We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golf Hotel

Criffel Street | Silloth-on-Solway, Silloth CA7 4AB, England
016973 31438
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 restaurants in Silloth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you to complement our convivial atmosphere. The perfect setting to meet family, friends or colleagues from early morning through until late evening. We offer Breakfast, our famous morning coffee complete with our homemade cakes, scones & shortbread biscuits, lunch, afternoon teas, evening meals all served in our comfortable well appointed lounge. With lovely views over the town green and Solway Coast to the Criffel across the bay. You can choose from a range of cold draught beers, to include our local Derwent Brewery (Parsons Pledge), an international personally selected wine list, a wide selection of single malts.You can indulge you palate on the very finest, fresh local produce that Cumbria has to offer. Our Chef and kitchen team prepare our food using flair and imagination to leave you with a memorable experience.Bon Appetite
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you to complement our convivial atmosphere. The perfect setting to meet family, friends or colleagues from early morning through until late evening. We offer Breakfast, our famous morning coffee complete with our homemade cakes, scones & shortbread biscuits, lunch, afternoon teas, evening meals all served in our comfortable well appointed lounge. With lovely views over the town green and Solway Coast to the Criffel across the bay. You can choose from a range of cold draught beers, to include our local Derwent Brewery (Parsons Pledge), an international personally selected wine list, a wide selection of single malts.You can indulge you palate on the very finest, fresh local produce that Cumbria has to offer. Our Chef and kitchen team prepare our food using flair and imagination to leave you with a memorable experience.Bon Appetite
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    20
    19
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

Huge portions, you don't need a starter. A bit old fashioned, décor wise but the food is good. Not much else in Silloth

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Firstly, do not be put off by the slightly 'tatty' exterior. Inside it is mostly well decorated and maintained. Our first floor room overlooked the park, was nicely furnished and had all modern facilities. Excellent dinner in restaurant with good choice. Super breakfast with great choice and more than ample portions. Staff very pleasant indeed. Overall a very comfortable, welcoming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We called in last Friday night because we had a hiccup with the grocery delivery which meant that our meal wasn't ready in time. I had chicken breast in a leek and mushroom sauce with seasonal veg and champ. My husband had steak from the grill. It was very nice and restorative.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We visited here for an evening meal at the end of March. It was quite empty but it was near mothers day so perhaps people were waiting until then to eat. The service was good and the children's meals were good however the adults meals were just ok. Husband had piri-piri chicken but unfortunately it had no heat (spice) at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review from your visit two months ago. I was glad to hear your children's meals were good and our service was good. Sorry that your adults meals were not to your liking, and we missed your accompaniments with your mussels. Unfortunately we have no control over the size of the mussels we... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife had dinner in the Golf and it was excellent. The staff are very helpful, attentive and friendly. " I shall return."

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. I have shared your very kind comments with my team and we all look forward to your return visit. Kind Regards Gary P Conlan General Manager More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Over the last 3 years we have visited the Golf Hotel, numbering probably 6 times, on every occasion we have the Carvery and on EVERY occasion 1, the food has been fresh & tender 2, excellent taste 3, rest of carvery compliments the meats 4, quality service from the staff 5, great real ale from Derwent Brewery 6, Price is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your recent review. Its lovely to hear you have been a great loyal customer and that you found us to have been consistent on each of your return visits. I have shared your very kind comments with my team and we all look forward to your return in November. Kind regards. Gary P Conlan. General Manager. More

Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Not much choice in town so should be packed but only 4 people eating. Warmest waitress really happy and friendly. Limited choice on menu of usual stuff and inflexible kitchen despite the empty tables. Very slow for food to arrive and floor staff seemed more interested in setting up a function room than tending table. Great wine list. Food bland,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. Glad to hear you found my team warm and friendly. As you have certain food allergies not all our menu items suit you. Your order was taken at 7pm and served at 7.30pm for two freshly cooked main courses. Glad you liked our wine list. Kind regards. Gary P Conlan. General Manager. More

Silloth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Attended a Valentine Dinner & Dance plus Disco and I can honestly say for the price it was absolutely fantastic, the Meal was a three course + a bottle of wine for £29.95 per couple Unbelievable, we'll done to all concerned in organising this event ( Let have some more organised)

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. Its great to hear you thought your Valentines meal was absolutely fantastic. I have shared your very kind comments with my team. Kind regards. Gary P Conlan. General Manager. More

Mauchline, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

if your are on holiday in Silloth please don,t waste your money on this place. We went for dinner for my wife's birthday, the food was very bland and overpriced lots of fish & seafood on menu (which is fine if you like fish!) even the house wine overpriced. Went to the Balmoral on the Sunday and had the carvery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. Sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable meal with us and you felt we were overpriced for both our food and wine. Our average Main course price is £12.60 which I personally think represents excellent value. Our current menu offers 13 Main course choices of which 4 are fish representing 30%. Our... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

great hotel fantastic food and very friendly staff, only one minor grouch, no heating through the day, though a heater was supplied only didnt have enough output for size of room. but all in all a great hotel

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
GaryConlan, General Manager at Golf Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your recent review. I was delighted to hear you thought our Hotel was great and we served you some fantastic food by very friendly staff. Sorry about the heating as its on a timer, as most of our guests are out for the day and don't return until evening. On your next visit please request extra heating... More

Travelers who viewed Golf Hotel also viewed

Silloth, Cumbria
Silloth, Cumbria
 
Silloth, Cumbria
 

Been to Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing