We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Globe lane, Leighton Buzzard LU7 2TA, England
+44 1525 373338
Website
Today
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and...
A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and soft drinks. Fresh Coffee and food served daily. Reservations available in the dining room
read more
Good for:
Families with children

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 290 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 73
    Excellent
  • 79
    Very good
  • 50
    Average
  • 44
    Poor
  • 44
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Excellent

After reading so many negative reviews about this restaurant I was a bit reluctant to try it, but hey ho decided what the hell, wow what a pleasant restaurant it was, we walked along the canal from the town centre, took about 30mins at a slow stroll on a lovely day. Lots of barges on the canal... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
Mick0151
,
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

After reading so many negative reviews about this restaurant I was a bit reluctant to try it, but hey ho decided what the hell, wow what a pleasant restaurant it was, we walked along the canal from the town centre, took about 30mins at a slow stroll on a lovely day. Lots of barges on the canal. The restaurant was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luton,
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

This was my first visit to this pub. LOCATION Location is great and would imagine that in the summer a cold coke outside would be really nice. FOOD Sadly, not much was left on the starters part of the menu. So choice was limited. I found this quite disappointing considering there wasn't (or did not seem to be ) a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Herne Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Our first visit for a while and, whilst the food was up to the usual good standard, the manageress really seemed to be unable to cope, and chose to shout across the restaurant to customers who had obviously waited overly long for their meal. A coaching session in customer service and dealing tactfully with problems rather than broadcasting to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you feel the Duty Manageress was not professional in her approach and can assure you this issue has been investigated and the necessary training given to ensure no repeat in the future. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We've been regulars for at least 15 years and have to admit standards have risen and dipped over the years. But today was awful! Staff were slow, causing multi minutes waiting to be served. Then again, there weren't enough staff to cope with the number of customers there were. With it being Mothers' Day weekend, the pub was packed. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Please accept my apologies if you had to wait longer than normal, we have reviewed our staffing levels to ensure no repeat of this problem in the future. More 

Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Have been several times to Globe and this was worst ever! Beef was gristly and chewy and yorkshire just like a crisp. Portions are small for the money and desserts nice but overpriced. Waitress is grumpy verging on rude and I wont give people like that a tip. Loads of complaining about beef going on and manager said it looks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Please accept my apologies if you had to wait longer than normal, we have reviewed our staffing levels to ensure no repeat of this problem in the future. More 

London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

Have been here many times before for a coffee, drink or bar meal after a walk along the canal, always a lovely atmosphere, however on this occasion not so. We had a late lunch from the main/specials menu indoors. Hardly anyone inside (apart from bar) but still very slow service, hardly anything left on 'specials' menu apart from duck, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies for your disappointing visit, your comments have been noted and will be incorporated into our forthcoming re-training programme that we have organised to ensure that these problems do not occur in the future. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Attended a family member's 50th birthday dinner. To start we were all placed on 3 separate tables rather than one long one as booked - they did provide a couple of bottles of free prosecco at the end of the meal in compensation although the majority of us were not drinking due to driving. The food was poor at best.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not have a great visit. Please be assured that much work is being sone to recruit and train a team to consistently deliver the best level of food and service. More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

had a family meal for valentines night, table all booked ok, once in the problems start, sat us on a table in the walkway :-( took ages to get our meal, lasagne burnt to a crisp,meat pie should have came with a hammer and chisel, deserts wernt much better, would have been better off going to the chip shop used... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to read that we did not deliver the high standards of service and food quality that our guests are used too. Please be assured that we value all feedback form our guests. I hope that you try us out again in the near future. More 

Leighton Buzzard
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

great location by the canal and a lovely walk to get there. Always a great venue for a country pub meal ……………..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

It's great to know that you like The Globe, thank you for your feedback. More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

If that's what you're looking for then The Globe is fair choice. It's not a Gastro-pub but doesn't pretend to be. Food choice is what you'd expect served well with reasonable choice of wine. Good place to meet up with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard W, Guest Relations Manager at Globe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to use The Globe. We're very glad that you like what we offer and hope that you continue to use us. More 

Travelers who viewed Globe Inn also viewed

Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Lavendon, Buckinghamshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Stoke Bruerne, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Globe lane, Leighton Buzzard LU7 2TA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Leighton Buzzard
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 373338

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 7 - 30
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

A beautiful historic canalside pub with log fires, real ales, wines and soft drinks. Fresh Coffee and food served daily. Reservations available in the dining room
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 8:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Globe Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?