We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NP, England
+44 17684 86453
Website
Add hours for Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: A traditional English tearoom at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the...
A traditional English tearoom at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. We are open every day and have a Winter promotion running until March 27 of a 2 course meal for just £5.95, Available every day until then, with a selection of 6 main courses and 12 desserts. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed and has undergone extensive renovations in 2014.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 105
    Excellent
  • 57
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Spot of lunch

We stopped for just a bite to eat and sat in the lovely cafe garden as we had a dog. As we walked in another customer with a dog shout over to us " lovely place they even do a doggy bag for the dog with meat and biscuits" so of course we had to have one. They were £1.50... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 18, 2015
Debbie B
Good for:
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW via mobile

First and last visit. My beef lasagna was very poor- their was hardly any minced beef ( which was dry) and some of the sliced pasta was like concrete. The salad part of the meal was nice but for just under £10 a poor meal. My wife had the lamb casserole which was a lot tastier and had some nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms, responded to this review

Dear Mr Steel My sincere apologies for your experience. I am very sorry your lasagne wasn't up to scratch. I recall washing up your plate and seeing that about one quarter of the pasta part had been left by you, and when I went to look for you on table 8, you had left with your wife already. It looked... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We stopped for just a bite to eat and sat in the lovely cafe garden as we had a dog. As we walked in another customer with a dog shout over to us " lovely place they even do a doggy bag for the dog with meat and biscuits" so of course we had to have one. They were £1.50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

A lovely little café with a great selection of snacks, drinks and cakes. Friendly and accommodating staff. Have been before and will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

On a recent drive along Ulswater we decided to have a brew in Pooley Bridge and found "Grannies" by the bridge. I would imagine its a very popular spot in the summer months, but it was no less welcoming on a chilly February afternoon. Coffee and a plate of home made sandwiches (and the Chips on the side ) were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My husband and I visited recently and loved this place. Very friendly and great for anyone with a dog. They have amazing cake (I had the carrot cake and my husband the sticky toffee pud), and they also have a good selection of vegan/veggie/dairy free options. It was excellent value for their winter deal, and I would be back in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

visited february 2015, having previously been in august 2014. Both visits earn a big positive from me, in the summer we sat outside which is a lovely setting. Anyone moaning about service outside, may not have seen the signs to order at the counter perhaps?? This visit we were inside, as it was february and the off season timing meant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

We went to Pooley Bridge for the afternoon to find this coffee shop. Well we weren't disappointed what a really good place to have lunch before we go for a walk. The pensioners meal was great great value (for everyone) they even wrapped our scones up to take with Us. Great place everyone so friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This cafe is in a beautiful setting with an outside eating are going down to the River Eamont, idyllic on a sunny day. The interior is warm and cosy for bad weather days. The food is good home cooking with generous portions and delicious salads. Very reasonably priced too and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Came here with friends and very cheaply priced, although the staff couldn't understand what we wanted. But brilliant :-) must visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Holland-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Feeling cold and hungry on a snowy windy day, we called in for a coffee. The premises were a little bland but the service was welcoming and the home made cakes were as good as they looked. The locals were friendly and dogs, lots of them were welcome and well behaved.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms, responded to this review

Tom Thanks for your review and your visit. I will work on adding a few more points of interest on the walls for atmosphere, in addition to the 3 large original watercolours, the history of the building and every transaction since 1687, the Tubular Fells interpretation of the the Wainwrights, the original Auction Sale poster of the premises from 1860,... More 

Travelers who viewed Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms also viewed

Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Penrith  >  Pooley Bridge
  • Phone Number: +44 17684 86453

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 15
  • Cuisine: British

Description

A traditional English tearoom at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. We are open every day and have a Winter promotion running until March 27 of a 2 course meal for just £5.95, Available every day until then, with a selection of 6 main courses and 12 desserts. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed and has undergone extensive renovations in 2014.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Granny Dowbekin's Tearooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?