We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ye Olde Steppes

Pembridge Village Shop & Tearoom | High Street, Pembridge HR6 9DS, England
01544 388506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Pembridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
9 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

In my thirteen years of living only a few miles from Pembridge, this is the first time I've visited Ye Old Steppes. It won't be the last. Not being in a sweet mood this afternoon, I fancied giving the savoury cream tea a go, particularly as I didn't know such a thing existed. I wasn't disappointed. There was a generous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This tearoom was highly recommended & we were delighted with our visit. Friendly and welcoming staff showed us to a table promptly. The lunch menu was extensive with a great selection of beverages. The sandwiches were all served with coleslaw, salad & vegetable crisps & the bread was exceptionally fresh....very filling & enjoyable. The local ale went down well too!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hi Jules, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It's really nice to get such lovely feedback and to hear that you had a good time with us here at Ye Olde Steppes. Great to hear that you enjoyed the sandwich, our bread comes in fresh every morning from Swift's in Ludlow so it's always... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have been here a couple of times now, firstly the decor is perfect. All the staff are very welcoming and the food is excellent. We will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hi Christopher, Thank you very much for the kind 5* review, it really means a lot to us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere here - it's a remarkable building that really feels homely. One of the most important things about creating that atmosphere is the people who come and visit us, so thank you for enjoying... More

Leominster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Been here several times, and have always been able to enjoy the most fantastic food I have ever had the pleasure of eating. I would recommend anyone to eat here. Very friendly service, lovely quaint atmosphere. Lovely warm fire in the winter. I cannot find fault with this place at all. I have a hygiene phobia, and don't eat out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hi SG, Gosh, what a lovely review, thank you very much indeed. I'm so pleased that when you have visited us here you've had a good time and enjoyed yourself. I'm sorry to hear about your hygiene phobia but I'm so pleased that you feel confident and comfortable enjoying food with us here at Ye Olde Steppes without worry -... More

Lymm, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

For 40 years we have been coming to Pembridge twice every year to visit the church and place flowers to remember John's family who lived in Pembridge. We knew Ye Olde Steppes shop well. We were told that the shop had changed and thought we would pop in for a coffee. What a transformation! We had a beautiful lunch and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hi Beppie, John and Grace, Thank you so much for your very kind review. The church here is wonderful, with it's free standing bell tower and we are so lucky to live just next door, it's so peaceful. We're really pleased that you like what we've done with the place, she's 500 years old so we wanted to really bring... More

Knighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This place is one of my favourite places to be not just eat. Service friendly and helpful, food is homemade and great quality. The owners and staff have made a wonderful peaceful atmosphere I literally would go there every week if I could

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hi Gem S, What a fantastic title for a review! Thank you ever so much for your kind words. I'm so happy that you enjoy the atmosphere here at the Steppes. There's always a bit of bustle from people coming into the shop so it's really nice to know that the atmosphere also feels peaceful. We wish that you could... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Having just read the previous review of 'Ye Olde Steppes' I can't disagree more ! I brought my family here and we had a fantastic lunch. The staff were outstanding in the welcome and service we received. We didn't have to wait long, and I very much doubt that the reviewers 'illness' was caused here as the cleanliness could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hello McDonagh, Thank you very much for your support following a previous review. The fact that you had a super time here with your family means so much to us all. I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed your lunch with us. The team that work front of house truly love spending time with our guests and I'm very pleased... More

Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited the tearooms while on holiday in Broxwood Pembridge and we were not disappointed. The staff were extremely pleasant and the service was great. All the food is all homemade which is an added bonus and the drinks are great too. They have a large selection of homemade cakes which we purchased to take away after we were too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary_YeOldeSteppes, Owner at Ye Olde Steppes, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you so much for the very kind review, it does mean a lot to us. We're really pleased you enjoyed the home cooking and the selection of cakes we offer (even if you were to full to enjoy them here; always nice to enjoy later!). We'd much rather have your dog in the tearoom with us than... More

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Have visited twice and will certainly be back. Delicious lunches, cakes and drinks all served in a delightful little tearoom in the centre of the village. Service was excellent - lovely staff who were helpful and very pleasant. Lovely shop and gifts to buy as well. HIGHLY RECOMMEND a visit if on the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

i've been here 3 / 4 times and would still pop in if i was in the area Try the cherry scones there great...it's a lovely old place with an olde world theme the lady is extremely helpful and the food is excellent...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Steppes also viewed

Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 

Been to Ye Olde Steppes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde Steppes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing