We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 128 Banff Restaurants

The Juniper Bistro

1 Juniper Way | Mt. Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E1, Canada (Formerly Juniper Bistro & Lounge)
+1 866-551-2281
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $25
Hours:
Sun 7:00 am - 1:00 pm
Sun - Thu 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Mon - Sat 7:00 am - 11:00 am
Fri - Sat 3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The wall-to-wall glass at the Juniper Bistro looks out over one of the most renowned vistas in North America. Join us for locally-inspired food that's the ideal complement to a day of hiking, cycling, skiing, or downtown shopping. Our meals are homemade and decadent, crafted to include our most treasured Canadian classics along with new discoveries inspired by worldwide travels. From our in-house bakery to the spirit of our menu, our chefs are proud to create delicious meals with a handcrafted and sustainable spirit.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    31
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a breakfast for our first visit here. Patio is wonderful for the view, but really noisy with the highway just below. Service was really great and eggs Benedict (I had the beef brisket) was delicious! My girlfriend had the quinoa omelette, quite original and healthy choice, it was really good too. Only one thing, I would have drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to review us. I’m glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the views! We source our espresso beans from a local roaster here in Banff and do train all staff on how to use the espresso machine, so I apologize that you didn’t get a good Americano. I’m sure that a member of our... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our small wedding party of eight had brunch at the Juniper on Saturday, May 24. Luckily, we weren't in a hurry, because the food, while excellent, took an hour to arrive. Given that we were the only patrons, and we had only ordered breakfast items (eggs benny, waffles, etc.), this was rather disappointing. Moreover, the rather substantial bill wasn't adjusted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Hi Brett! Thanks for reviewing us. I’m sorry that you had such a long wait. I can assure you that is not normal practice for us. We are currently hiring new staff both in the kitchen and front of house due to this being a high change over season for short term residents in town. I’m confident we will be... More 

Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The service is excellent and the food is not your run of the mill restaurant fare. The food is beautifully presented as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Patron, Great to hear you liked the way the food was presented. Thanks for taking the time to review us! More 

Banff, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had Mother's Day breakfast with my mom and my girlfriend and it was simply amazing! Presentation of the food is by far the best I've seen in Banff. The view is just breathtaking! We had the only male server that morning and he was extremely professional but also very friendly and took time to listen to us even if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Patron, Thanks for taking the time to review us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us so much! We look forward to having you again (on the patio!) soon. More 

Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a great place to eat and enjoy the beauty of the landscape. There is not a bad seat in the house to sit at and loo out the wall of windows to the mountains. Breakfast is really good with lots of choices for food sensitivities. I highly recommend eating here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are here after a great day skiing and was quite satisfied with our meal. The specials on the day weren't quite to our liking but the lunch menu had some delicious sandwiches and burgers. The cheese spaetzl was fantastic. We ordered after a large group had just placed their order and our still showed up in a reasonable time.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to review us! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your meal, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The Juniper is a little out of town but entirely worth the 5-minute drive. The views are better than anywhere in Banff, and the food is on par with any 5-star restaurant, but at totally reasonable prices ($13 for ham and gruyere waffles). Highly recommended for any brunch needs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Gabrielle, Thanks for your review! We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your brunch with us. We now serve brunch until 2pm on the weekend! We hope to see you again soon for some of those delicious waffles! More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We ate here three times over the past weekend: 1st Breakfast - Slow Roasted Pork Hash, awful swimming in grease made me nausious. The pesto? had a horrible texture and my mouth was filled with the overpowering flavour of garlic for the whole day. I would have preferred my eggs poached medium but was never offfered anything but the runny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Terra, Thanks for reviewing us. Sorry to hear that you didn’t think there are enough healthy options. However we strive to offer a well rounded menu of home cooked food that does include plenty of salads, fish and vegetables for those looking for healthier options. On your next visit, might I suggest that you try one of those options?... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I don't write bad reviews in general, and I don't enjoy saying this, but this is meant to be based on factual experiences for other travellers. I had the Juniper booked for Christmas brunch as the restaurant looks really nice on the website. The communications I had via email with a staff member about our booking were really helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JuniperGM, General Manager at The Juniper Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Patron, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed and didn’t stay. Unfortunately the floors in the Bistro do tend to look dirty even when they are clean, so we are looking into new flooring options. We are also having a deep clean at the end of this week to... More 

Bragg Creek, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stopped here on the way to the Columbia Valley from Calgary. It's just off the highway at the Norquay Mntn Road.. easy parking!.. Wonderful attentive service,.. hip menu.. great views across the valley.. Food excellent! Super Cauliflower/lentil curry soup. Stupendous shaved beef w/ blue cheese and pear flatbread (pizza type) .. LOvely interior...

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Juniper Bistro also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Juniper Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Juniper Bistro

Address: 1 Juniper Way | Mt. Norquay Road, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1E1, Canada (Formerly Juniper Bistro & Lounge)
Phone Number: +1 866-551-2281
Location: Canada  >  Alberta  >  Canadian Rockies  >  Banff National Park  >  Banff
Open Hours:
Sunday 7:00 am - 1:00 pm  3:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm  7:00 am - 11:00 am
Tuesday 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm  7:00 am - 11:00 am
Wednesday 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm  7:00 am - 11:00 am
Thursday 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm  7:00 am - 11:00 am
Friday 7:00 am - 11:00 am  3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday 7:00 am - 11:00 am  3:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 9 - 25
Cuisine: Canadian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Juniper Bistro staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?