We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Cwm Taf, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2HY, Wales
01685 379111
Website
Add hours for Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 198 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 94
    Excellent
  • 63
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good food, struggle with service

Another visit to the Nant Ddu restaurant, weekday lunchtime so moderately busy but not packed and were able to get a seat straight away. Good selection on the menu ordered starters and main courses but took about 10 minutes standing at the bar to order (as requested) as the one lady there was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 3, 2015
ITTraveller
,
Wales
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tullibody
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 NEW

Their menu was imaginative, not cheap, but well cooked and well presented. Accordingly, it was good value. the staff were attentive and helpful, but unobtrusive. The Cwrw beer was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015 NEW

Another visit to the Nant Ddu restaurant, weekday lunchtime so moderately busy but not packed and were able to get a seat straight away. Good selection on the menu ordered starters and main courses but took about 10 minutes standing at the bar to order (as requested) as the one lady there was dealing with with a customer query and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We came here for our anniversary meal and loved it. The menu is a nice mix of traditional foods as well as things you wouldn't see elsewhere. It's also changed regularly to keep it fresh and make you want to come back to try new things. It's slightly expensive, but when you eat the food it's understandable as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rob G Thank you for your recent review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us, but apologise if you felt that the service was a little slow. I sincerely hope that you will return to us soon. Kind regards Vanessa Pearson General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I can not praise this place enough I have visitied here many many times and the Staff go above and beyond to help especially Mary and Helen the best waitress's I have ever met

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear AngharadWilf Thank you so much for your fantastic review, and the praise for our staff, in particular Mary and Helen. It is very rewarding to read that you continue to enjoy your visits to us. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Vanessa Pearson General Manager More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Met family here for lunch, have been going here for over 20 years on and off, food is still great and a varied menu. This time service was a bit slow, though it was busy so you sort of expect it and as regular customers you put up with it. Girls behind the bar very helpful and quick. Meals were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Welshabroad792 Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your lunch with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience, but naturally disappointed reading your comments on a member of the team. I am truly sorry for any confusion caused with your bill during our power failure, and any upset this may have caused.... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

went here for an afternoon lunch with my wife and three boys, the bar area is very nice with seating outside also, there was plenty of staff who were very helpfull, the menu has plenty of choice and the prices are very reasonable. the food arrived very quickly and was very nice , the desert choice was varied and also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Peter h Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent lunch with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and for the praise you give to our staff, it is very much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Vanessa Pearson General Manager More 

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

A Friday lunch with family was the plan and in anticipation of this being a popular place to eat I attempted to book a table. There being a no reservation policy we took the gamble and arrived early at 12:15 , only to find the Bistro closed at lunch times and an already crowded drab, pub like bar. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sarge62 Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us. We do pride ourselves on our food quality, using only the freshest locally sourced ingredients, but I apologise if these weren't to your taste. We feel that our food has a good reputation within the... More 

Freetown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Despite a positive reputation from friends and family, I visited in a group of 5 for lunch and was pretty disappointed. Nant Ddu promises more from the outside than we experienced inside. The bar area which serves as an informal dining area reminds me of a slightly better 70s works canteen. The Bistro was closed to diners but we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jem C Thank you for your recent review. I apologise that you did not enjoy your lunch, and that you felt that our food is overpriced. I feel that our menu offers a variety of choices with our main course dishes being priced between £10.95 and £19.95, the majority of these being around £15. I am sorry that we... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I telephoned the Nant Ddu the day before a bank holiday to reserve a table but was told this was not possible and to just turn up. I explained that we were a party of 10 but I was assured by the person on the phone that this would not be a problem as there would be room in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear J P Thank you for your recent review, I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us. I understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met, and you are left feeling upset. It is never our intention to leave our customers feeling "ripped off". It is immensely important to both myself... More 

wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Went for meal mid wk waited 40 min for prawn starter and lamb chops. When it arrived frozen chips .disappointed considering its not cheap. Small wine glasses a pet hate when its nice wine. Been few times and was going book overnight but changed our minds after that experience .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vanessa P, General Manager at Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Dicetoroll Thank you for your review. Im sorry you were left feeling disappointed, we value all our customer feedback and note your comments regarding our wine glasses. We have now replaced these with larger, superior glassware. Also please rest assured that we source the freshest local ingredients, and certainly do not use frozen chips. Apologies. Kind regards Vanessa Pearson... More 

Travelers who viewed Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
Dowlais, Merthyr Tydfil County
 
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant

Address: Cwm Taf, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2HY, Wales
Phone Number: 01685 379111
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Merthyr Tydfil County  >  Merthyr Tydfil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Cwm Taf, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2HY, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Merthyr Tydfil County  >  Merthyr Tydfil
  • Phone Number: 01685 379111

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Nant Ddu Lodge Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?