We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose and Crown

Harefield Road, Rickmansworth WD3 1PP, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 47 restaurants in Rickmansworth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
8 visitor photos
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

nice location and good food. service was a bit slow but it was an extremely busy day. has a really nice country pub feel to it and cant compliment the food enough. good value for money and the portions were of very good size and the vegetables with the roast were very good and not the usual ones either!

Was this review helpful? Yes
near London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fantastic food in this quintessentially English pub. Never serves chips or fries - call 'em what you will - and the standard of fare is always exceptionally high as is the service and ambiance. A groupp of us go there most weeks and I can say that we've never been disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having not eaten here for a little while, it was great to be welcomed back like old friends by Marie and the team. As always, we were offered drinks as we perused the menu. We were served crisp, clear and well-pulled bitters, including their own real ale 'Ricky Rooster'. From the menu we both chose fillet steak cooked rare which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Service staff were alright, but not very friendly. The other punters were unwelcoming and management reacted totally incompetently to an incident. The food was cold and overall would not recommend this pub.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our friends booked this restaurant and when we looked on here we thought they must have made a rickett. We were so wrong. The staff were delightful when we first arrived. Arranging drinks and allowing us to our table early. A great choice on the menu and lots of more unusual things too, not just the standard fare. With 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sheila H, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

It's very disappointing to read a review like this but your description of your visit does not tally with any customers that we had on that day we would therefore be happy to speak to you in order that we can investigate your complaint further. Please call the pub at your convenience. More

London, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I used to come here a few years back, and it was always top food. Good Friday, I decided to take my GF, her sister and her son for a pub lunch at 16:00. I must say, the service at this time was great, and they seated us early. I was so excited for my gf and her sister to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

When I & family visit my elderly brother we always go to the Rose & Crown for lunch and a drink, and have done so for many years. It nestles in Woodcock Hill in the countryside about a mile or so from Harefield viilage, has a lovely garden for relaxing outside dining & drinking when the weather is good, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I love this pub and have been going to it for a long long time. It is like a picture post card with the climbing wisteria and beautiful gardens. In the winter there is a roaring fire and you can be assured of a warm welcome too. The new owners are working tirelessly to get things spot on and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila H, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Many thanks for the commendable review you gave the Rose and Crown following your recent visit. It is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Our new chef prepares a considerable amount of dishes from scratch and we are particularly proud of our home made puddings. Thank tou again for taking the time to... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We ventured over to Rickmansworth to visit the Rose and Crown and to sample the Sunday lunch menu after receiving a good report from friends who made a visit a couple of weeks ago. We were not disappointed with the lunch menu on offer. A good selection of Beef, lamb and chicken dishes all served hot and fresh with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila H, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive and glowing review of the Rose and Crown. Our Sunday lunch is proving very popular and we are continuing to improve the service that we offer to our customers. I hope that you will visit us again very soon. Many thanks. More

13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Firstly I'd like to say the staff were great, very pleasant and friendly however when I went for Sunday lunch this past weekend (my first ever visit) and I was served a cold half a chicken that wasn't cooked properly. Part of the chicken was bloody inside and the juices had a pink tinge to them, therefore it had not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheila H, Owner at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for the kind comments you bestowed upon our staff, who I have to say are extremely hard working and professional. Please accept my apologies that your meat was under cooked, I have looked into this with our chefs and I can only conclude that it was an error of judgement and absolutely not acceptable.... More

Travelers who viewed Rose and Crown also viewed

Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing