We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Salt

$$
Bar, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Australian
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
134 West Coast Drive, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
+61 8 9246 9221
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tue - Fri 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated overlooking the clear blue waters of the Indian Ocean, White Salt...
Situated overlooking the clear blue waters of the Indian Ocean, White Salt has been pleasing its diners since opening in 2005 and is now established as one of the premier dining venues along the beautiful coast.Be it coffee, cake, lunch, dinner or a breakfast, we welcome everyone to our restaurant. Why not pop in for a drink whilst watching the sunset over the ocean. We also cater for functions and are the ideal wedding venue, intimate and on the beach
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 135 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 34
    Excellent
  • 60
    Very good
  • 23
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Vegetables

A very nice restaurant with exceptionally nice staff, very eager to please BUT how on earth can a restaurant not serve vegetables. To add to the disappointment there were no potatoes of any description available, except chips, which were used very sparingly. Added to this I ordered the chicken... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 9, 2015
jean w
,
Perth, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

My wife tried to surprise me with a deal voucher and she booked us in for valentines day...When we arrived the guy at the door advised there had been a mistake made taking our booking as it was not valid for Saturdays..He apologised and offered us another voucher so we could sit down for a discounted breakfast. But within seconds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

As owners, we are also a little dumbfounded, as when you purchased the voucher from Our Deal it clearly states both on the website and in the terms and conditions that the voucher is valid from TUESDAY TO FRIDAY. Valentines Day this year was on Saturday, and the vouchers are valid until the end of April allowing plenty of time... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

A very nice restaurant with exceptionally nice staff, very eager to please BUT how on earth can a restaurant not serve vegetables. To add to the disappointment there were no potatoes of any description available, except chips, which were used very sparingly. Added to this I ordered the chicken dish which, to my horror when it arrived, was not chicken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad that you recognise our high standard of service. In relation to your comments about vegetables, could we point out that every main dish comes with a vegetable or starch component. We also offer spiced carrots with honey and feta and numerous salads as a side dish. Yes... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Called in for lunch, menu was more for dinner. The restaurant was dirty and they gave us water poured straight from the tap, warm !! As we could not find anything on the menu worth ordering for lunch, we left. What can I say, wouldn't bother going back !! Sorry to the staff, we would usually give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

It is always good to get feedback however as owners we are a little baffled that you chose to give a negative review without actually eating any of our food or experiencing our service which we have worked very hard to maintain over the last nine years. The menu is indicating what we offer and we understand that not everyone... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

After hearing a lot of good things about White Salt we decided to go and let me say right now that it certainly didn't let us down. The location is great, right on the coast. It's even better if you get there to see the setting sun. A sought after view whilst sitting down to a nice meal. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments . We do make a huge effort to get the right staff to look after our guests. It is great to be able to pass on some really great feedback to Bec and the whole team. Thanks again. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

This has been a long time favourite, primarily because good service is hard to find in Perth and White Salt always had it, and the food was never below good. Not so on Sunday night. The food was good, the service pretty awful. We arrived early so it wasn't crowded, but after being forgotten by the Maître d (we didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we sincerely apologise that on this occasion you did not enjoy your dining experience. As by no means an excuse, we do wish to inform you that we did have a senior member of staff telephone in sick at very short notice on Sunday and the staff we had available were all In Training, indicated... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Took my wife out to dinner to celebrate her birthday have been to this restaurant on several occasions and have never been disappointed , the food was cooked beautifully the setting is great and the staff could not be faulted friendly , helpful and fun and great time ,recommended we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your positive comments it is great to be able to pass on some positive feedback to our amazing team! We do make a lot of effort to try and maintain good food and service. Kind regards Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast at White Salt, overlooking the gorgeous Ocean and watching everyone doing their morning exercise. Eggs benedict was delicious, coffee enjoyable and my fiancé loved his Bloody Mary. We enjoyed it so much we came back the following weekend again. Highly recommend White Salt for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again at White Salt! More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Sunday night looking over the ocean and the seafood platter sounded like a great idea! Big mistake.... over cooked fish, rolled fish was dry and tasteless, marinated sardines...weird flavour and texture... heaps of chips.... lovely fresh oysters... salt and pepper squid was ok. Chilli muscles were enjoyable but not sure what happened to the chilli. No bread for the lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we apologise that you did not enjoy your experience at White Salt. Please feel free to call us personally on 0892469221 as clearly this was not up to our usual high standard. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors. More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Went for dinner and drinks, typical Australian menu, food was delicious and reasonably priced.Lovely styled restaurant with great outdoor seating and views

Was this review helpful? Yes
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your complimentary comments. Its great for our staff to read and encourages them to keep up the good work! Thanks again. Tim and Claire Leech Proprietors. More 

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We had my daughters first holy communion dinner here and was really disappointed and very expensive for very average food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
404clairel, Owner at White Salt, responded to this review

Thanks for your review . We note that you review was from a visit in June 2014 and although we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience we would like to point out that since then we have had a Head Chef Change together with some changes including new menus for breakie lunch and dinner. After successfully operating... More 

Travelers who viewed White Salt also viewed

Wanneroo, Greater Perth
 
Perth, Greater Perth
 

Been to White Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 134 West Coast Drive, Sorrento, Joondalup, Western Australia 6020, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Joondalup  >  Sorrento
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9246 9221

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 12 - 31
  • Cuisine: Bar, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, Australian

Description

Situated overlooking the clear blue waters of the Indian Ocean, White Salt has been pleasing its diners since opening in 2005 and is now established as one of the premier dining venues along the beautiful coast.Be it coffee, cake, lunch, dinner or a breakfast, we welcome everyone to our restaurant. Why not pop in for a drink whilst watching the sunset over the ocean. We also cater for functions and are the ideal wedding venue, intimate and on the beach
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from White Salt staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?