We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The John Millington

67 Station Road, Cheadle SK8 7AA, England
0161 486 9226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 69 restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    34
    42
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An attractive and popular place. The food is a notch up from the average pub and is well presented. There are no deals or bargains but the prices are fair. They also have a better than average range of ales, recently a Camra pub of the month, but I would still like to see more variety. It would be great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Eaten & drank here lots! Brilliant in the summer outside, fab atmosphere, food delicious (slightly pricey) but always busy & thriving. Never any issues. Can't beat their burgers or steak fajitas!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful Summer Evening, beautiful setting, ruined by ignorant bar staff To busy chatting amongst themselves to notice customers waiting When they did eventually notice that customers were waiting it was a case of "first to hit the eye" rather than longest waiting to be served! Walked out and went to the Governors instead. Much better service! and I encourage you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had an extended family meal here. It was a really busy Friday and the place was packed. The staff gave us an excellent part of the restaurant that gave us an element of privacy. The food was good and they we're prompt. They accommodated all the requests of my guests, too. Well done to all of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Threee of us had different courses for lunch and all appeared to be flavoursome, home cooked food. Good attentive service, nice wine list and a very good selection of beers. Nice tasteful decor and a pleasant busy atmosphere. Couldn't find fault with anything

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Disappointed that you are no longer taking reservations to eat in the bar area. I wanted to book a table of 6 for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was full as you had a party on - yet the lady on the phone said you'd stopped booking/reserving the bar area to eat in because people had complained. I think this is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We often visit JM for a shared platter and a nice glass of wine. Unfortunately, the menu appears to have changed and this was not on offer. Only one other couple were eating on a Tuesday evening but the food took ages to come. I ordered sausages and mash and the sausages had very tough skins which spoilt the whole... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit. We have recently updated our menu, but I am unsure which sharing platter you refer to as we did not have one on our previous menu either. I would appreciate it if you contact me personally at thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com with some more details of... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I visited on a bank holiday Monday in May and although it was busy our food was excellent. We didn't have to wait long and all the meals for a group of four came at the same time and were hot. We had starters mains and desserts and we enjoyed them all. This is the best Pub/ Restaurant I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit last Bank Holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon! More

Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

i always worry about what i'll eat when going out due to being on a gluten free diet but was relieved to find there were gluten free options listed on the menu.however,there were only a couple (luckily im not fussy!).i ordered a starter of mushrooms labelled gluten free&they came in a bowl without the bread on the side.this really annoys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback on our Gluten Free options. We have a selection of 4 starters and 10 main meals on our menu that are either totally gluten free or can be made gluten free by substituting certain items. I accept your point regarding the gluten free bread. We did used to stock this, however it mostly went... More

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

First the good points great selection of beer's perfectly served in clean gasses, The food was a good quality, Nice pub and comfortable seating and clean, nice outdoor seating area and plenty of parking. The bad points,Meal served plated no tureens when paying up to £15 for three course expect.The service was bad our meal was just warm ending up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy C, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry if the service you received on the day was not as it should have been. Your meals and plates should certainly not have been cold as our plates are stored in a heated cupboard to ensure that this does not happen. If this was the case though, we would have happily replaced... More

Travelers who viewed The John Millington also viewed

 
Hyde, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester

Been to The John Millington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The John Millington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing