We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Plympton Restaurants

Lord Louis

Glen road, Plympton PL7 2DE, England
01752 3399562
Website
Improve this listing
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Plympton
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: English, Pub
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    36
    27
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

We came in today with family for a birthday lunch, as establishment was recommended for the food. I am sorry to report the following :- The food was average, if somewhat over cooked. My main issue was the cleanliness of the establishment. When asked if everything was ok after the meal, I felt I could not be anything but honest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We have been here on several occasions and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. Last Sunday it was a total disgrace the place looked like a bomb had hit it.Went with family from out of town when we plated our carvery meal the roast potatoes tasted horrible NOT YOUR USUAL. A family member who had gone to the boys room nearly had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you have not had the best experience with us, I do understand that this has been addressed with you individually. If not please do let me know. Kind Regards Jannine More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

great breakfast all you can eat for 3.99 choose what you want to eat. As much toast as you like with butter jam or marmalade. nice friendly staff. Shame mushrooms are extra but what do you expect for 3.99.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast with us. In regards to the mushrooms being the extra 79p, although they cost extra they are worth it :) Jannine More

Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

had the half of chicken carvery. chicken was cooked to perfection. will definatley be ordering again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The half roast chicken is a recent addition to the menu here at the Lord Louis and we are very glad it is going down well. See you again soon :) Jannine More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

My family and i thought we would go down to the restaurant to a QUICK meal and a QUICK drink but was i wrong. First off, i thought i would have a quick drink while waiting for my family to arrive. I was stood at the bar for around 15 minutes. It doesn't sound like a long time to wait... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hello. Firstly let me apologise for the service you have receieved. Waiting 15 minutes for a drink is not acceptable and nor is cleaning up your own spillage! I will be speaking to the staff on duty on that day to get to the bottom of this issue. Thank you for taking the time to review the Lord Louis and... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

What an awful place! Water coming through the ceiling into strategically placed buckets! 2 starters ordered couldn't even manage to bring them out together! No mayonnaise - ever! Plenty of other sauces in bowls on table by the dripping roof/customers dipping fingers in to see what they were as they weren't labelled! Then even though I had ordered fish there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that you were disappointed on your visit to us. I would like to firstly apologise regarding our leaking roof. The roof was fixed last year and due to the recent nice weather this was not noticed until it poured with rain. This has been called out to our contractors who... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is the place to go if you are hungry and don’t want to spend a lot. We ordered the carvery and were given generous quantities of meat and a decent choice of vegetables.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us and hope to see you in the future :) Jannine More

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I've been here several times with a large family after a very long journey. Lord Louis is what it is: pay at the counter, take your own drinks, serve your own food and feel full. The food isn't spectacular but for the cheap price you pay it's good stuff. Great for families on a budget or looking for a quick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves on our price and value for money at the Lord Louis. Hope to see you again soon Regards Jannine More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very nice all you can eat breakfast :-) Been many times and plan to keep going, it is very tasty Very nice all you can eat breakfast :-) Been many times and plan to keep going, it is very tasty Very nice all you can eat breakfast :-) Been many times and plan to keep going, it is very tasty

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janninehill, Duty Manager at Lord Louis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoy our all you can eat breakfast!! See you again soon :) More

Plymouth
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Visited this place for a roast dinner and had to wait a lifetime to get served at the bar! This was then followed by a huge queue at the carvery to then be greeted with the scraps of dry meat that was left, no beef at only 6pm on a Sunday!!! When I asked for some chicken and gammon, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Lord Louis also viewed

 

Been to Lord Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Lord Louis?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing