We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Horse Inn Restaurant

$$
British, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Old Road, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
01358742156
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for White Horse Inn Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 122 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 43
    Excellent
  • 37
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
'Posh' pub grub

We came here the other night for dinner with friends. Delightful and friendly staff, the place has been done up and a new menu. Not a huge selection of food but the usual burgers/steaks/risottos etc were available. My friends had fish pie and the beef stew which both looked lovely and I had a... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Lynne7654
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived a lunch time - place almost empty. Several items from the lunch menu were unavailable. Offered alternatives but when meals arrived they were cold and unappetising. A couple in the party ordered morning coffee and scones - coffee OK-ish but scones definitely stale. Service was very poor. Disappointing in so many ways, we won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

waited forever for our food to arrive and it was absolutely not worth the wait, I didn't enjoy it one bit. It's a pity because the refurbishment is lovely, It has a lot of potential if they sorted the food and waiting times out!

Helpful?
Thank Charl0tta
White H, General Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Charl0tta, Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. I am sorely disappointed to read your comments and would appreciate further details in order to fully understand what went wrong. We work hard to ensure all our guests have a wonderful experience and absolutely thrive on all the fabulous feedback we regularly receive. But... More 

Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were on our way home from town and thought we'd try here for supper as we'd heard all good reports. It's been totally done up since our last visit lovely, bright and fresh, lovely friendly attentive staff but we were quite disappointed with the food. I had fish and chips which was dripping in grease, my son had sausage... More 

Helpful?
Thank LornaScott
White H, General Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear LornaScott, Many thanks for taking the time to offer a review of your recent visit, thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our décor and staff. I am surprised and disappointed to learn you didn't enjoy your meal. Our Bluetoon Haddock dish is a firm favourite with our guests and this is the first time I have... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had yet another fantastic lunch at The White Horse Inn Restaurant. Food was fantastic and staff very friendly and attentive. A must visit if you are heading to Balmedie beach or just passing through the village. We just wish we lived closer so we could go more often!

Helpful?
Thank David J
White H, General Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear David J, Thanks so much for your kind comments, I am delighted you had another great lunch with us. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards Sonia More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came here the other night for dinner with friends. Delightful and friendly staff, the place has been done up and a new menu. Not a huge selection of food but the usual burgers/steaks/risottos etc were available. My friends had fish pie and the beef stew which both looked lovely and I had a burger which came from the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne7654
White H, General Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lynne7654, Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit. Thanks for all your kind comments, I'm delighted you all enjoyed your evening with us. We've had not-so-quiet nights since, guests eager to be beat off the cold January blues with a wee meal by our fireside. Love the 'posh pub grub' title, exactly what we're aiming for.... More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Can highly recommend the festive menu running in December 2015. Very good choice and and service was excellent too. Treat yourself this Christmas.

Helpful?
Thank lonelyplanetnot
dunfermline
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

Went here for a meal with my wife, son in law and daughter in law. The dinning room and cocktail bar are very well presented with most welcoming staff. The selection of wine on offer was surprisingly good. The Menu comprehensive with requests catered for. Had a hot camembert starter which was superb with a lovely chutney and very light... More 

Helpful?
Thank dia45
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015

I attended a wedding at the White Horse Inn this weekend. Upon arrival I met a very helpful man at reception who organised my room key and gave me directions. The rooms aren't within the building where reception/restaurant etc are housed, which isn't a problem in nice weather, but wasn't the nicest when raining at midnight. The walk isn't far... More 

Helpful?
Thank HyperBunny86
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile

Shocking service, took at least 15 minutes to get our drinks, which consisted of a cup of tea, a glass of water and a hot chocolate. When dessert was served, it was luke warm at best. We ordered cocktails and received them relatively quickly but did not get the empty glasses removed from the table or offered more cocktails. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
White H, General Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to us. I am sorry to learn your experience was less than desirable. Please be assured this is not a reflection of the high standards we have set ourselves here at The Whitehorse Inn. I would appreciate if you would contact me at the hotel to discuss further. Please contact... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

We were looking for somewhere to eat en-route from Ellon, heading down South without going too far off the main road. We'd heard rumours that the White Horse had been done up and the food was good and decided to give it a go. Once you get past the dowdy exterior, the new Lounge/Restaurant area has been really well renovated.... More 

Helpful?
Thank soularch

Travelers who viewed White Horse Inn Restaurant also viewed

Balmedie, Aberdeenshire
 
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
Grantown-on-Spey, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to White Horse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Old Road, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Balmedie
  • Phone Number: 01358742156

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 23
  • Cuisine: British, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Horse Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?