We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

Pub
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
01333 330 246
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 62 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Dinner Review

After many years visiting the Ship Inn i was looking forward to seeing the recent redevelopment. The Interior is lovely although there are a lot fewer seats now available in the Bar. We visited for dinner and the food was definitely of a poorer standard than before. The portion sizes in... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 31, 2015
drummon
,
Edinburgh
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Local cuisine
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 NEW

The Ship Inn has undergone a total transformation, It was a great Pub and it is now Exceptional. The refurbishment is a total success; not a piece of sea side tat in sight. Seven of us had Dinner. The scotch egg starter was huge and delicious, between us we had the Steak, Fish and Chips, Stuffed Avocado and Risotto all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

After many years visiting the Ship Inn i was looking forward to seeing the recent redevelopment. The Interior is lovely although there are a lot fewer seats now available in the Bar. We visited for dinner and the food was definitely of a poorer standard than before. The portion sizes in particular were very disappointing, the cheese cake i ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

We have been going to the ship inn for many years and we were disappointed with our visit (30th July). The food was good however the size of the portions were very very small. Many of us had salmon/hake and cheese cake. We also had two kids eating from kids menu and again the portions were extremely small. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

I have been coming to Elie for many, many years, and have always loved the Ship Inn. However, was so disappointed when I visited with family yesterday. The recent refurbishment has been done to a high standard, but in the process it has been entirely stripped of its former character and atmosphere. What was once a couthy seaside pub is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Having tried to eat here the day before and being told we needed to book a week ahead in order to secure a table, we felt lucky to be told they could 'fit us in' but only at 5pm today. We arrived at 4:45 and were directed to the bar, as the tables 'weren't ready'. At 5:10 we reminded them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are obviously disappointed to read it but we are equally aware of the many things that we are yet to get right. Due to the nature of the building work that we undertook, the opening of the restaurant was massively delayed and this meant that we had to open... More 

Tayport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Having looked at some of the reviews on here I am shocked at how unkind some people can be. To the people complaining that young staff are undertrained, maybe stop and think they probably are still being trained seeing as it is a fairly new place. It's the kind of thing you would mention to the head staff instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so vey much for taking the time to give us a review and for being so understanding. We are very aware of all the little things that we have yet to get right. i think we have a great product, fantastic staff and a truly wonderful place. Unfortunately it is almost impossible to open a venture like this,... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

The refurbished Ship Inn looks pretty smart and the staff are well turned out in their crisp white shirts. Everyone was very friendly but once we got settled in, no one really came back to see us, for example, to offer us more drinks or to top up the water jug for the children. We were disappointed at the wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologise for the waits you had on your food but are delighted that you enjoyed the food when you got it. We have a fantastic young team of staff who are all very keen to learn, friendly and are an asset to our business. Due to the over running... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Regularly visiting elie and the ship inn over many decades now, I have seen this place in many guises and through many owners. the new owners who have the INN at ratho have taken over and with great fanfare turned the bar and terrible back room into a really great space. nice touches and retaining some of the front bars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review. Firstly, I am delighted that you approve, mostly, of our changes at The Ship. I am delighted to tell you that the ship which used to be in the window behind the bar is currently in my house undergoing an ingestive a delicate clean and overhaul.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

We were not sure what to expect after reading mixed reviews but opted to try out anyway and sit outside for an impromptu lunch with friends. Under new ownership happy to cut some slack. In truth our experience was delicious food albeit a long wait. Did not put us of as beautiful sunny day. Once teething problems over I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for being understanding about the teething issues, which I can assure you we are very aware of. Thank you for seeing through the reviews and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ship Inn sometime soon. More 

Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

A nice enough place but stripped of all its former character. Pleasant decor but devoid of imagination and charm. Nice clean toilets. Wine is brought to table in conical laboratory flasks which immediately looks like a urine sample. Food was okay but priced like fantastic food. Staff appear under-trained and inexperienced. This place really needs to pull its socks up!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are vey much in the early days of opening. Rome wast built in a day. I am afraid that I have to disagree that we have made the place devoid of all character. I do accept that we are yet to hang pictures in the upstairs restaurant and blinds... More 

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
Phone Number: 01333 330 246
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Elie
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Cuisine: Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Elie
  • Phone Number: 01333 330 246

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Ship Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Scotland
3 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?