We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Reading Road | Eversley, Eversley, Hook RG27 0NB, England
+44 118 973 2104
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Mon - Fri 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Quick Bites, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Privately owned Free-house under new ownership since May 2014, stocking...
Privately owned Free-house under new ownership since May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with a large selection of daily fresh fish dishes with fresh fish delivered every day from the Devon coast including Cod, John Dory, Bass, Bream, Oysters, Whitebait, Crab, Lemon Sole, Mussels, Turbot, Skate Wings, Squid etc etc .Other creative dishes with ingredients sourced from local suppliers wherever possible including Lamb, Hampshire Pork, Premier Scotch steaks, Duck, Corn Fed Chicken and Salmon. Selection of Vegetarian dishes and Gluten free dishes can be provided as all food cooked fresh to order and can be adapted to suit. Lovely 300 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs in the bar area and group bookings welcome. Outdoor seating area available. Car park at the front and at the rear, free wi-fi
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 185 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 91
    Excellent
  • 48
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Very good lunch

This was our second visit and the food was very good. Pigeon breast starter and duck main were cooked and presented well.the beer battered cod was good as was the stuffed chicken. All in all a god lunch with friendly helpful staff. Many thanks.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 10, 2015
Brianheliman M
,
Woodley, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

We went with a group of friends here and had an awful meal, with 3 out of 10 dinners being returned. Poor staff service

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Highly recommend this place. Lots of lovely fresh fish dishes and chips to die for..... Charming and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and feedback, hope to see you again soon. Regards Gary More 

Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Visited here and found everything first class, Not many places are like this place. Food and service was beyond expected and the interior was very comfortable and relaxing. Fish Board was overwhelming with many to choose from. First Class chefs cooked the food perfectly, Well done Felt so at home here, looking forward to a return. Make a date and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review, really pleased you enjoyed our pub and the food, I will pass your feedback on the the chefs and team who do work really hard to exceed customers expectations, and customer feedback like this makes all the effort worthwhile. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Gary More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Indifferent service. Did not pour the wine. Food was ordinary pub quality not a restaurant, so not good value for money. Bill prices had to be challenged as not same as menu. Disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Sorry to read your review Angus and to hear of your disappointment. The confusion in prices may have been due to our new menu launched last night as the whole system was being reprogrammed but I understand the issue was resolved. I would be interested to hear which dishes you ordered and were disappointed with, with regard to value, as... More 

Woodley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

This was our second visit and the food was very good. Pigeon breast starter and duck main were cooked and presented well.the beer battered cod was good as was the stuffed chicken. All in all a god lunch with friendly helpful staff. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your lunch and thank you for visiting us again. All the best Gary More 

Yateley, United Kingdom
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

When we first moved to Yateley 16 years ago, the Golden Pot was the first pub we ate at, and we were really impressed back then. Then things started to go down hill over subsequent visits as the owner became so rude & customer 'unfriendly', even though the food was always very good. So although the food and atmosphere was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Dear Jon Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and for your feedback on Friday lunchtime when we met again. My wife and I, and our team, have worked really hard over the past 12 months since taking over "The Golden Pot" to deliver the best fresh food we can create coupled with staff that... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

We have visited The Golden pot three times now very recently and it's safe to say that it is our new favourite place! We live in Yateley so very convenient. Our first visit was unplanned and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the extensive fresh fish board was fantastic and we had a really lovely impromptu evening. Our second visit was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Hi Sally, and thank you for a great review. I do remember you calling in again this Sunday and am delighted you enjoyed the Pub again with your son as well this time. The team work really hard to ensure the food and service meet expectations and it is very rewarding to receive comments and feedback like this from customers,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile

Amazing food, fast and friendly service. Good selection of ales. Clean and kid friendly. Chocolate cake dessert was heavonly! Nice way to spend Fathers Day abroad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us and i'm really glad you all enjoyed your meals. Hope to see you all again soon. Kind Regards Gary More 

Weston Super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Went here for dinner (business trip) and was very impressed by the menu. Service was a bit hit and miss but I suspect that was due to new staff/management rather than anything unprofessional I'd definitely go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Many thanks Paul for your review, really pleased you enjoyed your meal, please come back and see us soon. Kind Regards Gary More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This was a brilliant night, the food was fantastic, and I would like to thank the chef (Tom) and the staff, who helped my daughter allowing her to combine/change two items on the menu into one meal. The staff and I do mean all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, sometimes when you visit a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Hi Anthony We are really please you had a great night and I will pass your comments on to Tom and the team, who are always happy to try and accommodate any guest requests. We have built a great team this last year and I am delighted and very proud of their achievements, thank you for your great review, hope... More 

Travelers who viewed Golden Pot also viewed

Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 

Been to Golden Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pot

Address: Reading Road | Eversley, Eversley, Hook RG27 0NB, England
Phone Number: +44 118 973 2104
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hook  >  Eversley
Open Hours:
Sunday 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Monday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm  11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday 11:30 am - 3:00 pm  6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Average Prices: USD $8 to $37
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Reading Road | Eversley, Eversley, Hook RG27 0NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hook  >  Eversley
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2104

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $8 to $37
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Privately owned Free-house under new ownership since May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with a large selection of daily fresh fish dishes with fresh fish delivered every day from the Devon coast including Cod, John Dory, Bass, Bream, Oysters, Whitebait, Crab, Lemon Sole, Mussels, Turbot, Skate Wings, Squid etc etc .Other creative dishes with ingredients sourced from local suppliers wherever possible including Lamb, Hampshire Pork, Premier Scotch steaks, Duck, Corn Fed Chicken and Salmon. Selection of Vegetarian dishes and Gluten free dishes can be provided as all food cooked fresh to order and can be adapted to suit. Lovely 300 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs in the bar area and group bookings welcome. Outdoor seating area available. Car park at the front and at the rear, free wi-fi
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Pot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?