We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thistle Stop

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
A 82 Main Loch Ness Road. 3 Miles south of Fort Augustus, Aberchalder PH35 4HN, Scotland
01809-50-14-78
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Thistle Stop and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 189 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 152
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Great

Stopped here today for lunch . Food was great . I had a prawn sandwich and a portion of chips . The chips were amazing and the food was all fresh and well presented . This was a worthwhile stop

5 of 5 starsReviewed November 6, 2015
Auchterarde
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

Stopped here today for lunch . Food was great . I had a prawn sandwich and a portion of chips . The chips were amazing and the food was all fresh and well presented . This was a worthwhile stop

Helpful?
Thank Auchterarde
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your comments are much appreciated. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
505 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

We called in here on route to Mull just for some drinks to take away and I just have to say that they were wonderful people running this place. It is a lovely little cafe and it's a shame we didn't have more time to stay and enjoy what they have to offer. Nicely priced and a lovely view. Certainly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you Tony and Kay for your review....we hope you had a great time on Mull. More 

Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Catering for all tastes an important annual visit. Our vegetarian and non vegetarian family group had all their wishes catered for.

Helpful?
Thank GA10480
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you so much....glad you enjoyed your visit....it's always good to see customers returning. More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

having visited today for lunch,I can def recommend a visit,food was fantastic,and coffee also very good,Cannot give less than a 5 star rating as food,drink,service faultless.

Helpful?
Thank Brian D
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you so much Brian for taking the time to review Thistle Stop in such a positive way....it is much appreciated. More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Stoped here for a quick bite to eat as our tummys were rumbling.not a lot on the menu but a few snacks, we had jacket potatoes which came without a long wait, quite basic,ok for what you pay for,but did the job.....friendly staff......a few souvenirs for sale....toilets.....so ideal.

Helpful?
Thank David J
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.....I am responding for the benefit of future visitors as it is, in my opinion, somewhat inaccurate. We never portray our establishment as serving fine dining...just good quality home cooked food with a selection of home baking at sensible prices. Our menu extends to 6 main courses... 5 puddings... 7 choices of sandwich filling..... 5 choices... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

We liked the scones and tea with jam and cream. I never had cream tea in Scotland. I was expecting double (thick) cream but what I got was whipped cream with the scones. Having said that, it was still pretty good. If you are passing by and need a break from driving, definitely worth a stop. Wifi is slow and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank WestbourneJ
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were confused by the cream......we advertise and serve whipped fresh double cream with our scones and I suspect that you maybe thought you would receive clotted cream as is the norm in Devon & Cornwall. Unfortunately I have no control over the speed of the wi-fi....we are in Highland Scotland and... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

If you want great food at a great value price this is the place for you. The breakfast is excellent and plenty of it. You can see it being cooked while you wait or you can wander around the little gift shop which is attached. The owners Patrick & Julie give you a warm welcome and make you feel at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roy R
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review...it is much appreciated. More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Stopped on a trip through Scotland, and what a great find. We were starving and the food was very good, plentiful, and great value! The owners are friendly and helpful, giving us great advice on a superb route over the Drumnadrochit pass. Would defintately recommend, and even more so if stopping on a motorbike as we did!

Helpful?
Thank JonnyBlackbird99
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review....we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and it's always good to see fellow bikers. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I stopped initially for a break for the driver but decided on an early lunch of wonderful soup and home made scones and jam and cream. We loved that it was quiet, not overly touristy, no tourist buses, great service, free wifi and it felt very comfortable. Much preferred stopping here than in nearby tourist tat towns.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit and to write such a positive review....we are pleased that your driver needed a break! More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

A nice little cafe on the way to Inverness. We had a welcome break here and enjoyed the fantastic home baking with our coffee. Definitely on or list to call again when we are next in Scotland. It also has a nice little gift area.

Helpful?
Thank Waem26
Julie A, Owner at The Thistle Stop, responded to this review

Thanks for your review....we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Travelers who viewed The Thistle Stop also viewed

Invergarry, Scottish Highlands
Spean Bridge, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Thistle Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: A 82 Main Loch Ness Road. 3 Miles south of Fort Augustus, Aberchalder PH35 4HN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Aberchalder
  • Phone Number: 01809-50-14-78

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Thistle Stop staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?