We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish Tails Bar and Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Red Hook, 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-714-3188
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,021 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 470
    Excellent
  • 353
    Very good
  • 130
    Average
  • 44
    Poor
  • 24
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
We ate there twice

The food was great, service was great.....better than several places nearby. U have to try their smoked tuna dip....it's so good. And as cliché as it might sound, their fish and chips was delish too! :)

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 23, 2015
Jennifer M
Good for:
  • Romantic
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

1,021 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. John
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 NEW

The food is extremely expensive, most of it is frozen and just heated up. We were told to go here because of the "hand cut mozzarella sticks" and when it arrived it was still frozen. Who the hell serves frozen food? When we told the server she said they were having problems with that and she walked away. Not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

The shrimp cooked in garlic and butter sauce are some of the best shrimp I tasted on the Island. Service was good. Beers are cold....most other dishes are just average....Rice was really good....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

It's such a compliment to hear that our shrimp was some of the best that you tasted when you were on the island. I'm glad the service was on point and that the drinks were cold and thirst-quenching. It's a little disappointing that we couldn't impress you more with our other dishes, but I'm pleased to know that you were... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 NEW

The food was great, service was great.....better than several places nearby. U have to try their smoked tuna dip....it's so good. And as cliché as it might sound, their fish and chips was delish too! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

So thrilled to know that you were impressed with the food and service, Jennifer! It's great to know that you enjoyed the smoked tuna dip. Also, it's not cliche at all -- the fish and chips are seriously one of my favorite things on the menu, so I'm very happy you enjoyed them as well. I hope you have you... More 

Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Ate here for breakfast & lunch. Friendly staff & pretty good food. Bottomless mimosas & bloody Mary's! Some of the more affordable food on the island! View of the marina. Easy to get to in Red Hook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

So glad you got to enjoy the bottomless mimosas and bloody marys! It means a lot that you decided to come dine with us for breakfast and lunch when you were visiting St. Thomas, and I'm happy you were satisfied with both experiences! I'm excited you enjoyed the view and the food. I hope you'll come back and see us... More 

Nashville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

My husband and I ate here twice during our weeklong stay in St. Thomas and I can honestly say this was one of our best meals. We had dinner on a Thursday night with no reservation. We were seated right away by the friendly hostess and within moments our waitress was there to take our drink orders. She recommended a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

First of all, I'm so happy that you decided to eat with us twice during your time on St. Thomas. It makes me even happier that your meals with us were some of the best! I love the ceviche, so I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it as well. For your first visit, while our sushi rolls are quite good, our... More 

Little Elm, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Great food and a fun place to hangout with friends. Our waitress was a lot of fun and took good care of us

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

Happy to see that our food and atmosphere were enjoyed, Patricia! It's great to know that your waitress took good care of you all, and I'm pleased you had a great experience with us. I noticed you're from Texas, and I just wanted to say how glad I am that you made our spot a stop during your time on... More 

St. Thomas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Love the shrimp po boy and the egg croissant. Nice atmosphere right on the water close to everything

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed the po' boy and the croissant! It's awesome to hear you were pleased with our spot. I hope you'll come back again soon! Best, Kelley Olive, Owner More 

Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The restaurant is situated right at the marina in Red Hook with a great view. Perfect for passing the time of day in a shady location. The food here was as I stated in the title - very average and typically overpriced. I ordered a chicken breast sandwich and fries and was presented a chicken breast dinner. Ok, just a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review, Regina. First of all, I'm sorry that we mixed up your order of the chicken breast sandwich with the chicken breast dinner. While I appreciate your understanding, please feel free to notify your server next time so that we can fix the mistake. Our food is usually very much enjoyed by our customers,... More 

New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

It really was just average, truely nothing more...... All hip for nothing . You could have gotten better food at KFC........

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't impressed, Cathy. Our food and drinks are usually very popular among guests and locals on the island, so it's disappointing to read your review. I do hope you'll come back and give us another shot next time you're in St. Thomas. Safe travels, Kelley Olive, Owner More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

We waited almost a half hour for a table. After two appetizers ordered were not available we were starving. We asked for some bread. It was laughable! Two tiny little crusts that were slightly oiled and grilled. I don't know what we paid for that but I'm sure it was at least 4 $. The "special frozen mixed drinks"?were awful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kelley O, Owner at Fish Tails Bar and Grill, responded to this review

First of all, I'm very sorry you got sick, but I want to assure you that we follow all health and safety guidelines to a T. I'm not sure what could've gone wrong with a simple salad. It's disappointing to read your review because what you experienced during this visit is in no way characteristic of what we do on... More 

Travelers who viewed Fish Tails Bar and Grill also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
East End, St. Thomas
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Fish Tails Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Red Hook, 00802, St. Thomas
  • Location: Caribbean  >  U.S. Virgin Islands  >  St. Thomas
  • Phone Number: +1 340-714-3188

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 55
  • Cuisine: Sushi, American, Seafood

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fish Tails Bar and Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?