We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ben's on the Beach

Certificate of Excellence
$$
International, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beach Road, Strand, South Africa
+27 21 853 7977
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on the beachfront in the Strand, Ben's on the Beach boasts...
Situated on the beachfront in the Strand, Ben's on the Beach boasts spectacular views across False Bay, towards Cape Town. Veteran award-winning restaurateur Ben, and his wife, Shirley (a former hotel school lecturer), established Ben's in 2004. They have created a stylish yet relaxed venue, where a varied and well-priced selection of dishes is offered. Ben's is one of the few remaining establishments that continues to dry-age meat - the time-honored and superior method. At Ben's you will not find over-priced and under-portioned "haute cuisine". We believe that the new expression "less is more" is gobbeldygook, where food is concerned. We concentrate on the simple yet timeless dishes that diners return to again and again, such as a great steak, fresh linefish, and the ever-popular creme brulee. At Ben's, you will discover generous portions at honest prices. We look forward to your visit ... And then return!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 379 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 264
    Excellent
  • 90
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
AFTER A BAD EXPERIENCE 5 YEARS AGO... WHAT A GREAT PLACE IS BENS

Six of us visited evening of daughter's arrival from UK. I was hesitant to book there as had had a bad experience 5 years ago... however, I was outvoted and totally changed my mind about the place. a Monday evening and the place was full. Really good food... of course, mainly fish and calamari and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed September 3, 2015
Geoff C
,
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Good for:
  • Scenic view
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015 NEW

Six of us visited evening of daughter's arrival from UK. I was hesitant to book there as had had a bad experience 5 years ago... however, I was outvoted and totally changed my mind about the place. a Monday evening and the place was full. Really good food... of course, mainly fish and calamari and really all of us, enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Robertson Wine Valley, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015 NEW

Excellent food and great value. Great setting with seaview and good staff. Ideal for groups and reservations recommended. Wide variety menu with something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

On a recent visit we dined at Benson Avon recommendation. The food was excellent,along with the service and fair prices with a great variety on offer.I ate the fillet au poivre which was was out of this world.My wife had a burger which she couldn't stop talking about for our whole holiday in Sa.Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.Next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gordon's Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

Had a meal at Bens on the advice of a friend at the golf club. The restaurant is obviously very popular it was fully booked A cosy atmosphere with good service. The food was of good quality and the portions where more than adequate The price was very reasonable. The only complaint that we had was the cold plates and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

We ordered hamburgers. They are supposed to be made from fresh meat. The meat they used was ripe or overripe. The smell alone... Disgusting...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ben007007, Owner at Ben's on the Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for the opportunity to respond. Due to the fact that we have no record of the author’s alleged visit, we cannot comment upon his experience in particular. However, we would like to make use of this opportunity to document the facts as we see them. a) We make our own mince on a daily basis, in our mini... More 

Strand, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Entertaining clients and they were as impressed as I was with the quality of the food.Steaks are really,really good!Top quality and great affordability.I personally enjoyed my mushroom soup starter.Very good cheesecake as well.Efficient service and pleasant atmosphere really made for an enjoyable lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Spent a great lunch at Ben's as always with the three of us having steaks and the burger. Fillet with old mans sauce, Filet au Poivre was excellent and supplied as ordered - perfect!! The Uncle Bens burger special at R108 that included the burger, a beverage and dessert was great value and reported as being delicious. Creme Brûlée and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thornton, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

We had our anniversary dinner there. What a good idea. Great dining. We had a window seat, even better with the view off the beach.Lovely homely food. I had the oxtail, yummy. Good size portions. And the Dutch Bitterballen. Sooo good Friendly staff. Clean place. You need to book as the evenings are very busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Pleasant atmosphere. Bobotie Samosas were great. Not fine dining but good food, great portions and great prices. Great family restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

Took a drive out to the strand. Looked up on the net where to eat and this was highly recommended. The challenge often with good recommendations is always the danger of something falling short. The meal was delicious, the service was a delight and I was on my own and didn't feel crowed dead out or rushed. Not much more... More 

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Ben's on the Beach also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ben's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Beach Road, Strand, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Strand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 853 7977

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 15
  • Cuisine: International, Grill

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Scenic view

Description

Situated on the beachfront in the Strand, Ben's on the Beach boasts spectacular views across False Bay, towards Cape Town. Veteran award-winning restaurateur Ben, and his wife, Shirley (a former hotel school lecturer), established Ben's in 2004. They have created a stylish yet relaxed venue, where a varied and well-priced selection of dishes is offered. Ben's is one of the few remaining establishments that continues to dry-age meat - the time-honored and superior method. At Ben's you will not find over-priced and under-portioned "haute cuisine". We believe that the new expression "less is more" is gobbeldygook, where food is concerned. We concentrate on the simple yet timeless dishes that diners return to again and again, such as a great steak, fresh linefish, and the ever-popular creme brulee. At Ben's, you will discover generous portions at honest prices. We look forward to your visit ... And then return!
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ben's on the Beach staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?