The ingredients were quality and fresh, preparation and presentation were excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

This is food cooked properly by someone who clearly knows how to cook food right. The server is one of the best servers I have ever had even in Vancouver. I actually asked her what she was doing in Nanaimo when she could clearly be excelling in a bigger city. This is a great little place and should be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Restaurant is hidden in a strip mall, no left turn if on "wrong side" of Rutherford Road. But once inside, warm and inviting, very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff. Big window into kitchen so from where we sat, could watch staff carefully assembling food. Moderate sized, but often changing menu. Local sources, fresh food, nicely prepared and presented with real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My friend took me to Hilltop for my birthday. We shared everything and we didn't have one dish we didn't like. Our server is one of the best servers EVER. Witty and knows her stuff. Nothing was over the top ridiculous in price. In fact, I think it's better priced than the Cactus Club!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you can afford to pay a little more you have to have dinner here because it is worth it. The menu changes with the season. Each time we've been here we have taken guests and have all been impressed. It's too bad they are not open for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Bistro also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Hilltop Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 102 - 5281 Rutherford Road, Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
    (Nelson street)
  • Location: Canada  >  British Columbia  >  Vancouver Island  >  Nanaimo
  • Phone Number: 250-585-5337

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 30 - 30
  • Cuisine: Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Casual Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hilltop Bistro and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?