We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Louis

$$
English, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Glen road, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 2DE, England
01752 3399562
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 176 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 37
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 40
    Average
  • 22
    Poor
  • 28
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Ok...

Cheap ...you know what you are going to getting not the sort of place you'd go for a first date! But a good feed at a good price!

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 20, 2015
Lovetolunch
,
Plymouth
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

Cheap ...you know what you are going to getting not the sort of place you'd go for a first date! But a good feed at a good price!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

Not just about a carvery any more. Really great fish and chips freshly cooked to order. Also has the added bonus of having sky sports and the meals themselves are really reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We popped in for a carvery upon my teenage daughters recommendation. I went to get a table for four (there were two available) and was elbowed (yes really elbowed!) out of the way by an 80+ years lady intent on having one of the tables. Unfortunately I went for the other one and was asked - without really being given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Very good value for money, plenty of variety at the carvery and children eat free with a paying adult. Called in on the off chance and so glad we did. Staff friendly and helpful.would go again and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Staff very friendly food was great prices even better gets a bit packed at dinner times but we wait till 2oclock to go and it's quieter than

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Cheap but .............. Baked beans, chips and curry sauce as part of the 'carvery' on offer???? - sums it up for me!! I would be very disappointed if someone took me here for a special occasion. Staff very friendly though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. The reason for the beans, chips and curry sauce is due to the fact that we do not just serve a meat carvery anymore. There is fish, pie, sausage and half roast chicken all on the menu now and these additions compliment the alternitives on the menu and have been very popular with our guests.... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

great service and great food, and such a friendly atmosphere will definitely be returning!! got a warm welcome as well and got served very quick. keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again soon :) Kind Regards Jannine More 

Plymouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Cheap and cheerful, go in the week as prices are higher at weekends. Not posh but good hearty food.....................................

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review amd we are pleased to hear that you enjoy eating here. Kind Regards Jannine More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We recently had a sunday evening carvey here and were very disappointed to say the least. The roast is'nt particularly cheap at £7.50ish each but tastes cheap, the whole meal is tasteless and to salty including the meat, dried crispy edges on the dishes containing the beans/peas/gravy and mess everywhere on the counter, not exactly appetizing. The drinks were flat.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi. I am sorry to read that on this occasion we have let you and ourselves down, this is very disappointing to hear. We have recently changed cleaning companies so cleaning standards are back on the way up. I do hope you will be back to give us another chance and rest assured I have taken all your comments on... More 

Looe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Carvery - 3 meats, small plates, cold vegetables (even under hot lamps) sauces empty, poor service .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi. I would like to apologise for your recent experience with us, here at The Lord Louis we are very dedicated to delivering excellent customer service. On this occasion it appears we have let you down, we do hope you will come back and try us again. Kind Regards Jannine More 

Travelers who viewed Lord Louis also viewed

 
Plympton, Plymouth
 

Been to Lord Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Glen road, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 2DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth  >  Plympton
  • Phone Number: 01752 3399562

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 10 - 20
  • Cuisine: English, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lord Louis and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lord Louis staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?