We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Cheadle Restaurants

The John Millington

67 Station Road, Cheadle SK8 7AA, England
0161 486 9226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in Cheadle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    47
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW

Following my review on the 8 October regarding poor service at The John Millington, we decided to give it one more chance and I am pleased to report that the service was fine. It seems that the busier they are, the better the service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheadle Hulme
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014 NEW

The John Millington is welcoming warm and cosy on these cold November days The food is delicious with a great choice for all tastes at reasonable prices Service is quick and served by friendly staff who will make sure that all you require is there for you In the warmer months there is a delightful garden area where you can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheadle Hulme
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Food was lovely but unfortunately the service was a let down, rather unwelcoming which ruined the overall experience. As we had not dined there in a while we asked a few questions regarding the menu which put the person serving us in a mood!!!! Hey ho the food was great. The pub itself is a lovely, just a shame about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not have the experience you were expecting. Can you tell me what day you came in and time?? Any issues with service I personally investigate and will need to speak with the staff who were on shift. Can you email me @ thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com Regards Chris Baldwin Manager The John Millington More

Watford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Went here last Sunday for lunch, that at best could only described as average. On the plus side the pub is pleasant enough and the service and the beer was good, lunch was topped with an huge overcooked cold Yorkshire Pudding that hid a not over generous lunch, The lamb was OK but the quality of the vegetables was, regrettably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not have the experience you were expecting, I can assure you that the crumble had not been 'over micro-waved' the crumble is made in house and we certainly do not use a microwave to cook it.. If you can contact me via email at thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com to discuss this matter further. Regards Chris Baldwin Manager The... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

A short walk from the train station, great beer and fantastic food, in my opinion the best place in Cheadle hulme for a pint and a meal with the most welcoming warm welcoming atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words We hope to see you again soon Regards Chris Baldwin Manager More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We got invited back due to a bad experience and had a whole new experience. Lovely table, attentive waiting staff - gorgeous food! My two critics joined me (my two children). We're all foodies so not easily pleased but this time was so wonderfully pleasant. Friday fish and chips is definitley worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and I am so please you enjoyed your return visit. Hope to see you again Regards Chris Baldwin More

Gtr Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

This is our regular from the office - Every Friday evening, Saturday afternoon & one or two other evenings. I'm told the beer is good but I'm determined I'll get a smile or 'Hello' from the young barman with greasy hair. He's either got an appalling memory or just thinks he's superior. The other barman, bearded & a moustache, is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Used to visit The John Millington regularly but after three occasions when the service was embarrassingly slow, we moved our custom elsewhere. However, the food has always been good and we would like to return. from reading some of these reviews, it seems that nothing has changed. Would appreciate comments on service from anyone who has been recently.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My husband and I went to the John Millington for lunch to celebrate our anniversary having been on quite a few occasions previously. The meal was ok but certainly not as good as it has been in the past and we were disappointed that they no longer serve proper home made chips but instead what seemed like oven chips which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

I am sorry if you did not have the experience you were expecting, I can assure you that we do not serve 'oven chips' we do not have a oven big enough to meet the demand!!! If you could contact me via email to discuss this matter further - thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com Regards Chris Baldwin Manager The John Millington More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Went for a roast the other day along with my children who chose food off the children's menu. They couldn't eat theirs and they are big eaters! just the quality was awful. My roast was passable but the potato's tasted of nothing, two many zaps in the microwave perhaps? Had to wait quite a while too and the waitress kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
chris b, Manager at The John Millington, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience on Sunday, If you could contact me via email or by phone so we can discuss this matter further. Regards Chris Baldwin Manager Thejohnmillington@hydesbrewery.com 01614869226 More

Travelers who viewed The John Millington also viewed

Cheadle, Greater Manchester
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The John Millington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The John Millington

Address: 67 Station Road, Cheadle SK8 7AA, England
Phone Number: 0161 486 9226
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Cheadle
Average Prices: USD 6 - 28
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing