We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 (0) 1702 475588
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 100 restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: International
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    105
    119
    99
    82
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Went for dinner last Saturday and although I have been before and had mediocre food, I ordered a chicken breast, which I thought would be simple and hard to get wrong, but how wrong I was! It arrived completely dried out and tasted almost like compressed cardboard. In fairness, they took it off the bill along with some vegetables that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 NEW

Had a lovely lunch here on Tuesday. Beautiful views sitting on the deck watching the tide coming in and the fishing boats, (collecting local cockles apparently), going out. Such friendly service from young enthusiastic local lads and a very decent set lunch, (£12.95 for 2 courses). Have to mention the dreamy Mojitos and the burgers which all 3 of us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 NEW

Had a meal with a group of friends last night and most of us chose the set menu 2 courses for £12.95 or 3 courses for £15.95. The starters arrived and were very nice. Unfortunately I chose to have a main and a dessert. Big mistake! My main of salmon fillet was just that, a smallish fillet with almonds and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Enland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My friend and I made an 'impulse' decision to come in for a meal after spending a day out together in Southend so it might be a contradiction in terms in view of my opening comment as we were definately not dressed for the occasion - but will be in future when we return. I love dressing up!! We only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, do come back and visit us again soon, dress up as much as you like - and don't worry, our chef constantly updates all of our menus with fresh seasonal produce so no change of you getting bored! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked a table for a family meal as we had enjoyed many meals here in the past. Having said that we haven't enjoyed a meal here for almost 6 months due to unfortunate ill health, so we was really looking forward to a special meal at our favourite restaurant. On arrival the lady at front of house only to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry we did not appear to be up to par during your last visit and I have made all our staff aware of your disappointment. Nevertheless, we hope to see you again soon, if you would like to visit us again please contact me personally in advance. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Southend
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This felt like a trip back to the seventies or eighties. Great venue and congratulations to kitchen but badly let down by the front of house. For example, at reception, no welcome, eye contact to the point of being rude and this was from established employees. The younger staff have clearly picked up on this culture and some were just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read this negative review and could not help but notice it is the only one you have posted. We always pride ourselves on a warm welcome at The Boatyard and we are sorry if our staff appeared pre-occupied when in fact they were merely busy. We do welcome all customer comments and have ensured your issues... More

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Sunday lunch at The Boatyard is a real treat. The service is very good, the food is very good, the location is excellent, the whole experience is relaxing and enjoyable. Treat yourself enjoy the views, chill in an nice armchair on the decking watching the boats go by, listen to the entertainer at the piano or playing a guitar whilst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband booked a table to celebrate his birthday along with his family and our children. The food was faultless however I think a number of the staff need training in customer relations. When we arrived, the remainder of our party were not there so we were told very curtly that they couldn't wait at the bar but could go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for comments and making us aware of your issues. I am sorry was a misunderstanding with our front of house team on your arrival. Due to the fact that under 18's are not permitted to sit at the bar our receptionist was enquiring as to whether you would like to be seated at the table immediately or sit... More

Jomtien Beach, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I must say how surprised I am at the negative reviews , some are just nasty and I wonder why. I have eaten in this restaurant 4 times in the past 3 weeks with various friends . Twice Sunday lunch and twice in the evening . The food is extremely good value for money , the service was excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. All of our staff work as a team to and I have passed your comments to everybody. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

On a day that was busy we expected to wait a little longer for food to be served on 'The Deck' and we did wait a little longer, longer than we thought we would. In fact we were just about to leave and go elsewhere when the food arrived . Being only a baguette with a small salad it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing