We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,964 Edmonton Restaurants

Szechuan Castle

15415 111 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
(780) 484-6060
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #576 of 1,964 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Chinese, Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: We are located in Edmonton.We have been voted # 1 by Edmontonians for over the past 24 years. After your first bite! You'll know why. Our customer's have said..."Szechuan Castle has the tastiest Chinese food in Edmonton". In business since 1989,Szechuan Castle is fully licensed. Szechuan Castle is dedicated to providing the best Szechuan style cuisine experience in Edmonton. We want to share the rich flavors and culture of china through our food.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Went to the buffet the other night and the food was good. Had the fruit salad for desert. Good greeter and servers in the restaurant . I would come in again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Steven V, We love it when new customers like you write us such a great simple straight forward review. Glad to hear that you had a nice dining experience at Szechuan castle. Thank you! for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor chinese food lovers. Have a good day!. See you again. More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

After hearing Szechuan Castle Had great food we decided we would try it. Ordered a meal for 4 and some extra egg rolls, we paid over 50 dollars for our meal and picked it up ourselves. Our chicken balls were not fully cooked. My 6 year old niece was eating with us and ONLY eats the chicken balls so she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Sarahdal,Sorry! to hear that you felt the chicken balls were undercooked. I think we were more than fair seeing that this was a pickup order and we decided to drive to your home and refund you for the chicken balls. We're glad to hear that you found...Everything else in the order was fine.We apologize again for being late to... More

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I have eaten here for many years, usually at lunch time. I have always been greeted by friendly staff and seated quickly. The buffet items are very good and are constantly being refilled. This restaurant is clean and well kept. My guests have always been happy with what they ate and I have no problem recommending to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Peter S, We are very pleased to hear that you've been a happy customer for many years. And it's nice to hear that your guests have enjoyed Szechuan castle's chinese food buffet and friendly staff too. Thank you! for taking the time to write such a great Szechuan castle review. Have nice day! and we'll see you again soon. More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Some really great tasting foods. Quite authentic. Every dish has a separate flavour that was unique for a buffet place. Kids liked it so did we. Quite a bit out of our area but would make the trip. My husband paid so am not sure what the bill came too! We will definitely return ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Victoria B, That makes us happy to know that you'd come back and enjoy our really good tasting food. Glad the kids had a great time too. We look forward to your next visit we'll keep the tasty chinese food hot.fresh and tasty when you return with the family to Szechuan castle. Thank you for taking the time to... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great value for the variety & quality of food, service, and ambiance. We're a family of four and this is a place we visit every time we're in Edmonton. Dining room is comfortable and stylishly-decorated since they've renovated a few years ago. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Smileyexpress, That is so nice of you to point out that you Would definitely recommend Szechuan castle and your family of four pays a visit every time you're in Edmonton. We really appreciate that you took the time to write such a wonderful review for the TripAdvisor chinese food lovers. We look forward to your next visit to Edmonton... More

Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Szechuan Castle delivered happiness this evening. From the order lady’s friendly and helpful manner, to the encouraging attention to the tiny changes we requested, to the delivery driver's vibes of contentment to the tasty dishes, each with their own character, to the additional sauces packed as requested, it was the best Chinese delivery food we’ve had in Edmonton. The better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Mickey S., So glad we could deliver some happiness to you. Thank you for pointing out to the TripAdvisor review readers that..." Nothing disappointed; each item was exactly as advertised and as expected. Prices good. Portions hefty. When was the last time all that happened? ". We sure appreciate you taking the time to share your dining experience with... More

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is by far the worst restaurant ever. Disgusting food, they can't afford real meat so everything's made out of pork. The eggs smelled terrible and looked like they were mixing eggs with leftovers. Their prices are waaay too over priced. They charged my 14 month old son even though he ate nothing. I hate mcdonalds but I'd say if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Hassan1213, If we were the worst restaurant ever...How could we have so many repeat customers and be in business for the past 24 yrs. I think you're just having a bad day! and felt it would be a good idea to vent on someone...We hope you have better days to come. I guess it must be the first time... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am shocked that I just had to pay $18.89 for that buffet. I went at 6.30pm and was expecting a large selection of items; I was wrong. Probably about 20 different selections, none being egg rolls or spring rolls. I had to scrape the bottom of the pan for many of the selections and I wouldn't have considered the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi Emsky22, Sorry! you feel that way but! the facts are as follows... Our buffet prices are very competitive in the market place.If anything we're guilty of is...Giving more value than we charge for. Our buffet has 26 items,Salad bar has 5 items,Desert bar has 7 items,that's 38 items to choose from,for only $ 0.50 cents per item. We don't... More

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Not much to choose from, bill was $58 for 3 person The Food is not that great for the Money you spent, not very impressed!! For that money i can get famous wok from southgate mall which is thousand times better then that, pure money waste!! Not going there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi b_jelly1990,We're sorry! you feel this way. You say there isn't much to choose from...Funny! that you say you'd get more to choose from at the Famous wok. Let's compare shall we...Szechuan Castle items to choose from...Our buffet has 26 items,Salad bar has 5 items,Desert bar has 7 items. Famous wok...2 items to 3 items only, no Desert bar, no... More

Baker Lake, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A friend and I visited the Szechuan Castle last Friday not long before their closing time. Kim, our hostess/server was charming and accommodating - just a delight. When our food came (we had the dinner for two - won ton soup and three choices - neither of us could believe how much there was for the prices being charged. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim N, Manager at Szechuan Castle, responded to this review

Hi canuckiwi65, So nice of you to stop by, we are very pleased that you and your Friend had a wonderful and terrific time at Szechuan Castle. Thank you! for taking the time to write such a complementary review.We look forward to your next visit. Have a nice day!. More

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Castle also viewed

Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Szechuan Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szechuan Castle

Address: 15415 111 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number: (780) 484-6060
Location: Canada  >  Alberta  >  Edmonton
Cuisine: Chinese, Szechuan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing