We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 102 Leigh-on Sea Restaurants

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 (0) 1702 475588
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 102 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: International
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    134
    109
    94
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 NEW via mobile

Went here on Saturday for my birthday lunch and was very disappointed! The service that we received was very poor, having to call the waitress over for everything we wanted and then waiting for 20 mins after requesting the bill. When my salad came out it was missing the advacado which it had stated on the menu and there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

I was concerned to read your review and I am extremely sorry to learn that you appear to have received less than excellent service on your recent visit to us. We do not wish one single customer to leave The Boatyard having experienced anything less than an enjoyable time. If you would like to visit us again please contact me... More

Chafford Hundred
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 NEW via mobile

We booked for Sunday lunch and that's what we got. The staff are very polite and accommodating, lovely view of the Estuary, live saxophone music, great atmosphere and the food was excellent. I saw the flyer regarding the poor reviews on Trip Advisor and having read some of them, have come to the conclusion it is a jealous rival inciting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your visit to The Boatyard and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Enjoyed the fixed price lunch menu very much but why oh why then charge a supplement for chips? My friend ordered the fish & it would have been on its own without an extra side order. The answer is to either increase the menu price so it is complete or add in some veg. The service was good and well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and thank you also for your feedback which has been passed to our Head Chef. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Great location, good building and setting but the food is, at best average. The service is fast, too fast which makes you wonder how long each plate has been waiting under the hot lamp. The prices are high which is ok if the food you are eating is of a high standard. Last year on a cold day I ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, may I take this opportunity to state that everything on our menu is prepared and cooked freshly to order and served immediately. Two Baileys and hot chocolates are 15.50 in total (hot chocolate 2.95, Baileys 4.80 which is a double measure of 50 ml). I hope this answers your queries and I sincerely hope to... More

Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The manager is not service facing...such a shame. Stuck in the 1980s. Won't go there despite location, it should be the best in Essex. I hope things improve staff are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read a negative review, it is difficult to comment further without more information about your visit, please be assured your feedback is important to us and has been passed to the entire management team. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We had lunch here on Saturday, 9th November with family and friends for my daughter's birthday. It was our first visit and sadly, will be our last which is a great shame because I absolutely loved the location. The restaurant itself is very nice, good atmosphere, spotlessly clean. We were sat directly in front of the door and the draught... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to learn that as a new customer you found aspects of your meal disappointing and I would have welcomed the opportunity to make things right for you at the time. Had we known you were unhappy with the location of your table or that one of your meals was not up... More

England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I was the Birthday girl at a party of 6 yesterday,(Saturday lunchtime) and the first odd thing was my friend had brought me a Birthday cake..... Not an unusual happening surely but was informed it could not be eaten on the premises.... Why not? We were seated and given menus and advised about the soup of the day and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Boatyard should have it made ! It's in a fabulous premises and setting, but lots of naff events really generate a kind of irritated feeling. Excellent service, but poor organisation and management. The daily menu is impossible to negotiate without some kind of supplement, and although the food is generally good, poor attention to the details ends up letting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your dessert and hope you mentioned it to your waiter at the time, he or she would have replaced it immediately. Also I do take on board your notes about supplements, we seem to have had a number of queries about this since launching our... More

Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Sunday lunch is a reasonable price as are their special deal nights; otherwise it can be expensive. They often have a pianist. Can see through glass into the kitchen - always a good thing. Quite classy in a modern sort of way. Food not the very best in the world, but I like the place

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We booked to have a family Sunday lunch and I was very specific we needed to be on the ground floor with wheel chair access and room for wheel chair at the table. I arrived ahead of my party and was told by the receptionist that they had no record of my request for a wheelchair. Initially she said that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

I am sorry there appears to have been a misunderstanding regarding your booking. Your table had been allocated to accommodate a party of nine, downstairs as requested, with space for a wheelchair. On arrival your party had increased in number at the last minute and it was for this reason our receptionist was offering to seat you at an alternative... More

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boatyard Restaurant

Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
Phone Number: +44 (0) 1702 475588
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
Average Prices: USD 40 - 49
Cuisine: International

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing