We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BUSHBAR

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Geejam Hotel | San San, Port Antonio ., Jamaica
+1876 561 8600
Website
Add hours for BUSHBAR and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: BREAKFAST/BRUNCH, LUNCH, AND DINNER
Good for:
Romance
Bar scene
Doing business
Local cuisine
Outdoor seating
Special occasions
Entertaining clients
Breakfast/Brunch
Lunch
Dinner
Reservations
Late Night
Dessert

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 90 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 70
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Lovely venue for live local music!

After hearing about Geejam's weekend mento band shows, we called and made reservations for two in the Bush Bar. A local taxi took us there from Port Antonio for $500 JMD, right to the Bush Bar gate. We had time to enjoy the setting and scenery for a short while before the Jolly Boys took the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 21, 2015
jdplus33
,
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Good for:
  • Romance
  • Bar scene
  • Doing business
  • Local cuisine
  • Outdoor seating
  • Special occasions
  • Entertaining clients
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Lunch
  • Dinner
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
  • Dessert
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

After hearing about Geejam's weekend mento band shows, we called and made reservations for two in the Bush Bar. A local taxi took us there from Port Antonio for $500 JMD, right to the Bush Bar gate. We had time to enjoy the setting and scenery for a short while before the Jolly Boys took the stage for an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

super hip little spot up on a hill overlooking the water, feel like your in the jungle. perfect place for a meal or a pool game outdoors with some real jamaica vibes

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We went twice. Very hard to find they dont want just anyone stopping in. Food was so so. But the atmospher was wonderful. Music was fantastic.Staff was friendly and professional. We will go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This was our home base restaurant for the week there. Breakfast was excellent as was lunch and dinner. I think we preferred dinner here and lunch at Trident. The staff was friendly and helpful and the service was excellent as was the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

I should start by saying that we knew the meal was going to be pricey and we were prepared for that, but had hopes that like previous meals at other comparable properties like the Esperanza in Cabo or the Little Nell in Aspen that our meal quality would be equivalent to the properties reputation. Unfortunately, the home cooked meals at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagerbeaverhk, Co-owner at BUSHBAR, responded to this review

Dear kkendallgrove, Although we spoke the same evening your review was posted, I wanted to once again offer you my sincerest apologies, for you not having enjoyed the best time at the Bushbar. Unfortunately, with you leaving early the following morning, there simply wasn’t time for you to return, for me to show you how bespoke we are, because if... More 

NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Lovely ambience but now a bit tatty around the edges and food not any better than an average city diner like a good Denny's or VIP's. Waiting staff not very competent but pleasant. It's music business cache is really what saves it

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagerbeaverhk, Co-owner at BUSHBAR, responded to this review

Dear forestgreenNy, I’m not sure when you visited the Bushbar, but I noticed from your profile, and your other “review", that you were at a hotel close by, back in 2010. Perhaps you wanted to give us a belated present for Xmas?! Anyway, whatever the reason, my sincere apologies if you didn’t enjoy your meal. However, I suspect that the... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Dining in the hills listening to the Jolly Boys play SKA. It doesn't get better than that. Well it does! Chef Nigel is a world class chef, who along with the Bushbar staff ensures a dining experience to remember. Great job team!

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Visited Bushbar on a few occasions, and the service was always attentive without being pushy and very thoughtful. Whether the Manager on duty, the Chef or another server, everyone always greeted us with a smile and wished us all the best. The food is delicious and you always have the option of ordering food at Bushbar, and dining down on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

As a family that has traveled extensively and live abroad. We always look for authentic food and genuine experiences in foreign places. This was really bistro/cafe food at best with the price of fine dining. The $30 coconut curry meal equal to the $16 dollar meal I had the previously in Port Antonio The seafood pasta had hardly any seafood... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagerbeaverhk, Co-owner at BUSHBAR, responded to this review

Firstly, I must thank you for the many kind observations you make about the Bushbar, and its surroundings. I’d be the first to admit, there are cheaper places to eat, however I think it’s only fair to compare apples with apples. Based on the feedback we receive from the vast majority of our guests, as the reviews will testify, I... More 

Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Food service ambiance..........five star..........a must when in Port Antonio......especially live music Friday night.......spectacular

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed BUSHBAR also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to BUSHBAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Geejam Hotel | San San, Port Antonio ., Jamaica
  • Location: Caribbean  >  Jamaica  >  Portland Parish  >  Port Antonio
  • Phone Number: +1876 561 8600

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 29 - 31
  • Cuisine: Caribbean

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients

Description

BREAKFAST/BRUNCH, LUNCH, AND DINNER

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BUSHBAR staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?