We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant

Main Road, Arorangi, Cook Islands
682 20501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Gastropub
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    68
    51
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW

Great food and cocktails - brilliant service, tidy and clean, great decor - be warned party bus stops on Wed and Fri nites so get in early!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 NEW

Well we went here on our last night and it was by far the worse place we'd been to. You pay a lot of money for nothing. Vegetarian platter was revolting, kids meals look like dog food and even though we were the only group there it still took an hour for the food to arrive, and even when it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Kia orana Welll! That was quite the scathing and exaggerated review. The chkldren;'s meals were nuggets and chips - nothing there that looked the slightest bit like dog food. There was virtually nothing left on the plates fo the group in general. Woudn't that be an indication contrary to your review? Perhaps you should have made your grievances known at... More

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

if you love seafood, you have to check out the delicious seafood platter here. it is pricey but well worth it with all the variety you get. the decor and setting is really neat with loads to look at while you wait for your meal

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, General Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Kia orana and thanks so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. The team at the Tumunu and myself are really pleased that you enjoyed our restaurant. I hope you enjoy the same experience when you next return. Kia manuia Julie and all the Team at the Tumunu Garden Restaurant More

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

even though this is a seafood resturant there are still options for all tastes- I had the vegetarian dish and it was great- very large couldn't eat it all. Well worth a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Kia orana and thank you for your review. The cook comes from a big family and can't help herself with the portions! Very happy you enjoyed "our" Tumunu and hope you will visit us again one day. Meitaki Maata (thanks so very much) Kia manuia (good luck, good health and happy life) The Team from Tumunu More

North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Food was wonderful. Great flavour and generous servings. We ate here three times in the week we spent in Rarotonga, we loved it so much. Service was outstanding and the staff were very friendly. Julie the cat was cool too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi there Thanks so much for a great review. I show all the reviews to the staff good, bad and otherwise but they mostly love the great ones - like yours. We hope you have the opportunity to visit our lovely island again and perhaps call in on the Tumunu team too. Julie cat is a "princess" and really rules... More

Hawkesbury, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We thought we would give this restaurant a try & went back 2 more times. The food was delicious. The restaurant was very quiet and we couldn't understand why. The decor was very interesting and tropical. I would recommend a visit here. It would be great for family's as well. Their salad was great as was there special spinach mash.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Kia orana Trish Thanks very much for your review. It is like that sometimes in Raro - quiet one night and run off our feet on other nights. Trade can be fickle at times. So glad you at least made it to our Tumunu. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the whole package. Look forward to seeing you... More

New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was probably the worst meal experience we had in our time in Rarotonga. The surroundings were pleasant although seemed dated. The meal was very bland. We chose fish and 3 of us asked for fries as an option to the potato mash. These turned out to be stringy soggy ( not restaurant standard). To top all we decided to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Your review was not a good one by a long shot. I have shown it to all may have been concerned on that evening. They will learn from this. All reviews are shown to the staff because this helps to improve their demeanor, service and quality of product. Our desserts are usually as large as the mains - not sure... More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Mum and I decided to get the "famous" seafood platter, we were both really disappointed. The prawn and fish were both over cooked, prawn twisters were uninspiring as you can buy them at the supermarket In a box, and the rest was quite bland. The garlic bread was nice and large serving size (enough for at least 3 people). Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Kia orana Thankyou for your review. I am happy that you enjoyed your overall experience and service of the Tumunu. It does concern me that you didn't enjoy your platter. I am thinking that perhaps there was no quality control on that evening. I have shown this review to our cook and although she cannot specifically recall the platter, admits... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Food was great, in fact the steaks were cooked perfectly. Things that we felt could be improved were cushions on hard wooden out door seating & some modernising of the music played. Staff were very friendly & great that insect repellent was supplied. Asked for a glass of water & had to buy it at $8 a bottle!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the food and décor etc. However the music is something that perhaps might need looking at although 99% of our patrons enjoy the eclectic collection and even get up and have a dance occasionally! Point taken under advisement though. Water from the tap - especially when there... More

Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The decor is very retro, you expect the cast from South Pacific to come through the door while you are eating. The food is good, they pride themselves on generous servings. The pricing is good and so is the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TAMBA1954, Manager at Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review

ia orana and thank you for your review. What lovely comments. Not too many young ones would know South pacific but if I had of known I may have come through with a verse or two from Bloody Mary!!! Thanks again. The Team at the Tumunu More

Travelers who viewed Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tumunu Tropical Garden Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing