We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Squish Sandwich Cellar

Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Canadian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
211 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4 , Canada
403 985 5000
Improve this listing
Add hours for Squish Sandwich Cellar and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 155 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
great sandwich stop

Although a little pricey for a sandwich and potato chips, it was good! I had the ruben and it came on a marbled bread with lots of meat. laid back atmosphere made it a good stop and relax for some lunch. service was quick and attentive

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 27, 2015
Simplyexpensive
,
Ponoka, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ponoka, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 NEW

Although a little pricey for a sandwich and potato chips, it was good! I had the ruben and it came on a marbled bread with lots of meat. laid back atmosphere made it a good stop and relax for some lunch. service was quick and attentive

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015 NEW

Went with friends and we found that it was just an expensive sandwich with a few chips on the side. It was in the basement and quite dark -haven't returned since

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

My family recommended we go to a vegetarian restaurant. That doesn't work for me. We ended up here instead. I had the triple decker ( minus avocado). Other sandwiches enjoyed were smoked salmon, ham and cheese, and the reuben. We enjoyed our lunch so much Friday we went back Saturday. My only gripe is that they are switching from Coke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Squish. Who would imagine that it'd be a name of a sandwich shop. Like all else in Banff, this place is a little pricey. I ordered the Tuna Salad sandwich and switched out the coleslaw for extra chips. The server was super fine with that! I'm not a food expert so I'm not sure what kind of bun they use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strathmore, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Was very very disappointed in this basement place. I had the reubin sandwich and would say it was the worst I have every tasted. The meat was in thick chunks, the sandwich was soggy and I had to ask for mustard. Did not matter since i did not eat much of it. My friends were also disappointed in the daily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Finally decided to try their expensive sandwiches for a picnic, so the order was for takeout. Disinterested server took the order ($13.75 for most sandwiches) and suggested that I take a seat to wait. Instead I had time to go find a nice bottle of wine nearby, chat with my waiting family, and head back downstairs to the unimpressive shop.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Was very delicious and a great amount for lunch! Not too expensive either and staff was accommodating for gluten free options. The atmosphere is very Cafe like and nice to sit at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Banff is a resort town, so expect resort prices. The Montreal Smoked Meat Sandwich is #1 on their menu and it is easy to see why. Good, substantive sandwich with lots of flavor. We also got the Salmon sandwich to take for later and it was again very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

Disappointed as when we visited girl serving was on her own. Took our order after informing us they had no ingredients for a couple of our original choices. Sat down only to then be informed again they had no stock for one of the sandwich orders. Girl was stressed and apologetic but we had a refund and walked out. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Squishsandwich, General Manager at Squish Sandwich Cellar, responded to this review

Hi Ian, Thank you for taking the time to get in contact with us regarding your recent experience. While we always strive to meet and exceed our customer's expectations, from time to time we can fall short of this goal. I'd like to personally apologize for the shortage of product that we had on hand during your visit - When... More 

Olds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

great sandwiches ! I had the smoked salmon and it was wonderful. Not a whole lot of selection but a whole lot of flavor, friendly staff, cute little bathroom facility, great murals on the walls

Was this review helpful? Yes
Squishsandwich, Owner at Squish Sandwich Cellar, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the kind words! We strive to provide our guests with filling and flavourful sandwiches in the heart of the Canadian Rockies. It's always great to hear that we're achieving this goal. We hope that you find yourself in Banff again soon and when you do we'd love to see you again! Cheers! Squish Sandwich Cellar More 

Travelers who viewed Squish Sandwich Cellar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Squish Sandwich Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 211 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada
  • Location: Canada  >  Alberta  >  Canadian Rockies  >  Banff National Park  >  Banff
  • Phone Number: 403 985 5000

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Canadian

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Squish Sandwich Cellar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?