We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lakes Restaurant

Hempstead House, London Road, Bapchild ME9 9PP, England
01795 428020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $60 - $70
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wed - Mon 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Cuisines: English, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lakes is the restaurant of Hempstead House, a small family-owned country house hotel between Sittingbourne and Faversham in the glorious Kent countryside. It dates back to 1850 but Lakes restaurant was added in 1998, quickly winning awards from the AA, the RAC and the English Tourist Board. Its crystal chandeliers, fine china and cut glass provide an elegant backdrop to chef Matthew Levett���s accomplished interpretation of classical English and French dishes: fresh fish and meat is locally-sourced and fruit and veg come down from Covent Garden each day. Start with roasted tomato filled with goat���s cheese and served on aubergine cumin pur��e, then dive into yoghurt-roasted rack of Kentish lamb, meltingly tender from its marinade and served with bean and lentil casserole and boulang��re potatoes. Finish with passion fruit cr��me br��l��e or get the taster plate of coconut tart, Amaretto mousse and pistachio ice-cream ��� it���s heaven.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    64
    21
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Have been dining club members here for past 2 years but have been disappointed with steadily declining standards. Seems as though they are penny pinching - no longer offer selection of breads, always have to remind staff of special dietary needs, menu quality and variety poorer. On our final visit lamb hard as though it had just come out of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Lakes Restaurant, responded to this review

We are disappointed that these dining club members feel the standards in our restaurant are declining as we constantly strive to offer new and exciting menu choices made from fresh local produce. Each Thursday we offer 2-4-1 dining to all members and they are extremely popular evenings, giving guests the opportunity to enjoy a high quality dining experience at a... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Myself and my partner ate at Lakes as we were staying at the lovely Hempstead house hotel. And what a treat it turned out to be. After unexpectedly amusing our bouches with a delicious bocconcini, tomato, balsamic dressing type number, both of us shared a lovely crab cake and papaya salsa starter along side a scallop dish with burnt lemon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yet another perfect evening with Lakes dining at Hempstead House with the International magician Etienne Pradier entertaining to the highest standards and the perfect menu of superb quality food with service to match. Etienne was a magician who performed a different routine at each table and with a great personality he is without doubt a worthy act not to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

16 of us from a cancer support group H.O.P.E. visited Hempstead House for their Wednesday lunchtime special. We had a lovely afternoon. The setting is very pretty, the food was excellent and superb value for money and the service was friendly and efficient. Our members have asked me say that we all enjoyed the experience without exception and would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from the Lakes restaurant after an excellent meal. We were a group of 16 people for lunch and everyone really enjoyed their meals. We were a cancer support group and some of our party are somewhat slow and disabled. The car park does not provide very much in the way of disabled parking, but one member... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked a table for myself and my wife while we were staying local for a weekend away and was not disappointed. From the moment we arrived the service was first class. Food was very nice and very well presented. All the staff were extremely good including recommending local attractions for our stay. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I haven't stayed in the hotel but have used many of the facilities... I've had a number of spa days and treatments at aquamanda, which have all been wonderful and the staff are so friendly and helpful in there. Most recently my sister and I took my nan for afternoon tea for her birthday - it was a really nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minster, Sheppey, Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We decided to eat here for an evening meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary, from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave the staff are all very attentive and friendly. We were asked if we were celebrating anything special or just out to eat as we were shown to our table, so we just said quickly to celebrate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester,Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Did not enjoy the afternoon tea at Hempstead House. Gave the hotel plenty of opportunity to respond, which they didn't. So I called spoke to the person who was suppose to resolve, instead got given excuses, and untruths. Accused of not paying for hot chocolates. Would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Lakes Restaurant, responded to this review

I would ask that guests read the many wonderful reviews we receive about our afternoon teas and judge for themselves. More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

An excellent meal for two in very pleasant surroundings celebrating our wedding anniversary with impeccable service from the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Lakes Restaurant also viewed

Lower Halstow, Sittingbourne
 
Sittingbourne, Kent
Sittingbourne, Kent
 

Been to Lakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing