We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Eversley Restaurants

Golden Pot

Reading Road, Eversley, Hook, England
+44 118 973 2104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Eversley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $33
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Mon - Fri 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Privately owned Free-house under new ownership May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines from Liberty Wines of London. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with daily specials on fish dishes and creative foods sourced from local suppliers wherever possible. Lovely 150 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs and group bookings welcome.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    40
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

The Golden Pot was our choice mainly due to the recent review comment from Gary the landlord about some obviously obnoxious customers. Say it how it is Gary! All I can say is it was a lovely evening having only booked two hours before we wanted to eat. The meal was superb, excellent choice and plenty of time between courses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Our experience here was very disappointing. Our grandson chose a pizza from the children's menu, it was thick with virtually no topping and tasted dreadful. It was like the pizzas we got in this country about 30 years ago, straight from the freezer. There was no greeting on arrival, even though I had booked a table and no interest when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am not sure what went wrong with your Grandson's Pizza, they are the top selling Childs item on the menu and recently improved again as made fresh by our Italian chef Vittorio, who has produced some fantastic Italian dishes here with great reviews. I am also sorry you didn't receive the welcome you expected,... More 

Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

My wife and I celebrated our Golden Wedding with a party of 30 at the Golden Pot. We had asked for special dinner menus. This was provided and each individual was able to select was able to select in advance. The menu choice was very good and when the meal was served it more than lived up to the description.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Manager at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review - we are delighted your special celebration was a success. I have passed on your comments to our General Manager Natalie who said it was a pleasure to serve your party - you were lovely people. Hope to see you again soon & congratulations on your Golden Wedding. Kind Regards Gary More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Our group of 10 had a special anniversary lunch at The Golden Pot yesterday. I would like to say a big thank you to Natalie as we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The meal was absolutely delicious and we will certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you Johanna, we are really pleased you enjoyed your special occasion. I will pass on your comments to Natalie who works really hard on the party tables to ensure we meet expectations, and that our customers day is a success. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. Kind Regards Gary More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Booked table of 12+1 for a family Christmas lunch. We had pre-ordered our food. Natalie welcomed us and was very professional and helpful throughout. I had the mushrooms - very tasty and a huge portion followed by the beef which was perfectly cooked and with the roasted shallot, delicious. Everyone enjoyed their food although as is often the case with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your family Christmas lunch and thank you for your kind comments which we will pass on to Natalie. Kind Regards Gary More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Four of us dined on a Thursday evening having made a booking at 8pm. We were seated on a nice table in the corner and were impressed with the selection of food and wine. Drink orders were taken quickly without a problem, all arrived promptly and our food orders then taken. This is sadly where it went downhill. We waited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We genuinely appreciate customers reviews, good and bad, as constructive criticism helps us to build this business to the level where it is today, fully booked most evenings and lunchtimes of the week. However unfortunately some people are so unreasonable it gets to the point where I really do think... More 

Uppermill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Visited the Golden Pot last night for a friends 40th after a recommendation. So glad we went, Natalie the owners daughter and clearly in charge was superb. Her knowledge of the menu gave some subtle advice on menu choice. The service was discreet but welcome, there was comfortable time between courses so we could chat and laugh. They kept the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you all for holding your special celebration at the Golden Pot. Natalie and the staff are really working very hard to maintain the pubs high standards and to try and consistently improve our customers experience at the Golden Pot, despite being challenged weekly by increasing numbers of new customers and returning regulars, which is fantastic to see. To provide... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

4 of us popped in for lunch the other day. Quite an impressive menu but we did not have a great deal of time so opted for something light. 3 of us had pork sausage subs with crispy onions......................wonderful! The 4th had a sliced steak sub with mushrooms and red pepper and he was delighted with it. All very reasonably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for giving our pub a try and thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Stopped in on Monday and had a quick bite with friends. The service was ok and the food was great. I had the philly sub which was outstanding. The pie, although we didn't order it looked good as well. I found the food very good. unfortunately we already booked our staff Christmas party or I would of recommended this little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted you enjoyed the food and your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Katrina More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here today and was not that impressed with the food. The shepherds pie which was a special was just ok the carrots which came with it had the ends on! ham egg and chips disappointing with very little flavour in the ham, the Yorkshire pudding with sausages was probably the best but the potato was very lumpy. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry you didn't feel we met the standards of your first visit. I am not sure how all of the various dishes ordered disappointed your party, I will look in to it and again thank you for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback. Kind Regards Gary More 

Travelers who viewed Golden Pot also viewed

Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 

Been to Golden Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pot

Address: Reading Road, Eversley, Hook, England
Phone Number: +44 118 973 2104
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hook  >  Eversley
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Monday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD 7 - 33
Cuisine: English

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Pot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?