We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Pot

Certificate of Excellence
$$
English
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Reading Road, Eversley, Hook, England
+44 118 973 2104
Website
Today
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Mon - Fri 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Sat 6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Privately owned Free-house under new ownership May 2014, stocking local...
Privately owned Free-house under new ownership May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines from Liberty Wines of London. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with daily specials on fish dishes and creative foods sourced from local suppliers wherever possible. Lovely 150 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs and group bookings welcome.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 159 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 42
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 10
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
Nice but slow

Have tried this a couple of times, really friendly and nice atmosphere of a village pub however although friendly food service was very slow both times and food has been overcooked twice i.e. burnt sausages, its nothing major and would try again but not great.

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 26, 2015
S R
,
Camberley, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
Add Photo Write a Review

159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

Have tried this a couple of times, really friendly and nice atmosphere of a village pub however although friendly food service was very slow both times and food has been overcooked twice i.e. burnt sausages, its nothing major and would try again but not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 NEW

Visited midweek with my family for my elderly grandmothers birthday as we wanted to take her somewhere special. We were initially attended to quickly and service was very friendly and helpful, and the interior looked lovely, but it swiftly went down hill. The second half of our party arrived 5 mins later but no one came to take a drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Hi Kirsty Really very sorry to hear this, please e mail me direct at gary@golden-pot.co.uk. I would like to know who it was that was looking after your table, what evening it was you visited and any other details you can kindly provide me with so I can fully investigate this. Please also pass on my apologies to your Grandmother... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The Golden Pot is one of our most favorite places to go, I always find the service, food and atmosphere really top class! I find all the girls that work here are very welcoming and always have a smile on their faces. We came in for the Valentines day me and my husband both had the Lobster Bisque and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Many thanks Jo F for your continued support, it is always a pleasure to serve you both and thank you for your kind review, we are glad you both had a good evening. We too thought the Kitchen excelled this evening and the staff worked hard all day and through the evening to serve a full restaurant which they achieved... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015 via mobile

Wow, is how I would like to start this post. The food on Valentines day was exceptional! My misses and I went for dinner last Saturday and we're well impressed with the food! They had a funky crab and salmon Amuse Bouche which was so fresh and bursting with flavours I couldn't even pick out. The starters we excellent and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review we are really delighted you enjoyed the evening and appreciate your feedback. We were delighted with the presentation and standard of food, my wife and I had a table too and having seen the hard work Rachel and her team put in that day to prepare this dinner, it really is rewarding for them to... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

A nice pub but wouldn’t go back again. We went for the Valentine dinner. Set menu £40 per head. For which our experience here was very disappointing. Quite clearly both the chef and staff don't understand the purpose of the muse-bouche (muse-bouchey as the staff called it) as it was included on the menu as a course and plonked down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post the review and we are sorry you didn't enjoy the meal. Sheila served you and she is not the owner or manager, I will speak with her as I would have liked to have had your feed back on the evening brought to my attention. It is sad that you were disappointed... More 

Woodley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015 via mobile

Good service and food. Starters were very good from the roasted figs to the duck terrine and the shared golden pot plate was enough for a snack lunch. Scallops not quite so good over powered by being wrapped in bacon. The skate was great and the chicken pie was good whilst the calves liver was enjoyed. Very enjoyable lunch making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are really pleased your family reunion went well. I really appreciate your feedback on the scallops, I have looked in to this as we order fresh scallops daily from the shells, which have been one of our top selling starters for some time now. However on looking in to this we were supplied... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We visited the Golden pot on a Saturday evening. We were told that we needed to be there at 7.30 to secure the table which we did. Sat down at the table at 20.00 order taken at 20.30 and meal finally arrived at 9.40 apparently they have a small kitchen and a new chef. However this did not prevent them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which is both surprising and disappointing, however I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and thank you for the compliment. We are generally fully booked most weekends, and with offering a full evening menu as well as a fresh fish board and a specials board, we do usually advise that freshly cooked food across this... More 

Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015 via mobile

visited last night for a girls night dinner. Service was excellent there when you needed them, knowledgeable and not intrusive. The menu has some different options to the norm such scallops wrapped in bacon, roast figs with blue cheese and some yummy sounding sharing boards. Starters wise we had the scallops and the figs, portion size good the figs were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Hi Jane Many thanks for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your meal and appreciate the feedback on all points. Hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Gary More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

The Golden Pot was our choice mainly due to the recent review comment from Gary the landlord about some obviously obnoxious customers. Say it how it is Gary! All I can say is it was a lovely evening having only booked two hours before we wanted to eat. The meal was superb, excellent choice and plenty of time between courses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Hi Heather Thank you for your kind review, it was great to see you and your family again and we thank you for your support !! Kind Regards Gary More 

Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Our experience here was very disappointing. Our grandson chose a pizza from the children's menu, it was thick with virtually no topping and tasted dreadful. It was like the pizzas we got in this country about 30 years ago, straight from the freezer. There was no greeting on arrival, even though I had booked a table and no interest when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
GP-Goldenpot, Owner at Golden Pot, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am not sure what went wrong with your Grandson's Pizza, they are the top selling Childs item on the menu and recently improved again as made fresh by our Italian chef Vittorio, who has produced some fantastic Italian dishes here with great reviews. I am also sorry you didn't receive the welcome you expected,... More 

Travelers who viewed Golden Pot also viewed

Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 
Eversley Cross, Hampshire
 

Been to Golden Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Reading Road, Eversley, Hook, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hook  >  Eversley
  • Phone Number: +44 118 973 2104

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 8 - 34
  • Cuisine: English

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

Privately owned Free-house under new ownership May 2014, stocking local cask ales and a large selection of quality wines from Liberty Wines of London. Home made food all prepared on the premises by our chefs with daily specials on fish dishes and creative foods sourced from local suppliers wherever possible. Lovely 150 year old traditional village pub "as they used to be". Children, dogs and group bookings welcome.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Monday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Thursday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Friday
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Pot staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?