We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Horse Inn Restaurant

$$
Seafood, British, Contemporary, Scottish
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Old Road, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
01358742156
Website
Add hours for White Horse Inn Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 87 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 8
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Disappointing Sunday Lunch

The White Horse is our local and we have been on several occasions and always enjoyed our experience. We decided to visit for Sunday Lunch after the refurbishment with family who were visiting. It was a long wait and very small portions- we only got one slice of roast beef but I must say it was... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 1, 2015
CSutherlandM
,
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW via mobile

Extremely disappointed. Not sure where to start. Terrible welcome, no offer of a children's menu, unhelpful staff, bland food, the list goes on. Thank goodness the voucher we had for one free meal reduced the cost of this painful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

The White Horse is our local and we have been on several occasions and always enjoyed our experience. We decided to visit for Sunday Lunch after the refurbishment with family who were visiting. It was a long wait and very small portions- we only got one slice of roast beef but I must say it was very tasty! We would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
White H, Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed the Roast Beef, all our meat is locally sourced from the award winning Store in Foveran. We pride ourselves on producing quality dishes and hope that the quantity of what we provide on each dish meets the needs of our customers, so I am sorry to hear this was not the case from your Sunday... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

It's been a number of years since we stopped off here for our evening meal on the way home from work. We were pleasantly surprised last week when we decided to give it another try having heard it had been refurbished. The new decor is really nice, beachy and relaxed. The food was really good - lamb and mint burger,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White H, Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and like our new decor. We have put a lot of hard work not just into the appearance but into the menu and service provided and it is great that it is being noticed by customers.... More 

Ellon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Used to live in this area as Belhelvie Parish Minister and visited this restaurant and social function room frequently for family meal, wedding event, or even funeral socials. After leaving the area in 2004 and some time later heard the establishment had gone down hill. However, more recently, learned the place had undergone a change of management and been completely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White H, Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so glad that you have noticed the changes we have made and you had an enjoyable experience. The feedback we receive from customers is important to us and I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Well after a lot oh mixed comments about the White Horse Balmedie, having been there a long time ago and was very disappointed ..... Was glad to hear it had been refurbished and was now a lot better. Make a visit today and I'm 100% happy. The decor is beautiful, including the toilets and my granddaughter was very impressed (aged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White H, Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your visit, we do try to cater to all customers and we are a family friendly hotel so we are delighted that your Granddaughter also enjoyed her time with us. So kind of you to take the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Staying at an inn up the road and just finished a blustery walk on Balmedie beach when we stopped in. Can't comment on food as only had a coffee but lovely place to sit in front of wood-burner. Doesn't look much from outside but lovely interior.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

On arrival we were impressed by the new décor but unfortunately that was all we were impressed with. When taking our order the waitress informed us that the chef prepares the roast beef 'pink in the middle' so if we would like it well done just to say and she would let him know. We ordered one medium and two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White H, Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Customer service is very important to us and I am sorry we did not get it right on this occasion. The Roast Beef is cooked to how the chef recommends for the highest of quality and although this is not to everyones taste it can be cooked to the customers... More 

Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Had dinner there on a Saturday evening. The new decor is lovely and makes a huge difference to the restaurant. Wood fire burning all evening added to the atmosphere. Whilst the menu choice is not huge there was plenty to keep us happy. Presentation of the dishes and taste could not be faulted in any way. One of the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I thought 3rd time lucky but unfortunately was not the case. An extremely poor vegetarian menu macaroni cheese, a veggie burger or the special....tortellini in a cheese sauce. Plumped for the veggie burger a nd was told they didn't have any asked if I could have a cheese and fruit salad but was advised they only did side salad. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
White H, Manager at White Horse Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience with us. It is unfortunate that the Veggie burger was not available on your visit as it is a popular choice. If we are out of a certain dish due to it being sold out, the customer should be informed before making their choice, a breakdown in... More 

Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

My wife and I went to the restaurant at 1230 hrs on a Saturday and when we entered into the foyer we thought that it had closed down - it was so quiet and no staff to be seen. After a few minutes we were greeted by who could have been the manager and directed to the dining room and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed White Horse Inn Restaurant also viewed

Balmedie, Aberdeenshire
 
Ellon, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to White Horse Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Old Road, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Aberdeenshire  >  Balmedie
  • Phone Number: 01358742156

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 11 - 25
  • Cuisine: Seafood, British, Contemporary, Scottish

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Horse Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?