We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George at Backwell

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
125 Farleigh Road, Backwell BS48 3PG, England
+44 1275 462770
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Delicious food, freshly prepared and very good value. Excellent selection...
Delicious food, freshly prepared and very good value. Excellent selection of cask ales and wines. Private dining and functions catered for. Now also enjoy Bed & Breakfast thanks to 7 lovely en-suite bedrooms. Full details and online booking available on The George's website.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 255 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 117
    Excellent
  • 73
    Very good
  • 39
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely lunch

Only needed starters as portions large. Easy wheelchair access and very tasty. Excellent beret and cider selection and very helpful staff. Friendly place, will come again

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 30, 2015
TonksMeow
,
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

Only needed starters as portions large. Easy wheelchair access and very tasty. Excellent beret and cider selection and very helpful staff. Friendly place, will come again

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

The George offers comfortable, well designed rooms. I stayed here before catching a flight and found the staff to be incredible helpful and thoughtful (they even left out pastries and fruit for breakfast as I was leaving so early!). The food is nice and the staff were very attentive. Will definitely be going back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

It's lovely to know you enjoyed your stay and meal with us. Thank you for using Trip Advisor. More 

South West UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Lovely looking restaurant, with good service. The Starter "Picnic Basket" was excellent but we felt let down by the main courses, the two steak's we ordered were below average in standard and not cooked exactly as requested, a shame as the rest was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know what you enjoyed about your visit - but I am sorry we didn't get everything quite right for you. Thank you for letting us know. We will follow this up with our kitchen team. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Booked in advance for a business lunch, good location, great food and great value for money. Wide menu with your favourites like fish and chips to lamb shanks. The staff were very well trained and service was spot on! Good for business lunch or just passing through, would go back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for using Trip Advisor to let us know your business lunch went well. More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

We came to The George at Backwell for the first time on Monday since the refurbishment a few years ago. Wow! What a transformation. The pub was incredibly busy, even for a Monday lunchtime. We were welcomed by Jenny and sat in the very busy dining room. The food was delicious, the twist and shake dessert is to die for.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

It's lovely to know you will be back with friends. Many thanks for using Trip Advisor to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2015

I have visited this pub for food twice now and have not been disappointed. On both occasions the staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive. The food is of a high standard and very flavorsome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for coming back to see us and for letting us know you have enjoyed your meals at The George. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

We were taken here by friends, who clearly held it as a local favourite of theirs. However, almost none of the six main meals we had were enjoyable. All were either overcooked or insipid or both. The staff were pleasant and the environment comfortable but we will not be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

We aim to offer all our customers high quality, good value meals so I am so sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us - particularly as The George is one of your friends' favourite places. I hope you felt able to speak to our team during your visit so they could immediately alert our kitchen team.and consider how... More 

devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

This Pub has a number of letting rooms all called something in relation to george Clooney etc! it has lots of inside seating and a wonderful garden. The food was absolutely fabulous. The atmosphere was great. We stayed the night before our early morning flight. Rooms are comfortable with a lovely bathroom, would not hesitate to stay here again. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Very many thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your pre-flight stay. We do hope we shall see you again. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Perfect pub with great food and friendly staff - definitely recommended - we stayed locally as we were flying from Bristol airport and it couldn't have been a better start to our holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for recommending The George. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope the rest of your holiday went well. More 

Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The George has a lovely outside seating area and several different seating areas inside. The atmosphere is relaxed, staff are very friendly and helpful. Only had a snack but it was very good, and the menu looked interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your snack at The George and for saying you liked the look of our menu. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The George at Backwell also viewed

 

Been to The George at Backwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 125 Farleigh Road, Backwell BS48 3PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Backwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 462770

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

Delicious food, freshly prepared and very good value. Excellent selection of cask ales and wines. Private dining and functions catered for. Now also enjoy Bed & Breakfast thanks to 7 lovely en-suite bedrooms. Full details and online booking available on The George's website.
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George at Backwell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?