We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 (0) 1702 475588
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 102 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: International
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    127
    106
    89
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW

I hadn't been here for some years after experiencing the most appalling service and swearing never to go there again. On this occasion, to celebrate my nephew's 30th birthday the arrangements had been made by his wife so it was with some dread that I went there with my elderly mum in tow. Parking is virtually non-existent so if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

A real mixed bag of very good and very bad. I booked a table for 5 a month in advance of our friends visiting from London. When we arrived our table was two tables for 2 which was hurriedly pushed together and a chair shoved on the end. The table was wobbly and we had to ask for it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Lovely steak - I am quite fussy. Nice view, efficient staff, lovely decor. Bit difficult to park, however staff sometimes do valet parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 NEW

Having gone there to celebrate an important event and having heard good things about the restaurant my expectations were high. On arrival to be met by the ginger haired barmaid who clearly lacked basic customer service skills was very disappointing. Her service was very poor and her attitude bordered on rude; along with her insistence on chatting away with her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Going to the boatyard resturant once at the end of Aug, my self and my parter had dinner. Service excellent, food prompt and looked amazing and tasted just as good. However after main course we were lost in the crowd.. Two staff memebers on our area and they just could not cope. A huge party sat. Once our mains were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Looks pricey from the outside but it's not. £5.60 for a baguette and salad. And it's a full length baguette. £2.50 for the most amazing chunky chips ever!! And average priced drinks. U can't complain. When the tides in I expect it's a beautiful view but the restaurant is only a 2 min walk from the man made beach with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, come and try our grill night on Tuesday evenings and bring along your own wine - even better value! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good food good atmosphere good time had by all. My friends who had never been to Southend before were very impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We are looking forward to seeing your friends again on their next trip to Leigh on sea, thank you for your review. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

wful service, terrible attitudes. I find the lady on the from desk to be rude and ignorant - no doubt she's the one on here haphazardly replying to all reviews with an air of contempt. If you hate people pleasing and taking people's hard earned cash for an enjoyable experience, why the hell are you involved in doing so. Fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We normally thank people for their reviews, whether good or bad. However in your case we would appreciate it if you never grace our premises again. We have been open for fourteen years and in that time have served over one million customers. Congratulations - you were one of the rudest. The way in which you phrased the review is... More

Hockley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I been going to boatyard for many years had some good times .There Sunday dinners are good value and very nice. But friday and Saturdays are overpriced and the service is poor in my view cram to many people in.Sorry to say this but there are a lot better places to eat in the area and reasonably priced.Wont be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I would like to start by saying that I was very surprised to find a card on the table, printed by the Boatyard suggesting it is perhaps being "unfairly targeted" by "negative and virtually un-attributable postings on TripAdvisor". This lead me to view the Channel 4 television programmes that the Boatyard also mentions on said card. Up to then I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing