We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Henley Road | Claverdon, Claverdon CV35 8LJ, England
+44 1926 842210
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Under New Management Friendly atmosphere Home cooked Menu Open All Day...
Under New Management Friendly atmosphere Home cooked Menu Open All Day Every Day 11-11 Food served from 11-9 Mon-Sat Sunday lunch from 12-6pm BT Sports Shown A True British Country Pub in the heart of beautiful Warwickshire Village CLAVERDON Walkers, Societys, gatherings, everyone is Welcome at The Crown Inn.
read more
Good for:
Families with children
Outdoor seating
Breakfast/Brunch
Reservations
Delivery

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 92 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 49
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 5
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Most recent review
A real pub again!

Thank goodness this village local has returned to being a real pub with good pub grub! We are local but haven't been into The Crown for ages due to the attitude of the previous owner, his partner and extortionate prices. It's a joy to have our pub back and the new owners seem really friendly and... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 26, 2015
Albares8
,
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Good for:
  • Families with children
  • Outdoor seating
  • Breakfast/Brunch
  • Reservations
  • Delivery
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

Thank goodness this village local has returned to being a real pub with good pub grub! We are local but haven't been into The Crown for ages due to the attitude of the previous owner, his partner and extortionate prices. It's a joy to have our pub back and the new owners seem really friendly and eager to please. Five... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015 NEW via mobile

This pub is under new management and is excellent. Very welcoming staff and food is wonderful value for money. Would highly recommend. A nice change to the many gastro style pubs in the area, well worth a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW

Haven't been in for some time as the previous owner made it clear that he wasn't interested in having drinkers in the bar! Saw the new management signs and went in for a cheeky beer early doors on a Thursday. The new owner was very friendly and chatty. We have since been in on a Friday night and Saturday early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015 NEW via mobile

We visited for Sunday lunch having not been here for some time. Now under new management it is well worth a visit. It has been refurbished to a very high standard and the food is delicious. My daughter had the special of Morrocan lamb which she thoroughly enjoyed and my husband and I had the roast beef lunch. The meat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

Fancied a drive out with the family, after stopping at a couple of places in the area and left wanting we stumbled upon this quiet venue. Upon entering the establishment the first impression is of a traditional country pub with a small bar and pleasant company but not until you sample the food do you realise what a place it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sharon t, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

The Crown Inn is now under new management. The New management have returned this beautiful English Country Pub back to its full potential as a Country pub with a great home-made menu. Our new menu is full of British favourites at very competitive prices. We have had a mini makeover to provide a warm homely feeling throughout this fantastic Country... More 

Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This was our fourth visit for a meal and we have never been disappointed. The food is always freshly prepared and authentic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sharon t, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

The Crown Inn is now under new management. The New management have returned this beautiful English Pub back to its full potential as a Country pub with a great home-made menu. Our new menu is full of British favourites at very competitive prices. We have had a mini makeover to provide a warm homely feeling throughout this fantastic Country Pub.... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

This is a great place to eat. Bit of a contradiction, looks like a traditional british pub but once inside you are treated to wonderful Italian food. The menu was very extensive and they do cater for traditional british cuisine, but I would reccommend the Italian menu. It was really nice. The owner and staff were lovely and very helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Massimo B, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Dear Customer thank you, I am really glad to see that you liked the "Little Italian island" in Warwickshire. Hope to see you again soon! Arrivederci More 

Warwickshire, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

It seems pointless to put an in depth review as this Restaurant does not seem to want to learn from customer feedback. From their comments to other reviews, they seem to put any bad experiences down to the customer - they shoot the messenger without any realisation that they could be at fault in any way. All I shall say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Massimo B, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

What a long reflection... The deal with Groupon ended 5 WEEKS AGO! I really can't understand why if you "REALLY" had a "Terrible meal" you finished all the meal anyway! I usually take notice of my Customer comments, critics and suggestions. When they are real and constructive, not when, like yours, are UNREAL and totally DESTRUCTIVE! Anyway, if you want... More 

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Popped in on the way home from a hectic and stressful day. The Italian chap (I suspect the owner) was immediately chatty and served our 2 pints of Guinness (well pulled and really cold and crisp(. We hadn't booked but it was quiet so we got a table. We ordered 2 vegetable soups and two Lasagnes for total of £20... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Massimo B, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Dear Customer very glad you enjoyed the meal, will take notice of your comment, thank you. Hope to see you soon again. Arrivederci More 

Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I drive past the Crown regularly and my family really wanted to try the italian cuisine. Now I agree a Saturday night without booking - your asking for disappointment but we gave it a try. We arrived and the car park was empty so felt pretty positive we would get to eat. The approach to the restaurant is past the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Massimo B, Owner at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

This is a very strange review! You claim you came on a Saturday without a booking and when it was explained you could not be fitted in in that evening you left. How can you make a faceless complaint without even staying in my establishment? If things were so bad why didn't you ask for the owner? I was there!... More 

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Claverdon, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Henley Road | Claverdon, Claverdon CV35 8LJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Warwickshire  >  Claverdon
  • Phone Number: +44 1926 842210

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 5 - 23
  • Cuisine: British

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating

Description

Under New Management Friendly atmosphere Home cooked Menu Open All Day Every Day 11-11 Food served from 11-9 Mon-Sat Sunday lunch from 12-6pm BT Sports Shown A True British Country Pub in the heart of beautiful Warwickshire Village CLAVERDON Walkers, Societys, gatherings, everyone is Welcome at The Crown Inn.
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?