We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smugglers Run Seafood Shack & Rum Bar

95 Ivy Lea road, Lansdowne, Ontario K0E 1L0, Canada
+1 613-659-4334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 restaurants in Lansdowne
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Grill
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: Seafood shack with fresh boils of shellfish, as well as fish, steaks,and pasta. Large expansive patio with breathtaking views of the 1000 Islands
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: Seafood shack with fresh boils of shellfish, as well as fish, steaks,and pasta. Large expansive patio with breathtaking views of the 1000 Islands
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    9
    8
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdowne, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Being we live very close to the area we decided to go there for supper, being that we had not been there this year. Not at all like other years. We will usually go here three or four times over the summer, this will be our last visit. Very disappointed in the menu and the pricing for what you receive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mallorytown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My husband and I went to Smugglers on monday for wings. sat at the bar. bartender super busy but still able to be accommodating with service, a smile and a few laughs. Food was delicious . great fried clams.....should have ordered more!! and the wings fabulous!! salt and pepper dry rub with hot sauce on the side. great value. we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We found the prices to be a bit high for the amount of food served. I had the low country boil which was supposed to have sausage as one of the items, but mine had none. The shrimp were fine, but overall I was not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I were staying in Gananoque (at The Inn) and took our bikes down the 1000 Parkway to Ivy Lea. This is one of the most awesome bike paths in the country: separated bike lane, beautiful views...a perfect 15k down the road to Smugglers Run for a beer and snack. The service was very friendly; since we weren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I really do love Smugglers. It's always been one of my favourite restaurants, and family/friends and I end up there at least 4+ times a season, traveling from Kingston, and spending at least a few hundred dollars on drinks, appetizers, and main courses. There have been a few times where the service has not met my expectations. Sometimes the wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were looking to enjoy an nice early dinner before going back over to the cottage, and we did enjoy our dinner at Smugglers. The view and charm of Ivy Lea is just gorgeous and unbeatable in the 1000 Islands. Our food was good and the service was ok but I was underwhelmed by the building, grounds and patio condition... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We ate appetizers here before the 1 hour boat tour. The waitresses were friendly and knowledgeable. The bacon wrapped dates with goat cheese that were suggested were perfect with the flatbread and Asian dumplings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident while out for a drive. There is an absolutely gorgeous view of the river, islands and bridge both from inside and outside on the deck. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch inside (the day we went the humidity made it feel like 40C+). I had a chicken, raspberry, pecan salad which is one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful location,with an outside deck overlooking the river, islands, and the bridge to the U.S.. unfortunately, The waitstaff was too busy chatting with friends to bother with us, they tried to sell us a glass of water disguised as a 9 dollar cocktail, and they served us soggy old fries and greasy ribs that had seen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetOttawa, Owner at Smugglers Run Seafood Shack & Rum Bar, responded to this review

Dear lynnandkevin Thanks for taking the time to write your review. First I wanted to investigate some of your accusations thus the reason for my delay in this response. Let me apologize for the mix up with your martini. We do not sell water at $9 and I understand once we knew a mistake happened at the bar it was... More

Kingston, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Smugglers Run! The food was simple and good, the prices very moderate, but the view was worth three times the price. As well, the waitstaff were extremely polite and good natured, and the atmosphere very welcome. Many patrons arrived by boat, which was fun to watch. One extremely amusing thing happened... some tourists from another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SweetOttawa, Owner at Smugglers Run Seafood Shack & Rum Bar, responded to this review

Dear Jerri3000 Thanks for your review. I am glad you had some entertainment while enjoying your meal. It can be quite interesting at times running a place with so many diverse people using the facility. I am glad you found the food decent - although I hope perhaps next time, to wow you by the food and the view! Hope... More

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Run Seafood Shack & Rum Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers Run Seafood Shack & Rum Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Run Seafood Shack & Rum Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing