We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Plough

Nr. Looe, Duloe PL14 4PN, England
01503 262556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 restaurants in Duloe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    86
    52
    31
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Agree with David G. Interesting menu, good, friendly and helpful service, but too many dogs. Obviously this is a plus point for many, but when one has children in the party who aren’t used to the animals big ones can be intimidating. Aside from that the only reason we didn’t go back during our stay was that there are so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very very expensive, poor food and not a lot of it! Very strange menu with not much taste at all! Would I go again? NO would I recommend it? NO. The only good point you can take a dog

Was this review helpful? Yes
PloughDuloe, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Plough, we take all our feedback seriously and look to improve on guests comments, however we find you fairly negative review very 'wide if the mark'. Firstly we do not consider ourselves to be very expensive, considering you could choose 3 courses from our menu and pay under £20, many would see... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really good pub food, everything cooked on the premises. Very busy at weekends and evening So booking is best. Very nice friendly staff too. Must have great atmosphere in the evening but it was quiet for our late lunch visit

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

With so many plaudits already, there is little new to add except that sards remain good. The menu is really interested, the food is well cooked, servings are sensible, service first class and charges very reasonable. Only minus points: unless you are a dog-lover, you will feel that rather too many are allowed in the eating area; also for such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ate here on the recommendation of our accommodation provider. The staff were very friendly, the bar was really pleasant. The food was OK, and I would eat there again, but it was not as amazing as we were led to believe. The fish and chips were bland, I have certainly had better, but the smoked haddock fishcake was lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

With another couple we visited this pub/restaurant twice during a week long stay in the area. It is, in fact, the only eatery within walking distance of a stay in Duloe. However, the service was attentive, the food excellent and well presented. Although the interior was basic it was comfortable and the tables well spaced. We had two enjoyable evenings.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Ate here with friends on our first night. Staff were friendly but a little disorganized at times. Food was fairly typical of better than average pub fare but not outstanding. Good atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having spent the evening searching for a suitable 'after wedding meal out venue', we were relieved to have our faith restored in Cornish pubs! The staff bent over backwards to accommodate ALL our needs, so we decided to stay and have a meal to test them out and were far from disappointed. The food was excellent, as was the service,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
surrey uk
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We ate here three night during our seven day local stay so it must be doing something right. It certainly helped that we could walk to it, but that alone would have not been enough. It's not fine dining, but it's good pub food, reasonably priced, with friendly staff. Be warend, it is worth booking as it is very popular,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland,UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Busy bar/restaurant, friendly staff, but the fish pie potato topping was so sloppy it slid off the fork and the sauce was so thin it ran through the fork- could almost have done with a spoon to eat it. Never had chunks of raw onion rings in a fish pie before. The sorbet was so sweet as to be almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PloughDuloe, Manager at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Plough, we take all our reviews very seriously and will always look to improve on any issues our customers have. We are sorry you didn't fully enjoy your meal. The quality in potatoes is effected during the changeable climates and unfortunately has effected our produce. However we always strive to maintain our high... More

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing