We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 106 Leigh-on Sea Restaurants

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 (0) 1702 475588
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 106 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: International
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    137
    113
    95
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I first ate here some years ago so was pleased to return. An excellent location, lovely views in the increasingly gentrified Old Leigh. Not quite as it was when Rene and Cliff ran the Crooked Billet, umpteen years ago, and from which my moniker is derived, but none the worse for that. I found a plaintive note on the table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and down to earth review. We very much appreciate your comments and I have posted a copy of your review in our staff room. All of us at The Boatyard work as a team to ensure every single customer has an enjoyable experience and your kind words are a... More 

ESSEX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

What a lovely meal we had in this restaurant. We found it whilst walking near the cockle sheds, we had not booked & had a drink at the bar before they found us a table. It was well worth the wait. I had a Prawn cocktail which was gorgeous followed by the beef. Excellent end to a nice trip to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are very pleased you found us and look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Old Leigh. Happy New Year ! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We returned to the Boatyard for an 88th birthday celebration. Very busy Sunday afternoon. Several different faces serving our table all seeming under pressure! Everyone agreed the food was very nice but still think - as per my last review that to charge an additional £3 for side dishes is a bit odd. Surely if you pay for a meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Lynne Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear of your concerns. If I could just take this opportunity to clarify a couple of points. Our Sunday lunch is priced at 14.95 for two courses or 18.95 for three, including side orders of roast potatoes and a selection of vegetables, there are a couple of other vegetable... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I have visited the Boatyard restaurant on many occasions and I cannot understand why this place gets such a bad name. Whether I have been there for a summers day on the decking, a winters grill night or a sunday lunch, the restaurant always contains a great atmosphere with great live music. The food is well priced and delicious as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write such a lovely review. I have passed your comments to our entire staff, it's such a morale boost for them. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 via mobile

this place serves the worst food in Southend omg I can't beleave they can get away with serving such awful food. If you like food just avoid this place. The staff here also needs some manners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read this negative review and would very much appreciate the opportunity to gain more insight to the problems you encountered. Unfortunately your feedback is not very specific. I wonder if you would be kind enough to contact me directly as it clear your visit to us was not an enjoyable one - we do not wish... More 

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We went for their Tuesday night grill. Complimentary starter of pate and dessert. Pate was placed in ramekins on the table and a basket of bread delivered. We waited for plates but eventually had to ask for some. We were told they don't usually provide plates with the pate! You were meant to just use the tablecloth. They did however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our popular Grill evenings (bring your own wine) will recommence on Thursday evenings in January. If I may take this opportunity to address a couple of the points you mention: Our tables are laid up in the Brasserie Style, i.e without side plates. The complimentary starter of pate and hot bread is served on a... More 

London
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I visited here back in the summer, so this review is late. But better late than never. We managed to visit here on one of the few really sunny days we had and were lucky enough to get seats out on the decking outside. It was particularly busy, so atmosphere was really buzzy and friendly and nice. A types of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Please come back and visit us again before next summer. Kind regards Cllare Carey, Restaurant Manager More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Visited the Boatyard for Xmas meal, every time I visit I always say I won't be going back, however this time shall be the last. Stuck up is an understatement. Arrogant staff and fellow customers. Food ok but general atmosphere is lifeless and dull, took about 20 mins to make our drink, let alone a further 30 to get served.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Nikki Thank you for your review, whilst I take on board your comments regarding the service and general atmosphere I am extremely concerned to learn of the actions of a selfish customer. We do not tolerate aggressive behaviour in any shape or form. I sincerely hope you decide to return to the Boatyard at some time in the future... More 

Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We had a table on Saturday night to celebrate a birthday. The restaurant was very busy with a great atmosphere with everybody enjoying themselves. The live music was very good - not too loud that it is overbearing but not too quiet either, and the variety of tunes played was great for such a young performer. Our meal was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased to know you enjoyed your evening. Our musician on Saturday was Mike Bartlett and he plays here on a regular basis. I shall be sure to pass your comments to him. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

had a very pleasant birthday lunch with family. We were very well looked after without the service being intrusive. There were special dietary requirements for 2 of the party, and these were accommodated without fuss. The food was simple, but tasty and plentiful, the fish particularly good. We will return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Our kitchen are used to catering for all dietary requirements and we are so pleased to learn your guests enjoyed themselves . We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatyard Restaurant

Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
Phone Number: +44 (0) 1702 475588
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
Average Prices: USD 40 - 49
Cuisine: International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boatyard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?