We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NP, England
+44 17684 86453
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A traditional English tearoom at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the...
A traditional English tearoom at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. We are open every day and have a Winter promotion running until March 27 of a 2 course meal for just £5.95, Available every day until then, with a selection of 6 main courses and 12 desserts. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed and has undergone extensive renovations in 2014.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 194 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 111
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Delicious food and friendly staff - favourite place in the Lakes

We visited the tearoom for lunch with our 3 children. Our food was delicious, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, even giving our children half a loaf of bread to feed the ducks! I am a wheelchair user, and found the tearoom accessible and easy to use. This place really is a gem... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 19, 2015
Susanwatsonwright
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

We visited the tearoom for lunch with our 3 children. Our food was delicious, and the staff were very friendly and welcoming, even giving our children half a loaf of bread to feed the ducks! I am a wheelchair user, and found the tearoom accessible and easy to use. This place really is a gem - and the hot chocolate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Good home-cooked lasagne and cake for pudding. This tea-room was a convenient place for lunch, having driven up to the Lakes during the morning, before an afternoon walk (into Martindale). Made us feel we should visit Pooley Bridge again for a longer stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Lovely location, with a great story behind the naming of the restaurant, which is something, you don’t really see in this day and age. Whether or not it is true is something that can be decided by the reader but it was nice to see some thought had gone into providing that little bit extra for the experience. What can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

What a pleasure to sit in the garden by the river, eat a tasty home-cooked meal and watch the world go by. The business is family-run and the waitress, aunt to the owners, happy to stop and chat, sitting down with customers for a natter. Good food, good prices, with a little shop selling homemade gingerbread to take away for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Visited during the Easter holidays and was very impressed, staff friendly and welcoming, menu offered good choice for both adults and fussy children!! Our food arrived quickly and was nicely presented and tasty, will definetly return when we are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We had the tea for two and everything was lovely. We sat near the place where people placed their orders and the guy serving was so helpful with giving people directions and local advise. Helped us out too. Well done. Credit to the Lake District.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

After hiking around Hallin Fell and then from Howtown to Pooley Bridge we were happy to stumble on this little gem. We sat in the garden by the river and although you are next to a main road the cafe is situated on a one way bridge so the traffic moves slowly; we barely even noticed it! We both ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stopped off for tea and a cake on a bright spring day. A pleasant riverside garden with good service. The lemon iced gingerbread is unique and tastes great. Worth a visit if you stop off in Pooley Bridge or whilst you wait for the Ullswater Steamer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

First and last visit. My beef lasagna was very poor- their was hardly any minced beef ( which was dry) and some of the sliced pasta was like concrete. The salad part of the meal was nice but for just under £10 a poor meal. My wife had the lamb casserole which was a lot tastier and had some nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steel My sincere apologies for your experience. I am very sorry your lasagne wasn't up to scratch. I recall washing up your plate and seeing that about one quarter of the pasta part had been left by you, and when I went to look for you on table 8, you had left with your wife already. It looked... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stopped for just a bite to eat and sat in the lovely cafe garden as we had a dog. As we walked in another customer with a dog shout over to us " lovely place they even do a doggy bag for the dog with meat and biscuits" so of course we had to have one. They were £1.50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms also viewed

Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Penrith  >  Pooley Bridge
  • Phone Number: +44 17684 86453

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 15
  • Cuisine: British

Description

A traditional English tearoom at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. We are open every day and have a Winter promotion running until March 27 of a 2 course meal for just £5.95, Available every day until then, with a selection of 6 main courses and 12 desserts. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed and has undergone extensive renovations in 2014.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?