We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Terrace

222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $22 - $37
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    103
    27
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 NEW

We made a reservation here only because they were giving away 1000 points on Open Table. We have had good meals and not-so-good meals using that system. This one was good. We were seated quickly (we were the only people there initially). Our waiter was friendly and efficient. We were pleased to see a children's menu, because not all of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lake Louise, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Went hear with my 2 friends last week. We enjoyed everything. From service to food everything was outstanding. For appetizers we shared the fried goat cheese and the mussels. Both were very tasty. For mains we had the maple duck, venison medallions and the salmon dish. We tried from each other meals and again liked everything about it. service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We look forward to seeing you again. terracemanager@banffparklodge.com More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Made a reservation, showed up on time - shown to a table where the water had already been poured (when??) and handed menu. After 15-20 mins of no sign of being provided any more service - walked out. Needless to say - no-one noticed that either...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Good day. I am so sorry this happened to you. With such a small dining room where every table is within view of each other, I cannot imagine how you had been overlooked/ignored for such a lengthy period of time. I am most apologetic. I would be most appreciative to hear from you with regards to your visit. My email... More

Canmore, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

A friend highly recommended the terrace to me so we tried it out and oh my why haven't we found this restaurant earlier? We did the tasting menu w wine pairing and every course was just beautifully prepared. The service was also very attendant and pleasant. We will absolutely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. More

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We enjoyed the view and the service was great! We both had the Bison duet which was fabulous! Every morsel was eaten up! The kids had chicken fingers but they were very tender and had homemade honey mustard. The bread was a highlight with the goat cheese butter mix and red wine infused sea salt. Kids couldn't get enough of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed everything. I do apologize for the unavailability of the tasting menu. Our chef likes to use the highest quality and freshest cuts of meat and seafood. Unfortunately it is not always possible to get the right number of portions delivered to offer for the following day or two. If ever you are... More

Drayton Valley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The food is worth the price. Great place for a quiet meal but the resteraunt was pretty dead for a Friday night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Friday's seam to be one of the quieter days we have right now. With "Free Corkage Fridays" we hope to make them a little more busy, Hope to see you agin, "terracemanager@banffparklodge.com" More

New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We checked out the reviews and decided to try based on what it said on their web site: "The Terrace's panoramic windows and glass ceiling provide some of the most spectacular views in Banff, from Sulphur Mountain to Mount Norquay." after we were there, we were disappointed right away because while it's true that they have pano windows and glass... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear you feel this way. With our vantage point you can make out Sulphur and Mount Norquay, but there are trees and houses around us. I don't believe it is our intention to deliberately mislead people with our advertising. With regards to your meal, I do apologize, serving a five course meal plus amuse bouche can... More

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My parents were in town and due to my previous experience at the Terrace thought it would be a good place to take them. Upon hearing that the chef had changed since my first visit, I was a little concerned as the chef is instrumental in the success of a restaurant. Turns out my concern was unwarranted as the new... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you for your return visit to us and giving our talented new chef an opportunity to cook for you. We very much appreciate the time you have taken to give us this trip advisor posting and look forward to having you join us again. Thank you, terracemanager@banffparklodge.com More

Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a great meal here. We were the only ones there so it was very nice and quiet. Quite peaceful. Our server Sara was wonderful. She was very knowledgeable about the menu. I had the 6 oz Alberta AAA Beef Tenderloin which was wonderful and very tender.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your response. We receive a lot of praise regarding Sara. It is always a good day when I get to work with her. The kitchen also appreciates your compliments. terracemanager@banffparklodge.com More

Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Once again The Terrace has exceeded expectations!! Fantastic fresh housemade cocktails to start in the lounge (all juices are squeezed by hand) followed by a delicious dinner. Our party of six enjoyed the varied menu from the salmon devoured by the 7 year old to the range of flavourful gluten-free options for the most discerning celiac diner. Particularly outstanding was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Terrace M, Manager at The Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your glowing feedback. We look forward to seeing you again. terracemanager@banffparklodge.com More

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing