We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
11 Oxford Rd. | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
01865376242
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Dining options: Reservations
Good for:
Romance
Doing business
Special occasions
Entertaining clients

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 107 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Consistently good

Went to the Bell last weekend for a celebratory meal with our children and their partners, having been a few times previously, and it did not disappoint. The food and service were both extremely good. It's a bit pricey (£28 for a fillet steak) but it is very good indeed. Lovely atmosphere, nice... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 3, 2014
Maggle
,
Oxfordshire
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went to the Bell for a family meal on a Saturday evening as a party of six. It was a mixed experience. Four of the party could not fault their food (great pizza and duck dish!), but of the other two, one was very disappointed and one only rated it as average. Burned fish when you order traditional fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all of your comments. We do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and please do accept our apology. Just to touch on your points - We were not aware that some members of your table did not enjoy their food. Having... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Won't be going here again. Grumpy staff, got our orders wrong (and when we asked for the correct dish we were made to feel stupid), and to top it off ended up being rather unwell after eating their muscles. Not a bad atmosphere but staff could definitely be friendlier (it's a service not a chaw) and not argue the fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review the Bell. We are sorry to hear about your rather disappointing experience and we regret to hear that the Bell is not for you. Wishing you all the best in the future. More 

Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Went to the Bell last weekend for a celebratory meal with our children and their partners, having been a few times previously, and it did not disappoint. The food and service were both extremely good. It's a bit pricey (£28 for a fillet steak) but it is very good indeed. Lovely atmosphere, nice decor, good food and wine, good beer......what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic reviewing again. It is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling back from Wales and wanted to stay around the Oxford area. Found on the web, and really is an excellent establishment. Accommodation superb and also ate in the restaurant for dinner , couldn't fault it, other than if really picky would have liked a more extensive wine list, sea bass excellent. Will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on the wine list, we are currently in the process of selecting various fine wines to be sold here at the Bell. We hope you book with us again. All the best. More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We ate here on our first night at the hotel the food and service is absolutely brilliant, just what you would expect from a Michelin starred head Chef. We ordered Squid to start and the Grilled Prawns, both were very delicately spiced and very, very good. Ribeye Steak and Battered fish of the day with chips - Again both were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is so nice to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at the Bell. Our head chef Nick Anderson is very glad to hear your comments and we will make sure to continue to keep up the good work. Thank you again. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Myself and my partner were taken to this restaurant whilst visiting relatives in the Oxford area. From the outside the place looks very smart in appearance. Inside you find a bustling ,fine dining establishment. From the bar area you have full view into the open kitchen where dishes are coming out to the many diners. After excellent service at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your time taken and lovely pictures you have posted. You are absolutely correct about the party, it can sometimes be a bit noisy and we do apologise about that. It is a shame you do not live closer, but we look forward to welcoming you to stay in one... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I loved it. We ate there twice and were bowled over by the prowess of the chefs. Breakfast was first class, and thank heavens, served outstanding artisan bread at breakfast. So fed up of getting great bread at supper and slapton-rice in the morning! This really stood out as being a first-class place to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Fantastic! We are very pleased to hear about your satisfactory stay with us. Our head chef Nick Anderson is a Michelin star chef and even though The Bell does not wish to go that way. We do take pride in our job and we are glad you appreciate it. Thank you. More 

UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Visited here on recommendation of our campsite staff, and although the pub has a lovely cosy feel and decor, we found the staff to be a little unfriendly. It took about 15-20 minutes from arrival to be shown to a table, despite the restaurant being practically empty and two further requests to be seated - we got the impression they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am a little bit surprised as recently I had a comment about an extra friendliness of the staff. I am of course concerned about your comment and will address it with my staff. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the rest of your experience. More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked a table for 4 at the Hampton Poyle Bell for last Saturday at 20-30. We arrived promptly at 20-15 to find a catalogue of poor service. Firstly, the table which we had booked was "not quite ready" as it had previous diners still in situ. So we were invited to order drinks at the bar. I ordered the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. I must say, recently with great weather and the holiday season we have been extremely busy. Many people do not book, just walk in. Therefore I have noticed that some of our regular customers have been overlooked. I do apologise about that but I... More 

England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Our first visit, after a hiccup where they had cancelled our booking, we then proceeded to have an excellent evening. There was a wedding being held concurrently, however the service was top notch all the way through. The menu is innovative and varied, and they had a complete menu of specials, especially focused on fish. Nice to see a real... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell Restaurant also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 11 Oxford Rd. | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: 01865376242

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?