We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 (0) 1702 475588
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 100 restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: International
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    105
    116
    95
    81
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 NEW

I must say how surprised I am at the negative reviews , some are just nasty and I wonder why. I have eaten in this restaurant 4 times in the past 3 weeks with various friends . Twice Sunday lunch and twice in the evening . The food is extremely good value for money , the service was excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW via mobile

On a day that was busy we expected to wait a little longer for food to be served on 'The Deck' and we did wait a little longer, longer than we thought we would. In fact we were just about to leave and go elsewhere when the food arrived . Being only a baguette with a small salad it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

First, I hope, of many visits to the Boatyard. Well positioned, lovely terrace with extensive views across the Thames for pre-lunch drinks. Modern comfortable restaurant with great atmosphere Knowledgable friendly staff, who delivered swift service. Extensive and very reasonably priced set menu for Sunday lunch Well presented delicious food of good sized portions Overall a great experience and highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

I came to the boatyard with my friend for lunch last week. Beautiful day, so sat outside on the deck. Was served immediately, drinks and menu brought to us promptly. We ordered a ploughmans baguette each. I have experienced many ploughmans lunch's over the years , but this was probably the most disappointing. It was basically a wafer thin ham,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boxmoor
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We popped in with a very good friend for lunch and were seated by the window, the deck area for eating was full. It was a lovely afternoon and the weather could not have been better, with glorious sunshine and blue skies. Service was quick and the food was nice, no complaints. We ordered a cappacino and two teas to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, naturally I am disappointed to learn that your meal finished on a less than positive note, our teas and coffees should be served piping hot the second they are made, I am sorry they were clearly not up to par. Nevertheless we hope to see you again soon and change... More

Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went recently for Fathers Day with my boyfriends mum, dad, brother and his partner. It was a nice meal and there was lots of choice for everyone, apart from vegetarians. However I had the nut roast, which I wouldn't normally but I didn't like anything else. It was actually really tasty, a little over cooked but tasty anyway. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We booked The Boatyard two months in advance, requesting the Captains Table for a 50th birthday celebration. We then rang and confirmed the table the week before. When we arrived we were informed that we had been given another table and a group were already enjoying their meal at the table we had booked and confirmed. The woman on reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir Whilst I appreciate your comments I feel I must defend all of our staff who do their utmost to ensure that every single customer has a positive experience and leaves The Boatyard looking forward to their next visit. When you called and made your reservation you inquired about table 43, (the Captain's table), you informed us of the... More

england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Have been here a number of times but after this experience would be unlikely to return. Poor menu, chipped plates, lipstick on glasses, overcooked meat and dreadful desserts. Service was really rushed , no gap between courses. Cheesecake looked like it came from Iceland and creme brûlée a pot of slop. Considering it's meant to be a good restaurant and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear you had a poor experience during your recent visit to us, the lipstick you mention was actually because you had picked up your wife's glass, however, that does not excuse things regarding the rest of your evening. Our team try really hard to get it right and on this occasion it appears we failed.... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I don't want to offend anybody at the boatyard but I did try and make my feelings heard at the end of our meal but there was clearly no interest in customer feedback. As most people say on their reviews of The Boatyard, the setting is the biggest attraction. The food is really average and after today I won't be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Food is very nice, overlooks the estuary, you will have a better view of the estuary if you request a table on the upper floor, nice background music, the only thing was that after a while both my partner and I noticed how uncomfortable the seats were, and we ended up with very numb bums!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal - sorry to hear you found our chairs uncomfortable, more well-padded of us are wondering if you have enviably small bottoms ! Seriously tho' we do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant... More

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing