We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

$$$$
International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 1702 475588
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Boatyard Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern...
The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 767 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 191
    Excellent
  • 198
    Very good
  • 167
    Average
  • 121
    Poor
  • 90
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
A fish winning

Lovely restaurant with a good menu. I had fish which was very well good. Would've liked to sit on the decking but perhaps will get another chance.

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 29, 2015
CherryB72
,
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
  • Bar scene
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

Lovely restaurant with a good menu. I had fish which was very well good. Would've liked to sit on the decking but perhaps will get another chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

Weather improved so we walked from Southend to Old Leigh and decided to have lunch in The Boatyard. Service very attentive. Food hot and tasty but the best of all was the views from the upper level of the restaurant over the river. Only small point was the chips were described as 'chunky' which they were not, but this certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 NEW

Me and my girl friends met up for lunch . Decor was nice . Staff helpful . Food overpriced and not all that . Especially when something as easy as a bowl of chips comes up cold . An ok place sorry that's all I can say 😁

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015 NEW via mobile

We have been here on many occasions however in my opinion it has become a restaurant that is ideal for large groups but is much too busy and loud for couples or small groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have to agree we are are a popular choice for family gatherings and group get-togethers. However I see the visit you refer to was last December, right in the middle of Christmas party season. Come and visit us on a mid-week or Friday evening for a more relaxed atmosphere and you'll find mostly couples... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Having eaten here a few times, I always think "maybe this will be the time.... Maybe this will be the time the food lives up to this really impressive venue" unfortunately this is still not the case. For a restaurant in the Michelin guide, the food flies in the face of fine dining. I have attended special events, and eaten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we welcome constructive criticism and have passed your comments to our head chef. We have many regular customers who return for the variety of menus that we offer. You chose to visit on our Thursday 'Grill' night. Our staff strive to ensure it's a fun, informal affair (a complete contrast to our a la carte... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

We have always enjoyed The Boatyard for Sunday Lunch which is possibly the best in Leigh. However last night we visited with a table of 16 for a celebration meal. Thursday night is Grill Night with a small but perfectly formed menu and you can bring your own wine. 5 stars doesn't do it justice. The guy who served us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

went to the boatyard quite recently. Meal was ok, waitress and waiter service good. After lunch we sat outside with our drinks. Then we were asked to leave as they had a private function later and they wanted to prepare. We were not told of this on booking ,we were a 2pm lunch booking. It was the manner in which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Susan I can only apologise again for the manner in which you were spoken to by a member of our staff. I am extremely sorry the situation occurred. In fact the event he was referring to was a tickets only music performance that was due to commence later in the evening and we were mentioning to our remaining lunch... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I took my family for my birthday lunch, 8 adults, 1 three year old and a young baby. We had a lovely time, the food was excellent which was fortunate as my brother had a bad experience 7 years ago and has never been back. There were many family parties but I noticed there was also a large group of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Our bar manager is constantly updating our wine list with our suppliers to offer customers the best wines at the best value for money. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Essex
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Me and my partner go to the boatyard on nearly every special occasion, it's my favourite and we always recommend it to friends and family. Once again we had a lovely meal, drinks and entertainment was brilliant! Just one thing ruined the whole experience, when our bill came we left the money on the table and was going to leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased your enjoyed your meal. I am sorry about the confusion at the end, your waiter was being attentive and ensuring you received the correct change. I hope this answers your query, do please come and see us again soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

This was our first visit to the Boatyard. First and most importantly the food. Our party of five found every course delicious. The atmosphere was lively and we enjoyed the singer. Danielle, our waitress, worked tirelessly providing an excellent and personal service. We had a thoroughly enjoyable Saturday evening and are finding it hard to equate this restaurant with some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. Danielle is thrilled to hear she helped to make the evening a success. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 475588

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 92
  • Cuisine: International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene

Description

The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boatyard Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boatyard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?