We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cafe in the Park

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Frogmoor Lane, Rickmansworth WD3 1NB, England
01923 711131
Website
Today
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An all-day dining venue with sustainability at the heart of everything we...
An all-day dining venue with sustainability at the heart of everything we do.Core menu with daily specials, all bread and cakes baked in house. Speciality coffee, British wines and beers. Many products sourced locally, all meat is free-range. Serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Head Chef - Will Hitchcock, ex-sous chef at Jamie Oliver's Fifteen, London.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 177 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 102
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Lovely food - sometimes too busy

really delicious burgers and street salad. Sometimes a victim of its own success - too busy on a summer weekend, but levying a small charge to park in the aquadrome would sort out some of the overcrowding problems (and raise much needed funds for Rickmansworth). Recommended.

4 of 5 starsReviewed June 2, 2015
Jonfun1
,
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Large groups
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 NEW

After a 30 minute wait we were presented with a small bowl of cauliflower cheese with a pile of leaf salad. A single rasher of bacon placed on top of the bowl for an extra £1.30. Disappointing. It was sad to see how far what was an excellent cafe with interesting and different food has slipped in a year or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

I'm a regular customer for coffee and a snack. It's quite a gem and I'd recommend it for good food, hospitality and a sustainable approach to business.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate the time taken. Carly More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This place has been described as a "victim of its own success" but I don't see a victim here! It's busy on summer weekends but what do you expect for a cafe that serves excellent locally sourced food and coffee to die for! Breakfast is a real treat here. As in the title of this review, one has a choice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

really delicious burgers and street salad. Sometimes a victim of its own success - too busy on a summer weekend, but levying a small charge to park in the aquadrome would sort out some of the overcrowding problems (and raise much needed funds for Rickmansworth). Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you are enjoying our food. We have now invested in a fantastic BBQ so that on Summer days we can offer a 'faster-food' service. We do agree that the wait can be frustrating at times, thanks so much for bearing with us. Carly More 

Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

The food was way overpriced. I had a Beef Burger that tasted like cardboard, served on a bit of wood, which I consider to be very unhygienic. The ladies toilet stunk of urine, was wet with splashes all around the toilet on the floor which I guess is why it stunk so much and the sanitary waste bin was overflowing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review

I can see you feel we have let you down in a number of areas, I will address each of them. We've never been told that our burger tastes of cardboard. In fact, we sell around 200 a week and we have spent the last year researching how we can improve our burger. We have found that a mix of... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

I went here with a few friends in April and found the service to be poor and the food was way overpriced. There were three of us, two had a sausage sandwich and one a scone with two coffees and a tea. We then decided to have two bits of cake, all of which cost us over £30. Quality of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review

Hello We were very disappointed to read your review, we know that our prices are not the cheapest however, the quality of ingredients we use are the absolute best so we like to think that we at least represent good value. For example, our sausage sandwich is made on our homemade granary bread, made fresh every morning. Our sausages are... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Just been to Cafe in the Park and it's the 2nd time I've received terrible service. I ordered burger and chips and the burger wasn't cooked, when the waitress finally passed my table she asked if I was finished not was if there a problem. I explained it wasn't cooked enough for me, she took the food away and when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cafeinthepark, Owner at The Cafe in the Park, responded to this review

Hello I am very sorry to read how disappointed you were. I have spoken to our team member who served you and she told me that she did offer to cook the burger for longer for you. We are very careful to explain on our menu that we serve our burgers slightly pink as this is how we feel they... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

The Cafe in the Park has to have the best home made sausage rolls around. I'd highly recommend the cafe for food and coffee. It does get busy and the queue can be long but it is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I went with my family to the Aquadrome and saw the cafe, we decided to go in and have some food. It was very expensive, and not that tasty so we will not be back again. I would make sure we have a picnic lunch next time we visit the Aquadrome again. Sorry but that is my opinion and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Great location in the aquedrome and a varied menu. However, this is not good value for money or outstanding quality of food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Cafe in the Park also viewed

Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Cafe in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cafe in the Park

Address: Frogmoor Lane, Rickmansworth WD3 1NB, England
Phone Number: 01923 711131
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Rickmansworth
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Monday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Average Prices: USD 6 - 10
Cuisine: British

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Frogmoor Lane, Rickmansworth WD3 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Rickmansworth
  • Phone Number: 01923 711131

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 6 - 10
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups

Description

An all-day dining venue with sustainability at the heart of everything we do.Core menu with daily specials, all bread and cakes baked in house. Speciality coffee, British wines and beers. Many products sourced locally, all meat is free-range. Serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Head Chef - Will Hitchcock, ex-sous chef at Jamie Oliver's Fifteen, London.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Cafe in the Park and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Cafe in the Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?