We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pheasant

410 Upper Ballynahinch Rd, Hillsborough BT26 6NR, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9263 8056
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 restaurants in Hillsborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $43 - $97
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our menus are designed to offer the best and freshest of local produce, including game from the neighbouring Larchfield Estate and ingredients and dishes from around the globe. As a sister restaurant to the Award Winning Plough Inn, Hillsborough, naturally seafood is our house speciality all year round. Our aim is to offer something to satisfy everyone's tastes. Our friendly and attentive staff are here to ensure that you relax and simply enjoy a taste of "good olde Irish hospitality".
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I went to the Pheasant for friend's birthday dinner. I am a pescetarian so eat fish but no other meat. There were several tasty-looking seafood dishes but I was disappointed to see that there were absolutely no vegetarian dishes - so don't bring any veggie friends! I ordered one dish and then at the last minute changed my mind as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PheasantRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Hi Anna, Thank you for such a positive review. We really appreciate it! In terms of our selection of vegetarian dishes, we actually have full separate Vegetarian & Gluten Free menus available. Many customers praise us for our wide selection of dishes! We hope to see you again soon, and now that you know we have a separate menu to... More

Newry, Co.Down
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After a really special day at Down Royal Races, we decided to find a nice place to eat locally, have a few drinks and settle down for the evening in our motorhome. We located this lovely rural pub/restaurant (with the help of Tripadvisor) with a large busy carpark, which clearly stated that members of the public parked there at their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PheasantRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We do apologise for any inconvenience caused to you & your husband. However, we were only looking out for your own safety and abiding by company policies. As you mentioned, none of our staff were aware that you had planned to stay over in our car park. If they had, the situation would've been rectified immediately. As I'm... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Never been here before but had heard good things so gave it a go and not ddisappointed. Had a fabulous first course of medallions of hog, Mediterranean vegetables, olive oil mash and a lovely peppery sauce. Chose pear and cardamon crumble for dessert and this is where my only criticism comes in, have never had pastry round a crumble before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

In some respects it is quite difficult to categorise this restaurant. Having looked at the range of items on the menu I think the best conclusion to arrive at is that it is a fascinating example of a "fusion" experience. The good basics of a traditional Northern Ireland pub-restaurant are all present, i.e.. steak in its varied forms, but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My family have been going to the Pheasant for many years but after living abroad I hadn't been for a few years. Went back for lunch recently and was very pleasantly surprised. Decor is still slightly strange and a but dated but cosy and country. Food was delicious, good variety on the menu. They have upped the standard since I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dromore, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed one of the sharing platters with my husband. Really tasty and good value grub with friendly customer service. Would definitely go back again and recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I've been here many times but haven't thought to review until now, but every time has been perfect. The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed, and the service is always warm and friendly. Last time my wife and I shared the steak platter deal...2 steaks, 2 sides, and 2 sauces for 20pounds...definitely a good choice. I'll be back in another few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisburn, United Kingdom
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

enjoyed lunch at the pheasant last week... the main course was great though i have to say the starter and the dessert were both quite small portions though they were nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked just 2 hrs before arrival so were lucky to get a table in this busy restaurant. Husband gad prawns/ smoked salmon to start and declared it excellent. I gad roast beef for main and he has lamb chops. Both cooked beautifully. We were so full had to leave some. I managed some gorgeous sticky toffee pudding though! Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have eaten here several times and generally like the place, I have normally eaten in the pub and beer garden as have young kids and try to avoid the retaurant. We were seated and welcomed well by a lady but the service was pathetic from there on. The staff are too busy chatting to locals and rush past your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PheasantRestaurant, Public Relations Manager at The Pheasant, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for your review and your very valuable feedback. Your feedback, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met...upon arrival! We are glad you enjoyed your meal at The Pheasant, however we sincerely apologise for the level of service you experienced.... More

Travelers who viewed The Pheasant also viewed

Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
Hillsborough, County Down
Moira, County Armagh
Hillsborough, County Down
Lisburn, County Antrim
Lisburn, County Antrim
Hillsborough, County Down
Belfast, Northern Ireland

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing