We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Princess Garden

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
1 - 3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
Website
Add hours for Princess Garden and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 142 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 95
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Most recent review
My favourite Chinese because it's the best

t The choice and value here is not rivalled not to mention it is the best tasting Chinese I have ever had. Elaine and the staff are the most friendly and polite people you could wish to meet, they will do anything to make your dining experience better than it can be ( if that's possible ). I do... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 27, 2015
Chad T
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Good for:
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
  • Late Night
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

t The choice and value here is not rivalled not to mention it is the best tasting Chinese I have ever had. Elaine and the staff are the most friendly and polite people you could wish to meet, they will do anything to make your dining experience better than it can be ( if that's possible ). I do not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
north east
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

We were at The Princess Garden, Ponteland last night(2672/2015) for Chinese New Year celebrations. As usual it was a great night, free ood, staff and everything was first rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Attended the Princess Garden for a meal with 5 friends. The restaurant is decorated tastefully and set out with lots of room between tables, not all cramped together. The waitresses couldn't be more helpful and attentive but, once your drinks/meal arrived left you alone to enjoy them. The food itself was very tasty and well worth the money. Will definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

As a regular visitor to the Princess Garden restaurant I feel compelled to respond to what I perceive as unfair criticism of the food and staff on the evening of the 17th of January. I was present that evening when a young waiter unfortunately spilled a drink at a table. The conduct of some at the table following this was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Please accept my apology if your night was interrupted with this isolated incident. However i am very pleased to hear you enjoy each visit to Princess Garden. We look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

North Shields
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

Like a normal Chinese restaurant but they keep bringing you freshly cooked food!! Came hear for my birthday in January. Left totally full. well recommend!!!!!!!! '

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review about your Birthday celebration at Princess Garden. We look forward to your return, hopefully we dont have to wait until your next birthday. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

My husband and I dine here regularly. Always really busy as very popular . Lovely food great ambience . Fantastic value for money. Customer service has always been top notch . We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words in your review and your continued support of Princess Garden. We look forward to seeing you and your husband very soon. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Wylam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Table of 7 for a family meal on a Saturday night at 5.30. We were last here in Aug 2014 and sat in the same table. As usual with the Princess Garden over the years we have no complaints about service, staff or food. Drinks order taken and arrived swiftly, waitress then took food order and all went smoothly. Smoked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review on about Princess Garden. We are very pleased you have returned to Princess Garden and enjoyed yourselves again. My apologies if the soup was a little thick i will mention your comments to the head chef. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I have noticed that someone from the same party has already extensively commented on the meal that we had and the service that we received. And I would like to reiterate the experience!!!! This was my first visit to Princess Gardens and I can assure you that this will be my last visit. I have never in my life received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Can i please refer you to the review from Nicholas F dated 13th FEB. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

We were at your restaurant last night for a friends 50th birthday. Our table was booked for 8pm and there was 11 of us. We order our starters which when arrived were lovely but when we ordered another round we only received 9 not the 11 we had asked for. The spring rolls that arrived were cold inside and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

I feel compelled to respond to your comments regarding your visit on saturday 17th January.As you would expect ,I have questioned all the staff present and it will not be a surprise to find their version of events completely different to yours.I did return to the restaurant shortly after your party left and i believe i have a good knowledge... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Very enjoyable evening excellent food, wine and service. Staff very friendly. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barney1573, Owner at Princess Garden, responded to this review

Thank you Dawn for taking time to post your review about Princess Garden. If i have the right couple i was chatting with i think your husband was called Craig. It was nice to see you actually come in rather than your usual takeaway. Regards Paul Stephenson. More 

Travelers who viewed Princess Garden also viewed

Ponteland, Northumberland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Been to Princess Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 1 - 3 Brewery Lane, Ponteland NE20 9NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Ponteland

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Chinese

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Princess Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?