We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Muddiford Restaurants

Muddiford Inn

Muddiford, Barnstaple EX31 4EY, England
01271 850243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Muddiford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    41
    10
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 NEW

My family and I recently visited the Muddiford Inn for Sunday lunch where a warm welcome greeted us. My son and I enjoyed a lovely pork roast, the adult portion was worthy of someone with a healthy appetite, even the child's portion was more than substantial. The only downside was my wife and daughter are both vegetarian and would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ilfracombe 1 Thank you for your kind review of your visit and meals at The Muddiford Inn. We are apologetic that our vegetarian option, as shown below, was not to your daughters liking ' Pumpkin, Aubergine and Spinach Tagine Spiced with Ras-el-Hanout accompanied by a Lemon and Coriander Cous-Cous, Toasted Almonds and a Harissa Spiced Passata (V) ' We... More

Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

I can't recommend the Muddiford Inn for Sunday lunch. My experience was one of roast potatoes which had been cooked earlier ,possibly the day before and then warmed up,soggy Yorkshire pudding and greasy gravy. Some like geek over cooked but I'm not one of them. It was the potatoes which really ruined the meal having been menued as roasted in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hartland We are sorry that your experience of our Sunday Roast lunch was not to your liking and wish you had informed us whilst you were dining. Please be assured ALL our food was prepared and cooked fresh on the Sunday morning that you ate. For your re-assurance, we have yesterday received an email from another party of 15... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

After a family meal at The Muddiford Inn a few weeks ago, where I took on (and lost) to a simply amazing mixed grill, I suffered huge food envy at my grandad's Steak and Stout pie with horseradish mash. This visit, my girlfriend and I stopped in for lunch, experienced the usual warm welcome from Yogi the Newfoundland and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dean We thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write your review of The Muddiford Inn on Trip Advisor, which we really appreciate. It is very pleasing for the Chef and his Team to receive a complimentary feedback on your meals and experience whilst visiting us. We are glad your food envy was satisfied, following... More

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We were staying at a nearby hotel but popped here for a meal on one of those nights. It is a lovely old traditional pub, with real fires and a warm welcome. The menu was nice and varied, I had a mushroom "burger" which I can recommend. The burger is not made with the usual bread, but portabello mushrooms, with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karen We are very appreciative and thank you warmly for your excellent review of your food and experience at The Muddiford Inn. We are so pleased everything was to your liking. Our Chef always uses his imagination and flair when compiling his food and menus and we have passed your compliments onto him, for which he says ‘Thank you,... More

Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We were left feeling very disappointed after our Sunday lunch at the Muddiford Inn. Although the food was very nice and the staff were very friendly we wouldn't return. Although it was fairly busy there was no atmosphere and the place lacked background music. The décor didn't work for us and I agree with a previous review about the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christopher We are sorry that you felt disappointed with the decor and atmosphere of The Muddiford Inn, although we are pleased you enjoyed your meals and service. The atmosphere, we feel, is created by the company of the customers. Regarding the decor, it is a very old building, parts being early 16c and we have had compliments at the... More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

My wife and I decided to try the food at The Muddiford Inn and wasn't disappointed at all. We were surprised that the place wasn't packed out on a Saturday night, There were two other couples having dinner in the resturant. On looking at the menu we were amazed with the choice and all homemade, We decided to share a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Steve We are delighted to read such an excellent review of your visit and meals at The Muddiford Inn, for which we truly appreciate and thank you. It is so gratifying to hear that our customers enjoy their food and we are pleased we were able to serve you and your wife with exactly the meals you wanted. We... More

Maidstone
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We were really looking forward to eating at this pub but felt let down when we went in, the place looked a bit grubby and on the outside there was lots of rubbish laying around, dying hanging baskets and in need of a good sweep up. Only stayed for a drink, the reviews for the food are so good, perhaps... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Holly B3 Thank you for your review regarding your visit to the Muddiford Inn. We have not changed hands and can only apologise if you found the place not to your liking. We thoroughly clean the interior every day but we do get quite a few walkers, farming folk and customers with dogs visit who sometimes have mud and... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We found this pub by accident and we were only sorry we did not find it earlier in our stay. Excellent customer service and we loved meeting Yogi. Very dog friendly which is fantastic. The fish and chips were amazing. Two huge bits of fish in a light and crunchy, almost tempura, batter. Hubby had the chocolate brownie which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dee We sincerely thank you for your excellent complimentary review of your visit and meals at The Muddiford Inn. We really appreciate the fact that our customers enjoy their meals and also take the time and trouble to post their comments on Trip Advisor. It is very pleasing to the Chef and his Team to hear that his food... More

UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Good: The meal was huge Bad: The waitress was grumpy and rude (not to us, thankfully). The food was simply awful. Two of us had a Sunday roast that came with a giant Yorkshire Pudding which was chewy and tasteless. The meat was tough and fatty, the veg either under or overcooked, the roast potatoes were slightly rubbery. The other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Antimaps Thank you for your review. We are really upset to read your comments of your meals and the waitress and sincerely apologise for your experience. The produce we purchase is of the highest quality and we had not had any complaints the day you had your meals on the meat or vegetables, nor the Tagliatelle. When we ask... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We had a lovely meal at the Muddiford Inn, having just got a new puppy were worried about where we could eat. Luckily we stumbled across the Muddiford Inn who could not have been more welcoming and friendly in accommodating us. The food was delicious and good value for money. We will definitely be back and will recommend to others.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pearl J P, Owner/Partner at Muddiford Inn, responded to this review

Dear Phil It was a pleasure to meet you and your family which includes Honey, your lovely puppy. We are a family run business and have always been child and dog friendly. We, too, have experienced the difficulty in finding suitable venues so we ensure all dogs are welcome at The Muddiford Inn. We thank you for your complimentary review... More

Travelers who viewed Muddiford Inn also viewed

 

Been to Muddiford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muddiford Inn

Address: Muddiford, Barnstaple EX31 4EY, England
Phone Number: 01271 850243
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Barnstaple  >  Muddiford
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Things to do Nearby

Enlarge Map