We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

$$$$
British, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 1702 475588
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for The Boatyard Restaurant and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Description: The Boatyard,
Leigh-On-Sea
The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern...
The Boatyard,
Leigh-On-Sea
The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 850 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 223
    Excellent
  • 223
    Very good
  • 184
    Average
  • 124
    Poor
  • 96
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Very nice Restaurant

If you visit Old Leigh go down the High Street & you will find this restaurant near Leigh on Sea sailing club. This is a very pleasant restaurant where you have views over the estuary, They have a very comprehensive menu which caters for all tastes, with some tasty starters, mains & delicious... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed yesterday
Mike P
,
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

850 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you visit Old Leigh go down the High Street & you will find this restaurant near Leigh on Sea sailing club. This is a very pleasant restaurant where you have views over the estuary, They have a very comprehensive menu which caters for all tastes, with some tasty starters, mains & delicious deserts, they also have some good beers... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had an enjoyable time, I have passed your comments to our entire team, thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I went there for my birthdsy with my girlfined and her sister and her boyfriend and the meal was nic

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Robert. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The atmosphere was great. Music/group were really good. Disappointed that where we were seated at our table made it difficult to see the group play and wasn't allowed to book a specific table. Service and waiters were extremely polite but found the menu confusing as it wasn't clear price wise. The menu should have been more specific as to what... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, our music events are extremely popular and tend to get sold out quite quickly, tables are allocated on a first booked basis, Later bookings may be situated in an area with a restricted view and we always make customers aware of this. Our menu clearly lists the price of each dish alongside it making it... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Boatyard is my local restaurant and I frequently hear mixed reviews. I have always found it to be a great venue for a special occasion, particularly for Sunday lunch. It is a set menu, with alternative choices and reasonably priced.although not as cheap as a pub lunch with the usual buffet. The atmosphere is modern and open,with tables on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tony-judd
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have to agree our Sunday lunches are very popular and offer great value for money. We always have a live a musician which makes for a great atmosphere, there are many car parks in old Leigh within a couple of minutes stroll if you are unable to park directly... More 

London, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Went to the boatyard last night to see a Beatles tribute band and Was pleasantly surprised how good they were. Found ourselves singing along and really enjoying the entertainment. The food was ok but portions quite small and vegetables were not included in the price of the meal which is annoying as we didn't realise and had to wait for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank flybeLondon_England
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had a good time. Our tribute nights are very popular and The Beatles especially, 'Paul' is amazing, you think he really is McCartney! Sorry you were a little confused about which dishes come accompanied with vegetables, we do try to make our menus as straightforward as possible but maybe this is something we should take... More 

Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten a couple of times here now. Great surroundings especially on the deck when the weather is good. Can be a bit crowded inside. Food consistently good and whilst not cheap, it is reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank 123iantigers
leigh on sea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After all the hype we finally got to the restaurant with friends on a Thursday night special. The pate starter was like a free for all no plates, whilst my chicken was tasty the salad was old and tired, my husbands burger was frozen! And to top it all the dessert was still frozen too. I would not recommend this... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Chocidohdah
Basildon Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Turned up today on the off chance at lunchtime a table for 4 needed a gluten free meal for one diner a bit disappointed as they had no gluten free bread...you would keep some in the freezer just in case wouldn't take a few minutes to defrost for the starter only needed I slice anyway only had 2 courses each... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank cimpro
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

May I offer my sincere apologies regarding your recent visit. It is our policy that service is not added to your bill and is at the customer's discretion, all of our waiting staff are aware of this and I have spoken to the member of staff concerned. Naturally we hope you have an enjoyable experience along with excellent service and... More 

Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here on Saturday with my partner, Auntie and uncle for lunch. The tomato and basil soup was by far the best i've ever tasted and we all enjoyed the main and dessert - highly recommend the baileys creme brulee!! Staff were really lovely and attentive and the visit was topped off with stunning views over the estuary. Will definately... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zoobydoo89
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we very much appreciate your kind words. Kind regards Sue Boatyard Reception More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yesterday was a cold miserable January day, yet the restaurant was full to bursting, which says something for the food. It was our first visit, with friends who live locally.The food was excellent, and the service was excellent as well. The menu is small, but has something for everyone.Impressed with both quality, and value for money.

Helpful?
Thank oldrocker1958
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review, praise indeed! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 475588

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 16 - 87
  • Cuisine: British, International

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups

Description

The Boatyard,
Leigh-On-Sea
The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Boatyard Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Boatyard Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?