We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Pensacola Beach Restaurants

Flounder's Chowder House

800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
850-932-2003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    360
    152
    51
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

This is a must if you are visiting Pensacola! The staff and food are amazing. You definitely won't be disappointed with this trip. The experience alone is worth the drive/trip. Make sure you order a diesel fuel they are a must!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It makes us proud that people travel solely to come eat with us. We hope you and your family have a Happy Holiday! More 

Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

I'm not sure they offer a Lunch Menu, if they do we were not offer one on our visit. We had the Fried Shrimp Dinner, Fired Oyster Dinner and the Shrimp Po'Boy. All were good, nothing outstanding. The Flounder Chowder was good. The outstanding things were the dirty condiment bottles on the table. The cocktail sauce had so much crap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had this level of experience here. It is embarrassing to us as we strive to be the best on a daily basis. I have passed your critique along to our GM, so that we can make sure the issues that were pointed out in your review are corrected and do not happen again. Thank you... More 

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We would have loved to eat here. Sadly after 15 minutes with no waitstaff- we left. We did not try again during our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you were not taken care of when you were here. I can offer some excuse as to why, but there are times where excuses do nothing. I have taken your review to the GM, so that this lapse does not happen again. I hope on your next visit that all your expectations are excesses and... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

This restaraunt is continually improving in service, amenities, and quality of the food. With these improvements,Flounders has slowly earned my rating of best on the beach. I should also mention that after hurricane Ivan, beach access was limited and Flowders stayed open to feed lunch to the workers --free . They never bragged or advertised that. Heroes never do

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review. We strive to give to be the best daily. We hope you have a Happy Holiday and look forward to servicing you again. More 

Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

This is a typical boardwalk type restaurant facing Santa Rosa Sound. It is very casual, any dress code works. There is a large outdoor eating area with a stage used for entertainment and presentations. The indoors is large and barn like with memorabilia hanging from the ceiling and everywhere. The tables are picnic like and the service is casual. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your experience at Flounder's. We will let the Executive Chef know of your critique, so that he can make sure that our quality is what everyone expects. Thank you for your review, and we hope you have a Happy Holiday. More 

Red Wing, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Great Waiter, and even better food. The diesel fuel drink is something everyone should try. Seafood and Chicken were out of this world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

We are glad that the food and service hit the mark for you! Thank you I for your review and have a Happy Holiday. More 

Dalmatia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Stopped for a quick bite. The seafood nachos were awesome and HUGE. There were plenty of nachos for the six people in our party. The onion rings were tasty, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed everything, and left full. I hope you and your family have a Happy Holiday. More 

Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

The food was legendary! The atmosphere was great and the place is right on the beach, you can walk right out to the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

We thank you for your epic review! We are glad you enjoyed everything and we hope you have a happy holiday. More 

Wartrace, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I am not a picky person in anyway but this place needs some workers that actually know what to do. We sat down with menu's in hand and the waiter came up and asked what we wanted to drink. We got our drinks and didnt see him again for about 30 minutes. He finally came back took our orders and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

I am terribly sorry that you received such service. I have made the server manager/general manager aware of the issue, so that he can correct the problem and insure no repeat of past issues. I am glad to see that you enjoy the beach, and know that you have sworn off Flounders. However, we hope someday to right our wrong's... More 

Pace, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Indoor eating and outdoor area. Bands perform regularly. Try a Diesel Fuel, you will only need one unless you have a driver. Portions are huge. We usually share. Volleyball area. Nice place to hang out. Parking is limited, you might have to park across the street. Gift shop for browsing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhcaddell, Manager at Flounder's Chowder House, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the Diesel Fuel. Thank you for your review, and we hope you have a Happy Holiday. More 

Travelers who viewed Flounder's Chowder House also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Flounder's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flounder's Chowder House

Address: 800 Quietwater Beach Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561
Phone Number: 850-932-2003
Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Florida Panhandle  >  Pensacola Beach
Open Hours:
Sunday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 0 - 20
Cuisine: Seafood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Flounder's Chowder House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?