We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn

British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
441333330246
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 208 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 77
    Excellent
  • 59
    Very good
  • 32
    Average
  • 18
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
re-visit, re-vamped!

having been regulars at the ship in its previous incarnation, on checking the website it wasn't altogether clear if meals in the bar were still available or it was just restaurant eating only, so we made a quick visit for a pint after a dog walk to check it out. We were assured we could eat in the... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 5 days ago
rachel t
,
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fife
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've known the Ship Inn in Elie from when it was a wee pub with a few tables, tiny bar and a back room, and it's been a long time since I was last there! It was refurbished and extended last year and when I visited recently with 2 friends and a dog was absolutely delighted by the decor and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fifelady
Anstruther, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I visited the Ship at the weekend,When we arrived we were welcomed by staff who asked if we were in for a meal or Just drinks. We said that we would like a table and we were shown upstairs. Whilst we were sitting waiting on our food arriving (45 mins) i couldn't help but notice a mouse... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

I can absolutely assure you that there are no mice in our restaurant. This is a libellous accusation. We are completely up to date with our pest control and there is no sign of rodents anywhere. As you are aware Elie experienced seriously high winds last weekend which caused the fire to smoke. Our customs are delighted we have an... More 

Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went to the Ship inn last weekend. It has recently been refurbished and we were keen to,visit. The lunch we chose,was,fish and chips, they serve a large portion and also a smaller plate for those of us with a smaller appetite. The small portion was plenty adequate for my Aunt and I and my husband enjoyed the larger portion.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Scotland2010
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted that you all enjoyed your visit to us. We work very hard on the quality of the fish and chips and it is wonderful for my staff to receive great feedback. I have to agree that there are few finer views in Fife than... More 

Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

having been regulars at the ship in its previous incarnation, on checking the website it wasn't altogether clear if meals in the bar were still available or it was just restaurant eating only, so we made a quick visit for a pint after a dog walk to check it out. We were assured we could eat in the bar and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rachel t
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rachel Thank you very much for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the 'new' Ship Inn. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the website which I have altered today and I hope makes more clear that we are indeed still very dog friendly in the bar and downstairs restaurant. and that... More 

Motherwell
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Staying in Elie for a family break. Visit several times a year and always visit the ship inn several times. Came to the Ship Inn on Saturday 6th Feb 2016 and had a great meal and drinks. Staff were great and spent a lot of money. Decided to go back the following night Sunday 7th Feb. Got a seat at... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank 23brownhill
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry for the delay in responding. I have been trying to look into the circumstances as I was obviously disappointed to read it. Our staff are usually very friendly and i am sorry on this occasion that they weren't. We were very busy on Sunday and what she meant to say... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time we came here was on a wee holiday in December. We were able to bring in our two young dogs and the lovely staff made a fuss of them which was so nice. We came back again on a January holiday and the staff remembered our dogs! We were very very impressed. Best hot chocolate ever here and... More 

Helpful?
Thank appytraveller1990
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review and I am delighted that you have had such positive experiences at The Ship Inn. It is a great boost for our staff to read that they are appreciated and are getting things right. They certainly all do love dogs! I very much look forward to seeing you next time you... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

can for a weekend away with friends so we came for lunch where do i start what a lovely place staff where fab food was fab the whole visit was five star keep up the good work will be back

Helpful?
1 Thank ann m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came here to celebrate a friends special birthday and booked a table two weeks in advance for 10....after waiting at least an hour for our starters we were offered bread and olives which appeared 20 minutes later quickly followed by our starters....main courses came after we had complained a number of times and were committed to leave at the... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank simbo66
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

One of your party threatened my manager with a legal letter if some money was not taken off the bill. I am not quite sure what was intended by this threat except to intimidate my staff - there would have been no basis for a legal letter. My manager was so intimidated that he gave you a free meal. I... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the ship inn twice over the festive season and found the restaurant food and service to be very disappointing. New Year's Eve was a lengthy affair, waiting in excess of 30 mins between courses, which were already prepared. Although the main was fairly good and the venison well cooked, the other courses lacked any real cohesion, almost like the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank rmutty
Bridgeinn, Owner at The Ship Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to know that we have changed our head chef and the refining of the food is well in hand. The menu for this year's Hogmanay will be very different. We only ever do a set menu for large groups if it is arranged in advance so I am unclear what happened... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of sampling the bar area of this lovely place while indulging in a hog roast during a private wedding party. It has a nice cosy atmosphere and was a very nice place to sit and chat and pass a few hours in. There is a lovely eating area which we had access to but as we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: The Toft, Elie KY9 1DT, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Elie
  • Phone Number: 441333330246

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Ship Inn and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Scotland
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Ship Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?