We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 - 3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Ponteland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night

Hotels travelers are raving about...

Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    21
    9
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were at your restaurant last night for a friends 50th birthday. Our table was booked for 8pm and there was 11 of us. We order our starters which when arrived were lovely but when we ordered another round we only received 9 not the 11 we had asked for. The spring rolls that arrived were cold inside and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

I feel compelled to respond to your comments regarding your visit on saturday 17th January.As you would expect ,I have questioned all the staff present and it will not be a surprise to find their version of events completely different to yours.I did return to the restaurant shortly after your party left and i believe i have a good knowledge... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Very enjoyable evening excellent food, wine and service. Staff very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you Dawn for taking time to post your review about Princess Garden. If i have the right couple i was chatting with i think your husband was called Craig. It was nice to see you actually come in rather than your usual takeaway. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I would just like to respond to a review by MattRoss733, how can the food portions in this fantastic restaurant be small ? it is an all you can eat menu priced around £17-18 per head and only £12 on a Monday night, if you finish your dish then you simply ask for more and the quality of food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your support in your responce to the review by MATTROSS733. We are just as confused as you. I did report this review to tripadvisor as it reads like an advert for the other Chinese in the village but tripadvisor said its within the guide lines. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Princess Garden is the main Chinese Restaurant in Ponteland. It offers both a restaurant and also a takeaway service. I have been there quite a few times now and find the place nice! The food is always good quality and well presented. However unfortunately there are a few downsides. The portion sizes of each meal are outrageously small, you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about Princess Gardens quality food and saying its the restaurants to go to for a sit down meal. After reading your coments about portion sizes the price difference i decided for myself to get a takeaway from Merton Way. Im not sure what on earth you are going about as these are... More 

north east
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

We were at Princess Garden again for New Years Eve. As usual it was fantastic, the food, atmosphere and staff were truly great, will definitely be back. Could not fault anything. Thanks to everybody for a night to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review about our New Years Eve party and you were right it was a great night had by all...... we will see before the next one im sure....... Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Ponteland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Just home from Princess Garden, hadn't been for ages and thought it was better than ever. Really busy night and waiters were great accommodating us. Atmosphere super, food really tasty. Thanks muchly to owner for thoughtful gesture as we were leaving (sal + rob) We'll be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Hi Sal and Rob, Thanks for your kind words about you long over due return to Princess Garden. I would also like to thank you both for jumping tables for us it was a big help. Dont leave it to long to return and we look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Been going to Princess Garden for over a decade and never been disappointed. Changes to decor and staff over the years as expected but the food remains consistently gorgeous! Lady in charge was polite and professional but warm and welcoming too. Always a good night guaranteed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review. The lady in charge is Elaine. I will pass on your compliments to her. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Visited with my wife and son. We have visited this establishment on many occasions & once again the experience was positive. The food was tasty & the service was excellent. The staff are a lovely bunch who always make you feel welcome. Three very happy customers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

visited on a Monday night as was staying at the nearby Premier Inn.A revisit, as I had a great experience with friends last time we were in the area a couple of years ago, but it wasn't so great this time, it was just ok.A fixed price menu of £17.50 with a good choice it appeared the restaurant had recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post your review about you evening at Princess Garden. I am very sorry you did not totally enjoy the evening on this occasion,we did have a temp chef on the week you dinned with us and we did have a few negative comments so im sorry for that. We are open until 11.30pm so... More 

Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I live nearly 400 miles away but come here quite often due to having friends nearby. After 7 hours on the motorway there's nothing better than coming here for a meal ( and a drink after in the nice pub opposite, can't remember it's name now) The staff are always very friendly and welcoming, and there is an excellent menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you Ashley for posting your very complimentary review about Princess Garden. I think you might qualify as our longest distance away customer,its a shame but Derek will struggle with delivery for you !!!!!! Regards Paul Stephenson and hope to see you soon....... More 

Travelers who viewed Princess Garden also viewed

Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Been to Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Garden

Address: 1 - 3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Ponteland
Cuisine: Chinese

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Princess Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Things to do Nearby