We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Oxford Rd. | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
01865376242
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 111 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 51
    Excellent
  • 35
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Consistently good

Went to the Bell last weekend for a celebratory meal with our children and their partners, having been a few times previously, and it did not disappoint. The food and service were both extremely good. It's a bit pricey (£28 for a fillet steak) but it is very good indeed. Lovely atmosphere, nice... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 3, 2014
Maggle
,
Oxfordshire
Good for:
  • Doing business
  • Special occasions
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

This littlen gem is tucked away in Hampton Poyle, but it is definitely worth a trip out from Oxford. I have been eating at The Bell several times, and I have never been disappointed. Their menu offers not-so-traditional British kitchen and pizzas made in their own wood-fired pizza-oven

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jane, thank you very much for posting your fantastic comments on both of our tripadvisor pages! We are very pleased to have you as a regular customer and please do make yourself known next time you are in for a complimentary glass of champagne. Warm regards, Suzy More 

South Midlands/North South East, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We went there 3 weeks ago and were very impressed, so much so we returned last night and ordered exactly the same meal - for me ham, egg and chips. Triple cooked chips? Last time the chips were almost roast potato size, less than 10 in total and very tasty and filling. Absolutely no way did we have the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience with us. I am very disappointed to hear about your bad experience and I would like to apologise. As you have mentioned in your review, you should have said something on the day and so we could have sorted the problem then. We would definitely do our best to fix... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

My husband and I eat at the bell as often as we can - we are both steak lovers and the fillet steak at the Bell is the best we have had anywhere. We got married at the end of March 2015 and held our reception at the Bell. It was fabulous and everything we had arranged happened seamlessly. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Paul and Judy, Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are all very pleased to hear that you were content on your special day. We wish you both all the best and we hope you come and enjoy steaks with us again soon! Best wishes. More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I'm an investment banker in New York City - I mention that, not because I'm a pretentious jerk, but because I am constantly dining in world-class restaurants with one mission in mind: sell my firm's investment banking practice to an extremely pretentious, critical, and often unlikeable clientele. As a result, I've become a serious foodie (pretentious restaurant person). I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Head Chef - Nick Anderson at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I was quite taken aback that you sought us out, having travelled so far. I, myself will be travelling to NYC in September, any recommendations? More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We went to the Bell for a family meal on a Saturday evening as a party of six. It was a mixed experience. Four of the party could not fault their food (great pizza and duck dish!), but of the other two, one was very disappointed and one only rated it as average. Burned fish when you order traditional fish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all of your comments. We do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and please do accept our apology. Just to touch on your points - We were not aware that some members of your table did not enjoy their food. Having... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Won't be going here again. Grumpy staff, got our orders wrong (and when we asked for the correct dish we were made to feel stupid), and to top it off ended up being rather unwell after eating their muscles. Not a bad atmosphere but staff could definitely be friendlier (it's a service not a chaw) and not argue the fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review the Bell. We are sorry to hear about your rather disappointing experience and we regret to hear that the Bell is not for you. Wishing you all the best in the future. More 

Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Went to the Bell last weekend for a celebratory meal with our children and their partners, having been a few times previously, and it did not disappoint. The food and service were both extremely good. It's a bit pricey (£28 for a fillet steak) but it is very good indeed. Lovely atmosphere, nice decor, good food and wine, good beer......what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, General Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic reviewing again. It is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling back from Wales and wanted to stay around the Oxford area. Found on the web, and really is an excellent establishment. Accommodation superb and also ate in the restaurant for dinner , couldn't fault it, other than if really picky would have liked a more extensive wine list, sea bass excellent. Will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on the wine list, we are currently in the process of selecting various fine wines to be sold here at the Bell. We hope you book with us again. All the best. More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We ate here on our first night at the hotel the food and service is absolutely brilliant, just what you would expect from a Michelin starred head Chef. We ordered Squid to start and the Grilled Prawns, both were very delicately spiced and very, very good. Ribeye Steak and Battered fish of the day with chips - Again both were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. It is so nice to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience at the Bell. Our head chef Nick Anderson is very glad to hear your comments and we will make sure to continue to keep up the good work. Thank you again. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Myself and my partner were taken to this restaurant whilst visiting relatives in the Oxford area. From the outside the place looks very smart in appearance. Inside you find a bustling ,fine dining establishment. From the bar area you have full view into the open kitchen where dishes are coming out to the many diners. After excellent service at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
belleoxford, Manager at The Bell Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your time taken and lovely pictures you have posted. You are absolutely correct about the party, it can sometimes be a bit noisy and we do apologise about that. It is a shame you do not live closer, but we look forward to welcoming you to stay in one... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell Restaurant also viewed

Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
Kidlington, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 11 Oxford Rd. | Hampton Poyle, Kidlington OX5 2QD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Kidlington
  • Phone Number: 01865376242

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Italian, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Bell Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?