We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Gran Gatsby

Puerto Banus | Muelle de Honor S/N Edificio Del Mar, 29660 Puerto Banus, Spain
+34 951778797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 restaurants in Puerto Banus
Reserve with
El Gran Gatsby is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
19 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    36
    41
    24
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great location but the service and food lets this place down. They should also seriously consider the really odd offer of a head and neck massage "for free" at your table....really? It's completely inappropriate and not something I'd even consider...feels like a cheap, desperate way for a person to rake in the tips!!! The staff need to learn about the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear guest: First of all, we would like to thank you for your review of El Gran Gatsby. All views of our customers help us improve our service and quality of our cuisine. Sorry that you have not been satisfied with the service provided by our staff of waiters. It's really inexcusable that a waiter does not know how to... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Quite disappointed really. The cocktails are €13 a go and they are small and the waiting staff didn't even give us a clean table!! The service was ok and the cocktail was good - just small. Location is fab but it was overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear guest: Thank you very much for your opinio about El Gran Gastsby. We are glad that your drinking on the terrace outside your liking. Sorry that the table is unable, something that is not usual. As for prices, you should be aware that El Gran Gatsby is set in one of the best places in the world: at the... More

Wortegem-Petegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I've been there twice (for my birthday) in the last 3 weeks, the food is excellent - just like the services, great wine card and excellent location (what a view) in trendy and poshy Puerto Banus. Forget the bad quotes, friends of mine were there in May and it was good. Great tuna tartar, many variations and for everyone's taste.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear customer: Thank you very much for your opinion on El Gran Gastsby. We are glad that everything has been to your liking, both the food, service and location. For opinions like yours is why we work every day to improve our service and gastronomic level. Thank you. Regards. More

London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I went to this restaurant on my last trip to Puerto Banus with a few friends and will certainly never come back again. What a scam. Food was horrible and the service was unacceptable. When I ordered my lamb I made sure that it didn't have any mushrooms as I am allergic. I was assured that there would be no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear customer: First of all, thank you very much for his opinion on The Great Gatsby. We deeply regret that your experience in our restaurant has been as negative as told in your opinion. No doubt we had an error in your order the lamb dish, but, as you said, we react on time and will replace your dish with... More

new york
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I fell for the view from the pictures on the website and made a reservation. Big Mistake! This is a total tourist trap, the food is terrible and expensive. When we arrived I was excited because the staff was very nice and we were seated at a beautiful table outside with a gorgeous view. As soon as our appetizers came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear customer: Thank you very much for your review of El Gran Gatsby. We love that you liked the location, the terrace and the view, but we were saddened by his opinion about the food. A restaurant of our category cares its gastronomic offer much more than the location and views, so we are very disappointed that the dishes you... More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Definitely a gastronomic experience to be missed! Having visited this restaurant on more than one occasion on previous visits to the 'Port' my husband and I were looking forward to returning, however to say we were unimpressed is an understatement! The waiter arrived to take our order, he didn't engage with us once and proceeded to gaze around the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear customer: First of all, thank you very much for your opinion. I think this review is complementary to her husband entitled "appalling". I beg you to read the answer we have given him. We convey our apologies again, as we did to the opinion of her husband, and we assure you that your dinner had to be due to... More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In the 30 years my wife and I have been coming to this part of Spain, neither of us can remember such a bad dining experience. The service was obviously too difficult as half of our food order was not registered with the kitchen. The burger my wife ordered was close to inedible and my lobster was barely cooked. Other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear Customer First of all, we would like to thank you for having given his opinion and critique about El Gran Gatsby. We are very sorry your dinner out greatly unsatisfactory both for the quality of the kitchen and the efficiency of the service. Actually, it is a very unpleasant surprise for us a review like yours , but we... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Beautiful restaurant with an even better view. Really would recommend, the food was fantastic and the service was brilliant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear guest: Thak you very much for your oponion about El Gran Gatsby. Words like yours are the engine to work harder everyday. Thank you. Kind regards. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I haven't been to Marbella for quite some time, so I was really excited to go back to Gatsby, but more or less as soon as we arrived I was disappointed. We walked in to the restaurant and found there was no one to greet us at the front desk. The bartenders were polishing glasses and completely ignored us. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear guest: First of all, we would like to thank you for your criticism about your dinner in our restaurant. Sorry that everything was extremely unfortunate. Really, we do not understand what could happen and why you had a reception and a location of your table that was not up to the prestige and status of El Gran Gatsby. However,... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spotted El Gran Gatsby on a visit to the port early in our holiday and returned later in the week on the insistence of my daughter. Really pleased we went back, the food and wine did not disappoint, including vegetarian dishes for my son, service was excellent and the views were spectacular. Will be returning next year no doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Francisco G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Gran Gatsby, responded to this review

Dear friend: Thank you very much for your kind words. In El Gran Gatsby we work every day to get feedback like yours ... and guests than repeat in the same week!! We will be happy to welcome you back when you want. We recommend taking a drink on our terrace... enjoy a unforgettable sunset. Thank you. Regards. More

Travelers who viewed El Gran Gatsby also viewed

Puerto Banus, Costa del Sol
Puerto Banus, Costa del Sol
 
Puerto Banus, Costa del Sol
Puerto Banus, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Gran Gatsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gran Gatsby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing