We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Alderholt Restaurants

The Churchill Arms

Station Road, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
44(0)1425 652147
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Alderholt
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: British
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sixpenny Handley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

This is an outstanding pub. Tanya and her staff are all brilliant and do everything they can to ensure you visit is memorable. We have eaten there many times and the food is great and well presented. It is also a dog friendly place which is a great idea as all the family can visit. We cannot praise, The Churchill... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We asked and Tanya delivered. Knowing that the alternative was me cooking breakfast for the 14 of us that stayed at ours on New Years Eve, we asked Tanya at The Churchill if she would open early on New Years Day for us to eat there, and Bless her, she did. Not only did that save me a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We live locally so naturally drive miles to go to other places to eat 'like you do' however we have now eaten here on 3 separate occasions and it has always been excellent. I always have the Chilli and it is always good, not too spicy, not too bland and made with proper mince beef. My wife generally plumps for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your glorious review Tim. We are all very proud of your feedback, and I will definitely be passing your comments on to the rest of the team as they deserve the Big pat on the back that you have given us. Once again Thank you very much. More 

Alderholt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Sunday lunch second too none Home cooked style menu authentic and genuine at affordable prices. Table and bar staff well trained proffesional and hospitable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very nice review, it is very much appreciated. Your comments will also be passed on to the staff. Thank you very much. More 

dorset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Our family of 4 visited the Churchill for an evening meal and we were all very impressed, the food came out nice and hot and tasted great! The pub was very busy as they had live music which added to the atmosphere, we will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback it is very important to us. The Band we had the night you visited are always popular. Your comments have been passed onto the team and we all hope to see you all again soon. More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Stopped off at pub on way home from remembrance service for a drink. Warm & friendly greating upon arrival. My children soon began to pester for the Sunday carvery which smelt delicious. After 10mins we decided to eat and had a choice of Turkey or Beef. We all but 1 had the beef which was superb and had a choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review, your comments are very important to us. It is very satisfying for the team to receive positive feedback and for that we thank you again. We hope you visit again very soon More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited the pub a few days ago to have dinner. We ordered chicken curry, but unfortunately were unable to eat much. The chicken was very fatty (I had several pieces which were pure fat) and the sauce was tasteless - believe me, I tried HARD to find some taste. I wouldn't call the meal terrible, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

We're very sorry to hear Judy that you did not enjoy your meal with us this week, your comments where passed to the kitchen and would like to also make amends that our apologise where not passed back to you. We only use Chicken Breasts in our cooking, and will pass your feedback to our suppliers that you found them... More 

Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

We recently had the Sunday carvery but were very disappointed. The beef was so tough we had a job to cut it or chew it. We told the waitress and she offered us a steak knife! We said we didn't think this would help so she kindly brought my Mother a few slices of pork which my Mum did eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

The Churchill Team are very dissappointed that you didn't enjoy your Sunday Carvery with us. Your comments on the day where not taken lightly as you suspected and we have passed your feedback about the beef to our supplier. As most of our regular customers comment that they like their beef rare we generally try to accommodate. If this isn't... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I so want to like this pub, it's convenient and the village is big enough to support a decent pub, but it's never more than dusk ok. The staff is friendly, but the food is just ok (based on previous visits) and the atmosphere is nothing that calls one back. I know that the owners are trying and I wish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, your feedback is very important to us. Very sorry that you feel everything could be better, and that our atmosphere doesn't draw you back. The team do work very hard to create a friendly atmosphere, so this comment will be taken on board. Our village covers a large demographic and therefore we try... More 

Alderholt, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

My family traveled down from Southampton to join us for a family celebration as it was my husbands 70th Birthday. We have frequented this Pup on many occasions in the past when it was under previous management,, as we live locally we decided it would be nice to be able to walk and not worry about driving back. I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheChuchillArms, Manager at The Churchill Arms, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, your opinions are very important to us. We are very sorry to hear that your meal was disappointing when you visited us especially as it was to celebrate your husbands 70th Birthday. It is a shame you have not visited us for a while but did frequently with previous management as we have... More 

Travelers who viewed The Churchill Arms also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park
 

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Arms

Address: Station Road, Alderholt SP6 3AA, England
Phone Number: 44(0)1425 652147
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Alderholt
Average Prices: USD 6 - 23
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Churchill Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?