We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zazen Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
177, Moo 1 | Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 430 345
Website
Add hours for Zazen Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 842 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 537
    Excellent
  • 179
    Very good
  • 71
    Average
  • 33
    Poor
  • 22
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Zazen, worth a visit!

Zazen.. incredible food, great location. Only negative is it was somewhat lacking in atmosphere.. there were only 2 other tables occupied the whole duration of our meal. Not sure why?

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 27, 2015
Laura K
,
London, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Local cuisine
  • Romantic
Add Photo Write a Review

842 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

Zazen.. incredible food, great location. Only negative is it was somewhat lacking in atmosphere.. there were only 2 other tables occupied the whole duration of our meal. Not sure why?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 NEW

Just had the most divine European-style breakfast at Zazen. This is somewhat of a rarity on Koh Samui; succulent cured meats including smoked salmon, smoked duck, smoked chicken and coppa, swiss cheese, sundried or olive oil grilled veges, plus a wild array of salads, fresh fruits, toasted seeds and nuts, free pour espresso coffee, cold pressed juices, champagne and fresh-baked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Spicy and very delicious food. If like chocolate - try from the desserts menu Black and white chocolate mousse - my favourite one :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zazen_Team, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Diana, Greetings from Zazen ! Thank you for sharing the wonderful experience you had with us. From the Thai food, to our desserts, we are thrilled to learn you discovered authentic Zazen dishes in the best way. Looking forward to welcoming you again ! Zazen Team restaurant. More 

St. Moritz, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

a great place with wonderful ambiance, excellent cuisine and beverages, good service. Congratulations for the ever lasting good Quality. We visited the Restaurant different times in the past 10 years and hope to be back in the future too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zazen_Team, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ursina, Greetings from Zazen ! It is a delight hearing you always have a wonderful moment at Zazen restaurant, thank to the food, the service and the atmosphere. We would like to thank you for your loyalty; it is always a pleasure seeing you again in or restaurant. Best regards, Zazen Team Restaurant. More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

We had the Vietnamese spring roles to start which we're great. We then had the red curry with prawns and pineapple and tenderloin with Chinese mushroom. The curry was amazing and the flavours of the beef great but the beef was a little chewy. We then had the chocolate tube filled with mascarpone ice cream! Amazing - I wish we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zazen_Team, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Please accept our gratitude for writing such a kind, and detailed review. Knowing that you discovered Thai food in the best way you could have, is a delight for us. We will be more than happy welcoming you again, and make you discover more and more dishes… Sunny regards, Zazen Restaurant Team. More 

susiemoto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Awesome food and a nice break from Thai food (although they have Thai options as well!). Service was outstanding and really like the sommelier! If you're looking for a more upscale restaurant with fantastic sea views, this is the place to be!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zazen_Team, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for this kind review, it was a pleasure to have you with us. It is a delight to know that you enjoyed the sea view that the Zazen provided and the advices of our sommelier! We hope to see you again in the Zazen, Sunny regards, The Zazen restaurant team More 

Melbourne
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The high standard that was expected is no longer. The quality of the food and presentation is very average, in fact my own cooking is much better. The high prices still remain. Very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zazen_Team, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing our restaurant and sharing with us your feedbacks even if there are not good for us. Indeed, every feedbacks are important to us in order to improve our service for the future guest. However, we are truly disappointed that you didn’t have the authentic Zazen experience. We hope that you will give us... More 

Zürich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Nice setting. Excellent Food. Waiters were over friendly and asked to often how happy we were with food, setting, etc. etc. If you want to get out of your Hotel and have a good Continental Dinner with a French touch, its the place. Family as well as Romance. A very extensive wine list and I can recomend the Pork Filet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zazen_Team, General Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ivan, thank you for choosing our restaurant and sharing with us our experience. We are delighted that you paid attention to our wine list and enjoyed the setting and our food. It will be a pleasure to see you again at the Zazen restaurant, Sunny regards, Zazen restaurant team. More 

Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Me and my wife stayed in Hansar Hotel and decided to visit Zazen restaurant for our last dinner on Samui. The choice was based on a number of good reviews at Trip Advisor and short distance from the hotel. Well, I have to mention that Zazen is a really well designed restaurant with the great and intimate atmosphere to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zazen_Team, Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Zazen ! Thank you for choosing our restaurant in the first place. Indeed, our Chef proposes Western dishes, and a large range of Thai dishes. He tries his best to play with different savors and we feel sorry you didn’t experience it. Your feedback is a precious resource, and take it in consideration, thank you.... More 

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

hidden gem on the beach, exclusive, excellent restaurant, and tons of little attention.... a great place to go in Koh Samui, excellent wine, and a family atmosphere... Try the Thai cooking class...!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zazen_Team, General Manager at Zazen Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Serge, Please kindly accept our gratitude for writing such a kind review ! It was a pleasure welcoming you in our resort ; your presence amongst us was a real delight. We are glad to know you got back with you a beautiful souvenir of our food, staff, decoration, and activities. We truly hope to see you again in... More 

Travelers who viewed Zazen Restaurant also viewed

 
Bophut, Ko Samui
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Zazen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 177, Moo 1 | Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
  • Location: Asia  >  Thailand  >  Surat Thani Province  >  Ko Samui  >  Bophut
  • Phone Number: +66 77 430 345

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 26 - 39
  • Cuisine: Japanese, Thai

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zazen Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?