We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 26 Market Rasen Restaurants

Blacksmith's Arms

Hill Rise | Rothwell, Market Rasen LN7 6AZ, England
01472 371300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 26 Restaurants in Market Rasen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We visited the Blacksmiths Arms after many recommendation from friends, but we were very sadly disappointed! Even to the extent that we could say it was the worst meal me have ever had!!! Card machine was broken which was no ones fault. The soft drinks dispenser was also broken, I asked for diet coke to be told all they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife and I popped in here for a lunch snack, as we had already planned an evening meal elsewhere later in the day. However, as it was our 1st visit to the Blacksmith's Arms we decided to try the fare by each having just a starter, both of which were delightful. After this our taste buds were well and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Out with friends, we decided to meet up at the Blacksmith's Arms. Outside was a bit shabby, however we decided to give it a try. On ordering drinks unfortunately a pint had to be returned as it tasted awful, the bar person changed it without any problem! Ordering the food and waiting close to 3/4 of an hour did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

A relaxing, warm and welcoming atmosphere with an excellent choice of food - the 'specials' menu never disappoints!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lincolnshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I visit the blacksmith arms regularly and have had Sunday lunch a few times.The meal could be fantastic but is always let down by inferior vegetables.I have complained to the management but they can,t seem to understand.seasonal nice green veg would enhance their meals such as green veg. Ie broc,kale,spring veg,peas,etc. The blacksmith served myself and friends rattatioute(yuk),over cooked leaks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon B, Owner at Blacksmith's Arms, responded to this review

Hello Sabrinagolightly, Firstly I would like to apologise for not meeting your expectations when you visited us for Sunday lunch. All of our vegetables are fresh and delivered to us on a daily basis. We have a strict policy of not accepting substandard or inferior vegetables from our suppliers. Anything that does not meet our standards on delivery is returned... More

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Went here on Easter Sunday as a last minute hope of a nice meal as we hadn't booked anywhere and did a search via trip advisor! Rang in advance and they only serve food until 3pm so booked for 2pm (Sunday lunches times as normal i'm predicting). Booked 3 adults and 2 children but had a last minite extra and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lincolnshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We called in last night for a quick drink, along with our dog, Bracken (who was also given a drink but of the water variety!) Obviously, we checked prior to entering whether she could join us and we were delighted to discover she would be made most welcome as the policy is to welcome four-legged friends too. Anyway, we decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

and that's just this week! In my/our opinion this is without doubt one of the Lincolnshire Wolds best kept secrets! Home cooked well presented meals of exceptional quality,I have never been disappointed with any meals presented to me/us at the Blacksmiths Arms.You get what you pay for..if you are after cheap fast food then the golden arches is for you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I had a fantastic meal I had pan fried chicken with Diana sauce homemade chips and salad and it was delicious I went there with my sisters for my mum's birthday and the all enjoyed it so much my mum had a vegetarian lasagna which she absolutely loved u could tell it was all cooked there and then which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Have visited the blackies on a number of occasions, being a local and can honestly say its a great place to eat and drink. The staff are very attentive towards the customers and make the vists so much more personal and special. Food is always great and the team always welcome feedback. I went with a group of friends on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers who viewed Blacksmith's Arms also viewed

Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
Caistor, Lincolnshire
 
Market Rasen, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Blacksmith's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage Blacksmith's Arms?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing