We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

$$$$
International
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 1702 475588
Website
Add hours for The Boatyard Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern...
The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 706 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 179
    Excellent
  • 180
    Very good
  • 154
    Average
  • 107
    Poor
  • 86
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Boats away

It was a good start,a nice welcome,the starter was good & free,the main ok,the desert great,the wine outstanding we brought our own which was novel but a nice change.the waitress who served us was cheery & overall it was great value for money with a nice setting & outlook .there were lots of... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 2, 2015
Bill S
Good for:
  • Bar scene
  • Special occasions
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

It was a good start,a nice welcome,the starter was good & free,the main ok,the desert great,the wine outstanding we brought our own which was novel but a nice change.the waitress who served us was cheery & overall it was great value for money with a nice setting & outlook .there were lots of staff ,most standing around ,but it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW via mobile

Visited on July 1st, boiling hot day for our anniversary lunch. Greeting & seated nicely, served well by young staff who were rallying around under pressure of what seemed a new seating plan that day. Our fish & chips came out quickly & then there's the 'but'. Had no choice but to send it back, was presented with a starter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

We visited the Boatyard during the Leigh Festival when it started to rain. Even though we had not booked, the manager went out of her way to find us a table. The food was very good. It always has been when we dine at the Boatyard. I haven't given this 5/5 as we thought the house wine could have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

Had a really great meal at the boatyard the food was fantastic along with the sea views. Food is priced I think very reasonably and there is a limited choice on the menu I thought, but that's just my opinion. Overall would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canvey Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

Been to this restaurant several times, never had a complaint. Went on the 24 June for my birthday lunch. Sat by the window, lovely day, lovely food, good experience. Definitely would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday at The Boatyard, thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. Many happy returns! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

I feel compelled to leave this review after visiting this restaurant on a school leavers lunch. Whilst I understand it must be difficult to serve large groups of people and keep the food hot, that is no excuse for the presentation and poor service our table received. Mushroom Soup looked most unappetising and didn't taste good either. Salmon came over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry your school lunch party was affected by a power cut which knocked out not only us but every bar and restaurant in Leigh High Street. The majority of our customers were very understanding and our entire staff did an amazing job under the circumstances though unfortunately this did not mean that the lunch service was without... More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 NEW

We visited on a beautiful weekend evening when the sun glistening on the river gave the surroundings a magical feel. The restaurant was very busy and as a result the service was a bit slow. The food was fine, but at the restaurant's price level should have been better. Live music added a good atmosphere. Go for the location and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
southend
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 NEW

Poor poor service and a very rude manager who calls their customers liars when they dare to email to complain. How dare a company take people's hard earned money and fail to deliver. Seems lots of customers feel the same way about this restaurant and everytime a poor review is left on here they get slated by the same delightful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Goodness! We merely referred to our CCTV records before responding to this customer's email and related the events accordingly. By way of reference we served over 2000 customers in the same week and received just three complaints - and that's still three too many. Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Had a great evening celebrating my 50th Birthday. Good food, great atmosphere too! Entertainment brilliant! Loved Roachford!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you we loved them too! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

This is my second visit to the boatyard within the last year and it will be my last. The service from the waiters/waitresses are extremely poor. Waiting a good 10 minutes before drink order was taken, another 10 for drinks to arrive, then a good 5 mins before food order was taken. To cut a long story short it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which I can assure you has been passed to all of various section managers. We do take constructive criticism extremely seriously and I am very concerned you had a disappointing experience, unfortunately at this stage there is little I can do to make amends however should you wish to try us again do please contact... More 

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatyard Restaurant

Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
Phone Number: +44 1702 475588
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
Average Prices: USD 17 - 94
Cuisine: International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 475588

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 17 - 94
  • Cuisine: International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups

Description

The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boatyard Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boatyard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?