We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mi Pueblo

5ta Avenida y Calle 8 | Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 0332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #346 of 744 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Price range: $21 - $29
Hours:
Sun - Sat 8:00 am - 12:00 am
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: MAS MEXICANO QUE NUNCA
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    63
    32
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyville, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

Loved the food here! Staff very willing to please and the washrooms are very clean! We sat next to the street and loved the atmosphere. Lots of entertainment going on as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Very very expensive. 2 entrees (tacos and fajita, "free" nachos, 2 margaritas came to $69 (with correct exchange it shoulve been $56). Exchange rate given on receipt (pesos to usd) was way off. Waiter actually counted out the money in front of us and demanded a bigger tip. Unbelievable!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Dear BreakingBen, please accept our apology for the experience during your visit to Mi Pueblo. The correct exchange rate is 11 pesos MX to 1 dollar US, please let me know the name of the waiter via email at lgaxiola@grupoazotea.com. Thank you for your time. More

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

I got disappointed with this restaurant. The food was very tasteless and the drink was terrible, it looked like flavoured water. I don't recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Hola PauloQ82, thank you for your review. We would like to know which dish and which drink were served to you. Please contact me directly at lgaxiola@grupoazotea.com Cordially. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We were wondering around 5th avenida looking for a spot to eat some authentic mexican food. Being mexican we can tell the good from the bad. So we decided to stop in. The food was just bad. I got the arrracheta tacos and my husband got the carnitas parilla. The meat was not seasoned. It was bland. The side guacamole... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Dear Nubia G, we appreciate your review as it let us know where to improve. I have passed your comments to the chef and general manager. Please note that we do not have a soda machine to refill bottles, please accept our apologies for this experience. Please contact us in your next visit to Playa del Carmen to treat you... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We had eaten there 2 years ago and it was excellent? This year I took my family and it was terrible!!!! Bad food and cost a fortune!!!! Servo was ok but waiter made fun of the price said we had plenty of money and could afford (bad joke) We will never return👎

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Dear garyg568, we are very sad to hear your third visit was a disappointment, please contact us directly to lgaxiola@grupoazotea.com. Kind regards, More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The food is absolutely terrible. Do NOT eat here. Also - you will have panhandlers begging for food or money while you are trying to eat. Stay away from here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Dear SmIMA, thank you for your review. It has been shared with the management and all the staff at Mi Pueblo. We regret your experience and would definitely want to revert it. Please let us know when you come back to the Mexican Caribbean to pamper you. Kind regards, More

Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After a long travel day we set out on 5th ave to find a nice place for dinner. We were approached by numerous restaurants to look at there menu and eat at their establishment. It got annoying and we were hungry as it was getting late. We decided to go to Mi Pueblo because I liked the way it looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Dear Jeff D, thank you very much for your review. Your comments are what make us keep moving in the right direction. The management has been notified and will take immediate action. Once again, thank you and we hope to have you back to mend it. More

Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Made a hasty decision to grab a bite to eat before heading back to our hotel and decided to try Mi Pueblo. I opted for one of their "popular" plates with chicken fajitas and couldnt have been more disappointed. Took forever to get and when it did arrive it consisted of 3 tortillas, a few pieces of cut up chicken,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Hola dear Chris P, thank you for your review and please accept our apology for the experience you encountered. The management is now aware of the situation and has taken immediate action. The chef has been notified as well and he is thankful for your comments in order to improve and please our clients. Warm regards, More

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Eating at this restaurant was a very pleasurable experience. I simply don't recognise it from some of the reviews here! Starting with their novel menu (it looks like a newspaper), kind waiters with a sense of humour who speak perfect english and are willing to describe the dishes before you order. I asked for hot chilli sauce with my fajitas... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

A rash decision to eat here, tired of walking, getting late... Despite having a huge wait staff, the service was painfully slow and poor. During the long wait for dinner, asked for chips and salsa, as many local places provide them free. A platter of soggy chips plastered with a layer of bland chili was served, which was hardly touched... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lgaxiola, Guest Relations Manager at Mi Pueblo, responded to this review

Dear jetlag78, our deepest apologies for the experience you had with your friends at Mi Pueblo. I have sent your note to the general manager and chef to take immediate action. Please allow us to mend it and let me know when you will be coming back to Playa del Carmen. Kind regards, More

Travelers who viewed Mi Pueblo also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mi Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Pueblo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing