We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi

Via Peschiera Maraglio 87, Monte Isola, Italy
+39 338 822 2202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Monte Isola
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $53
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Just a few minutes by boat from the mainland, you'll find yourself buried in a unique and unforgettable atmosphere. The old fisher boats moored in the sun, the old houses with their typical arches and loggias, the drying linens blowing in the wind, while the women and fishermen are chatting quietly. Slow down, leave the mobile phone at home and enjoy the peace and calm of this magnificent setting. You'll get enchanted by the surroundings. Among excursions by foot or bike, wine tastings and cultural tours you'll for sure want to stay longer than expected. Among the old olive trees the huge Castello Oldofredi appears, a historical property that dominates the fishermen village of Peschiera Maraglio. A short walk through the narrow alleys and you'll reach the sunny terrace, from where you have the most magnificent view of the lake. The panoramic pool is the perfect spot for enjoying a book under the shade of the olive trees. After an important renovation residence Castello Oldofredi has acquired it's original appeal and splendour. All apartments have been renovated paying attention to the modern comforts, but keeping an eye on the historical details, such as affrescoes, oak-beemed ceilings and cotto pavements. The apartments are all different from each other. All apartments are well sized and fit four or six people. We have suites and one-, two-, three-roomed apartments. All apartments have fully equipped kitchen, living room with sofabed and bedrooms with double or twin beds, bathroom with jacuzzi shower. The restaurant at Castello Oldofredi offers a traditional cuisine, which is enriched by all the local products of the area around Lake Iseo, which we combine in traditional and modern dishes. The dining room and the magnificent terrace overlooking the lake are the perfect locations for a romantic candle lit dinner or ceremonies, weddings or meetings. The Castello Oldofredi is the perfect setting for special events or enjoying unforgettable moments, and it can be rented altogether for one group or occupying only single units.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    44
    23
    7
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

Wow, what a view and what a beautiful hotel/restaurant! The terrace is stunning, with lemon trees, candles and large umbrellas to give some welcome shade from the August sun. We travelled to Monte Isola from Sarnico on the ferry and needed somewhere for a quick lunch, as we only had seventy minutes before the return boat. The service was extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very Nice food pleasant service and fantastic view. Wine Curtafranca was great from region and estate close by Gussago and towards Cellatica.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastelloOldofredi, Direttore at Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi, responded to this review

Dear Gert-Jan, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your dinner by us. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards The Management More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My partner and I caught the ferry from Iseo with our bikes costing around 20 euro return and well worth it! The ride around the Island takes about one hour slowly and travels through lovely villages and a wonderful old church. Do go in as it's got the most amazing paintings. We ended up out side the Castello Oldofredi and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastelloOldofredi, Direttore at Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi, responded to this review

Dear Jude, we thank you for taking your time to share your beautiful review, our best reward for our work is to get feedback like these. Our aim is to offer a total experience including the location, the food, the wine and the service. We hope that you'll bring back to New Zealand the memories of this great day and... More

Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic meal - the new management has done a superb job renovating. Seems to be a new chef based on some previous reviews... we couldn't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CastelloOldofredi, Direttore at Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi, responded to this review

Dear MrTBasel, we thank you for your precious feedback and we're happy to know that you had a good meal at our restaurant enjoying the location. We are glad to know you appreciate the renovation we've done. We hope to see you soon again. More

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed for some days at Castello Oldofredi. The castle must have been real nice once, but the state of the place now was really bad. Not well taken care of, messy and very ugly furnitures in the rooms. We had both breakfast and dinner, and it was the worst italian food I have ever had. There was nothing authentic about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CastelloOldofredi, Direttore at Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi, responded to this review

Dear Emma, We thank you for your precious feed back. I'm writing you even though we were not managing Castello Oldofredi at the time you were there. We took over the property from the 1st of January, and have since then done a lot of renovating work, especially in the apartments. I really hope you will come back and visit... More

Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I went with a family party and we ate on the terrace overlooking the lake with magnificent views. The service was unsmiling and they forgot the side orders. The food was similar to that which you get in many restaurants around the lake - good lake fish reasonably cooked. Prices honest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We liked everything. Great fish, meat, pasta and polenta. We can also highly recomend their own wine and oliveoil.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

last Sunday we had lunch here for the first time. Wonderful spot, but very disappointing meal. When we arrived, there was nobody to welcome us or show us a table. After 5 minutes, we just sat down. There was a group of 25 cyclists who were talking (shouting) in such a way that we could not have a convesation at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oldofredi, Proprietario at Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi, responded to this review

First of all there is no oil in the risotto, but it is only with creamed cheese and the end is a rock isaporito tablespoon butter with sage, used for cooking perch fillets taken directly from the fisherman. I'm sorry if you waited twenty minutes, but it is time to cook the rice as our dishes are freshly prepared! also... More

Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

What to say, excellent food, excellent view, excellent atmosphere. Apart from us, there have been only Italian people in the restaurant. Enjoying the good food, wine and the superb atmosphere. If you ever go to Monte Isola, don't miss that restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent food, reasonably priced (mains €8-15), priceless view of the lake from the outdoor seating area and very friendly and effective staff makes this restaurant our uncontested top pick in Monte Isola. The a la carte menu does not offer a huge selection of options, but often that is an indication of high quality food. Indeed that is our impression... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi also viewed

Monte Isola, Province of Brescia
Monte Isola, Province of Brescia
 
Monte Isola, Province of Brescia
Monte Isola, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Ristorante Castello Oldofredi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing