We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spice Of India

Travelers' Choice award winner
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Bay Walk Mall | POB RB2621, Gros Islet 01758, St. Lucia
+1 758-458-4243
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a...
Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,081 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 890
    Excellent
  • 138
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Fantastic - best meal in St. Lucia

Absolutely delicious India food and highly recommended. Aside for the superb quality of the food, the service and presentation were also excellent. Thanks!

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 2, 2015
desertnomad68
,
Sao Paulo, SP
Good for:
  • Large groups
  • Romantic
  • Special occasions
  • Doing business
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

1,081 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 NEW

Absolutely delicious India food and highly recommended. Aside for the superb quality of the food, the service and presentation were also excellent. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile

The food was not bad, but the portions are small for the price. The wait staff was friendly. Nice outdoor dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear Can, Thanks for your feedback. I guess you did enjoy the food, service and ambiance but not the prices which come with everything. I cannot comment on your expectations of what you thought the price should be. Glad you enjoyed other aspects of your dining experience with us. Best regards, Chef Adil More 

London, United Kingdom
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

owner tried his best with a nice welcome but ultimately the food and service was poor, although we were given frequent tap water refills a beer sat on the bar for ages before it arrived, both dishes were very salty with poor quality ingredients,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback about your experience with us at SOI. Sorry about the beer not reaching you soon enough from the bar. But I am still baffled about your comment about the salt in your food though. We prepare very personalised and customised food to our guest and never is mass produced in our kitchens by our... More 

Bangalore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We were a large group and had been looking forward to an evening of Indian food. I was left a bit disappointed. To start with, I felt the food was just ok, but that's because this is St Lucia and not India. One can understand the constraints imposed by geography. I think the main cause of disappointment was a certain... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear RSVivek, Thanks for your feedback about your not so good experience with us at SOI. In my defence all I have to say that we do whatever is possible to ensure that our guest enjoy not just our food, but our service, ambiance, cleanliness, professionalism. I am sorry that you did not enjoy what we offered to your group.... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

The food itself was good from here although our poppadoms were a bit soggy at the start. There are a wide range of curries, naans and rice which means you can fashion the meal you would like. As other have said it is pricey and beware of the 10% service charge and 10% VAT additions. Personally I was not impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear Pipwell, Many thanks for your feedback about SOI. Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your food with us and your comment about Poppadums noted. As far as Service charge and VAT are concerned, there is absolutely nothing to be beware about. It is pretty common practice in restaurants around the world. If you wanted to dispute your... More 

Houston, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

My husband and I stopped in at around 3. Too late for lunch, too early for dinner. We decided to order an assortment of appetizers and we were not disappointed. The tandoori wings were so good we ordered a second round. The skewered lamb was excellent as well. Even though we were the only ones in the restaurant at that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear Carmiland, Thanks for such a generously written review of your experience with us at SOI. You are right about my staff. They are always eager to look after diners in the restaurant. Thanks for mentioning that. Hope we get to see you again soon. Best regards, Chef Adil More 

Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Good food, the atmosphere is also nice. It IS a bit pricey though so be prepared for a decent bill. The prices are in USD as well so don't get confused and think you're getting a great ECD deal lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear Shelby, Thanks for your feedback. Appreciate your comments about our food and atmosphere at SOI. One correction though. Our prices displayed on our menus everywhere are actually in EC Dollars and not in USD as you mentioned in your review. We write an equivalent total in USD on your final bill to reflect the exchange in both currencies. That's... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

The ambiance is great. There is a patio as well as inside dining. The wait staff was very attentive and very well versed about the menu items. We were greeted with a tasted pre order item and cool towels to give us a respite from the heat. The dishes were very tasty and presented well. The restaurant made I've cream... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Love the title of your review. I am glad and thrilled to know that a visit to SOI did that to you. Thanks for your kind words about us and we are happy to know that you had a great time with us at the restaurant. Warm regards, Chef Adil Also visit our new waterfront restaurant in Marigot... More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Best food we had on the island! Everything we had was delicious and the service was great! Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adilchef, Chef owner at Spice Of India, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thanks for your feedback. Best regards, Chef Adil Also visit our new waterfront restaurant in Marigot Bay----Masala Bay More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

The food was better than the average that we found in Grow Islet. Located in town center and wait staff very professional. It was a pleasure to have food that was not warmed over. Try the chicken livers for sure. Lovely setting as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Spice Of India also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
 

Been to Spice Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Of India

Address: Bay Walk Mall | POB RB2621, Gros Islet 01758, St. Lucia
Phone Number: +1 758-458-4243
Location: Caribbean  >  St. Lucia  >  Gros Islet Quarter  >  Gros Islet
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 20 to 50
Cuisine: Indian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Bay Walk Mall | POB RB2621, Gros Islet 01758, St. Lucia
  • Location: Caribbean  >  St. Lucia  >  Gros Islet Quarter  >  Gros Islet
  • Phone Number: +1 758-458-4243

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 20 to 50
  • Cuisine: Indian

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children

Description

Spice of India,currently rated as number one restaurant in St Lucia, is a sophisticated Indian restaurant situated in the heart of Rodney Bay. Owner and Restaurateur Chef Adil has travelled across the Atlantic Ocean creating scintillating dishes to satisfy the palates of eager patrons throughout the Caribbean. Along with his sous chefs, Chef Adil has brought the modern Indian style of cooking based on ancient tandoor techniques to Saint Lucia. Get a feel for India in the uniquely designed restaurant, and succumb to the wiles of fine dining.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Spice Of India and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
St. Lucia
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Spice Of India staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?