We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 (0) 1702 475588
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 102 Restaurants in Leigh-on Sea
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: International
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    111
    125
    104
    87
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

wful service, terrible attitudes. I find the lady on the from desk to be rude and ignorant - no doubt she's the one on here haphazardly replying to all reviews with an air of contempt. If you hate people pleasing and taking people's hard earned cash for an enjoyable experience, why the hell are you involved in doing so. Fine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We normally thank people for their reviews, whether good or bad. However in your case we would appreciate it if you never grace our premises again. We have been open for fourteen years and in that time have served over one million customers. Congratulations - you were one of the rudest. The way in which you phrased the review is... More

Hockley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

I been going to boatyard for many years had some good times .There Sunday dinners are good value and very nice. But friday and Saturdays are overpriced and the service is poor in my view cram to many people in.Sorry to say this but there are a lot better places to eat in the area and reasonably priced.Wont be back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 NEW

I would like to start by saying that I was very surprised to find a card on the table, printed by the Boatyard suggesting it is perhaps being "unfairly targeted" by "negative and virtually un-attributable postings on TripAdvisor". This lead me to view the Channel 4 television programmes that the Boatyard also mentions on said card. Up to then I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 NEW

A wonderful setting almost in the sea itself in Old Leigh chill out on the outside deck for drinks before dinner or lunch wonderful views of the Thames estuary fishing boats and panoramic views from almost every table We went for Sunday lunch with a family group we were delighted with the choice of food where other places just do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review which is very much appreciated by all of the staff, everyone works together as a team at The Boatyard and we are so pleased to know you always have a great time. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We went with friends to the Grill Night Tuesday. ( 19/8/14) Had a lovely night, food and service excellent. Great idea to take your own champagne / wine. Thank you. We have already booked 2 more dates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Tuesday night grill nights are extremely popular and great value and there's always a buzzy atmosphere, thank you for taking the time to leave your review ! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend along with his family visited The Boatyard on Tuesday 19th August 2014. We wanted a lovely (or what we thought would be) meal to celebrate my boyfriends 30th birthday. From the word go it was a shambles. When given our menu's we were told that the Monkfish Tartlet starter from the set menu was off and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Emma We responded to your email immediately and we are happy to learn that your family will be visiting us again shortly. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited The Boatyard Restaurant yesterday afternoon for a late afternoon Meal for my partners Birthday. We sat inside and ordered off of the a la carte menu. When we were seated and had ordered our drinks, we were informed that there were only 3 things available to order, we could either have Dover Sole, Chicken or Steak, as there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to hear that we fell so short of your expectations, I have emailed you separately and look forward to hearing from you shortly, Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager More

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We visited with friends who we're visiting from London as previously Sunday lunch here had been great. Our starters came quickly - only one slice of toast for a large slab of pate though. Our mains arrived and we're stone cold. Our waitress was very professional and apologetic and arranged to take all the dinners back and replaced them with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

We aim for smooth sailing at all times at The Boatyard, however, in common with many businesses involving the human factor, mistakes can and do sometimes happen, Sorry to hear about the hiccup you experienced at the beginning of your meal, full marks to the duty manager who rectified the situation so quickly. We hope to see you again soon.... More

Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Well aside from the overly loud Essex clientele next to our table, lunch and service here was good. Several of us had the burger on the set menu and the doughnuts with a trio of sauces; both of which were really very good. There at times with the boatyard an overwhelming sense of snobbery and I think there are better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Three friends and I visited The Boatyard today at around 5.30pm after spending the afternoon in Old Leigh. We enquired as to whether we would be able to have a drink as we were between lunch and dinner serving hours. Presumably, the restaurant stays open for business during this period for exactly this sort of trade - although our experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this review

Every single visitor to the Boatyard is warmly welcomed whether they are just popping in for a quick coffee, glass of wine or an a la carte meal. We are here to make all of our customers happy, without you there would be no 'us', if there are any problems we will try and rectify them immediately. We are sorry... More

Travelers who viewed The Boatyard Restaurant also viewed

Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Boatyard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boatyard Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing