We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

Nr. Looe, Duloe PL14 4PN, England
01503 262556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Duloe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    90
    52
    32
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

We visited the Plough during our stay near Duloe, Cornwall (not far from Looe) the food is super and the staff could not be more helpful and very friendly. We took our two dogs with us to the Inn for an evening meal (they are well behaved and on leads - as they should be)! Everyone who passed us patted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dobwalls, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Lovely place to eat with loads of character and very friendly staff, the service is excellent and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend the plough to anyone and its also dog friendly which is another bonus to this beautiful place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at the lovely Tremadart House B&B just down the road from here, so we came to this pub a couple of times during our stay. We were both very impressed with the standard of food (especially for the price!!), in terms of flavour and variety. Staff were very friendly. The pub was done out very nicely inside too.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Charming location with a good menu, but what you pick determines how much you enjoy your meal. The people who picked anything with salad in got an indeterminate mass of green stuff with very little else. The beeetroot and orange salad was mostly green stuff with a small amount of betroot and orange barely able to taste it. Those who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a wonderful pub, just off the beaten track near Looe. The menu was so appealing and tempting we had to visit twice in one week and weren't disappointed on either occasion. The food was very fresh and local. The Cornish crab salad was delicious and great value and the short beef rib special melted in the mouth. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Agree with David G. Interesting menu, good, friendly and helpful service, but too many dogs. Obviously this is a plus point for many, but when one has children in the party who aren’t used to the animals big ones can be intimidating. Aside from that the only reason we didn’t go back during our stay was that there are so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very very expensive, poor food and not a lot of it! Very strange menu with not much taste at all! Would I go again? NO would I recommend it? NO. The only good point you can take a dog

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PloughDuloe, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Plough, we take all our feedback seriously and look to improve on guests comments, however we find you fairly negative review very 'wide if the mark'. Firstly we do not consider ourselves to be very expensive, considering you could choose 3 courses from our menu and pay under £20, many would see... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really good pub food, everything cooked on the premises. Very busy at weekends and evening So booking is best. Very nice friendly staff too. Must have great atmosphere in the evening but it was quiet for our late lunch visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

With so many plaudits already, there is little new to add except that sards remain good. The menu is really interested, the food is well cooked, servings are sensible, service first class and charges very reasonable. Only minus points: unless you are a dog-lover, you will feel that rather too many are allowed in the eating area; also for such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of our accommodation provider. The staff were very friendly, the bar was really pleasant. The food was OK, and I would eat there again, but it was not as amazing as we were led to believe. The fish and chips were bland, I have certainly had better, but the smoked haddock fishcake was lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing