We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 133 Willemstad Restaurants

Gouverneur de Rouville

de Rouvilleweg 9 | Otrobanda Waterfront, Willemstad, Curacao
+599 9 462 5999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 133 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Situated directly at the Anna Bay, with a beautiful view over the Handelskade and harbor entrance, you will find restaurant De Gouverneur (the Governor).This stately Curacaoan location you shouldn't miss, welcomes you from early morning to late at night for drinks, lunch and dinner.The kitchen is opened non-stop. Apart from their extensive, internationally orientated menu, they serve good local cuisine as well. De Gouverneur's service is a byword for friendliness, and the restaurant is therefore also very popular among st local inhabitants. For ten years now! Open: daily from 10 till midnight Prices: Lunch sandwiches and salads USD 7 - USD 12.50 Dinner: Starters USD 12.50, Soups USD 8, Main Courses USD 20, Desserts USD 8
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    341
    99
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF BAY AREA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

So this was the last dinner on the island and it was a great close. Parking is easy and deck views that are hard to beat. Staff was great and building's history add to the experience of quality food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us this amazing feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening out and would recommend us to others. This is exactly what we want to give to our guests; a great evening out! Till next time! Kind regards, More

Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

excellent food and service. the location is beautiful. the service was wonderful. We had a very good time and the prices where adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very pleased to hear you had a great night out at our restaurant. Our bartenders are happy to help you and others to provide the best possible service! Furthermore we are happy to hear that the food exceeded your expectations. Maybe the name of our bartender was Terrence or Arthur! Till next time.. Kind regards, More

Navarre, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This was our final supper in Curacao and I am so glad we didnt leave without stopping in. We got there for happy hour and stayed until 10 that night and became great friends with the bartender upstairs. Our food and drinks were truelly top notch. The view from the patio overlooking the light bridge was fantastic and made for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are very pleased to hear you had a great night out at our restaurant. Our bartenders are happy to help you and others to provide the best possible service! Furthermore we are happy to hear that the food exceeded your expectations. Maybe the name of our bartender was Terrence or Arthur! Till next time.. Kind regards, More

Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by waiters in other restaurants and tripadvisor, but unfortunately it did not meet these high expectations. I was disappointed by overcooked fish and brisket that was no brisket. Not bad at all, but not as expected. On the bright side, the view over the harbour and Willemstad is great indeed. Am giving this average... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Mark, We are sorry to hear that we couldn't met your expectations. We try to strive for the best possible service and quality of our menu items! Thank you for your feedback we will take this seriously! Please visit us again! Kind regards, More

Amsterdam
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We had shrimp tempura as a starter and we both loved it. After that we had an entrecôte and ribs and also this didn't disappoint. Portions were of a fair size, the quality good and the red wine was friendly priced as is the food. Location is great and service was friendly, so we have absolutely no complaints. Actually we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The restaurant is in an old building with lots of character in the best part of town near the Kura Hulanda Hotel. There is a great bar with a view of the water and the main town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We checked out this restaurant after having some disappointment and average meals on Curacao and looking on Trip Advisor for a recommendation. This place does not disappoint! The location is easy to find. Most people on here like the water facing view but we enjoyed the garden view in the back. They have an excellent wine list and a delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Russel, Thank you for your visit at our restaurant. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening at our garden area in the restaurant. We do think as well this is a warm and cozy place to enjoy your dinner. Thank you for your review! Looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, More

Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The food was really good, portion sizes average, but service was "ok" in my book. It may be because our server did not understand English that well, but she never smiled once and only returned once to refill our drinks. The View is amazing however at night where you can see the Queen Emma Pontoon Bridge lit up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review at Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your honest feedback. Therefore we take you comment very seriously regarding our service. As mentioned before we aim for the best possible service within our possibilities and serving with a smile is definately within our possibilities! We are looking forward to welcoming you again! Kind regards, More

Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

This restaurant, very well located at the waterfront of Willemstad, was recommended to us by a friend. The house the restaurant is in is reminiscent of old colonial architecture, and the restaurant area is pretty large. The food is great, although I definitely have to say the service is terribly slow. We had to wait 40 minutes just for water.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeroenvdvelden, General Manager at Gouverneur de Rouville, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, Thank you for your honest feedback at Tripadvisor. Although our food and view were both great, we do strife for the best possible guest experience and this does include our speed of service. We are sorry for any inconvenience. Kind regards, More

Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We've really enjoyed the atmosphere of this restaurant. Good cocktails, evening happy hour with 50% off, meals were very tasty too. This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend and was definitely worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Gouverneur de Rouville also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Curacao, Caribbean
 

Been to Gouverneur de Rouville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing