We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woodman Inn

$$
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Manor House Walk | Burneston, Bedale DL8 2HX, England
+44 1677 426123
Website
Tuesday
Closed
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
Mon 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Wed - Mon 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sat 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Woodman Inn is a family run pub in the peaceful village of Burneston...
The Woodman Inn is a family run pub in the peaceful village of Burneston near Bedale. Now a Freehouse since taken over by Simon, Michelle, Megan and CJ in June 2014. Inside is a cosy bar, a 23 cover restaurant and 3 letting bedrooms. Serving good local ales, fine wines and quality food using locally sourced produce. This is a very welcoming place to everyone who walks through the door. Also welcoming your four legged friends into our bar area!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 31 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 stars
Friendly pub with great food plus a quiz

Had yet another brilliant night at the Woodman at their quiz night with scrummy food . It is so nice to have home made ,beautifully cooked chips rather than the pre-prepared factory made that so many restaurants pretend are "home made " . The quiz only costs a £1 and is great fun for all ages . My... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 26, 2015
suzywalker
,
Bedale, United Kingdom
Add Photo

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this restaurant
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 NEW

Had yet another brilliant night at the Woodman at their quiz night with scrummy food . It is so nice to have home made ,beautifully cooked chips rather than the pre-prepared factory made that so many restaurants pretend are "home made " . The quiz only costs a £1 and is great fun for all ages . My team ranged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Stayed here earlier this month and cannot fault anything in the slightest. The design of the room was very tasteful and we had a brilliant sleep. The food was very tasty and very well presented with extremely friendly and efficient service. Everything about our experience was nothing short of amazing and the family that have turned this property around are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I absolutely love this place, from what was an old tired property to what they have achieved now is nothing short of amazing! Credit where credit is due! The warmest welcome as soon as our party arrived it was something special for a lunchtime at a place that we'd never l thought would give us that kind of feeling. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We came here for an evening meal and were very disappointed by the quality of the food, which even for a pub, was poor. We had salad that was limp and tomatoes that were clearly past it yet both of these were described as ‘fresh today.’ Chips were soggy and looked and tasted very much like they were yesterday’s warmed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
meganc09, Owner at The Woodman Inn, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read your comments. We were aware of your complaint that your lettuce was "bruised" and your tomatoes soft in your Halloumi, which we changed immediately and explained the tomato was pan fried, to which you apologised admitting that you had not realised this and that our lettuce is brought in fresh daily, as with all... More 

Alnwick
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Popped in for lunch on the way to Masham, and not disappointed. We had Humous and Olives for Starters which were lovely, the wife had a Cheese sandwich and I had the Lamb Burger which was juicy and moist. We finished with a Coffee each which came in a cafetière and the food bill came to less that twenty quid.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Lovely dining experience...Lovely staff and lunch of outstanding quality at a very fair price .pleasant ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Had a couple of days in the area last weekend with friends and we both booked rooms here. The rooms are very new and beautiful, located behind the main pub building. They are large, with very good quality furnishings, it was lovely to have a sofa to sit on and watch TV rather than trying to get comfortable on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Enjoyed a very tasty meal. Traditional menu, service and value for money good. The only disappointment from our party was that the chicken pie was not a 'pie' but casserole with a square of pastry on top!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Just had our first Meal at The Woodman Inn.The service was excellent and the food delicious will definately be returning ,thank you .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

We had the pleasure of staying at the woodland inn for 3 nights. Following a long journey we received a warm welcome and shown to our double room, within a separately building to the back of the pub. Recently decorated, the room and accommodation was above expectation. Tastefully decorated and immaculately presented. Breakfast order and time requested the night before,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Woodman Inn also viewed

Bedale, North Yorkshire
Bedale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Woodman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodman Inn

Address: Manor House Walk | Burneston, Bedale DL8 2HX, England
Phone Number: +44 1677 426123
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Bedale
Open Hours:
Sunday 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Monday 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm  12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Thursday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Saturday 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm  6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Average Prices: USD $6 to $22
Cuisine: British, Pub

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Manor House Walk | Burneston, Bedale DL8 2HX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Bedale
  • Phone Number: +44 1677 426123

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD $6 to $22
  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Description

The Woodman Inn is a family run pub in the peaceful village of Burneston near Bedale. Now a Freehouse since taken over by Simon, Michelle, Megan and CJ in June 2014. Inside is a cosy bar, a 23 cover restaurant and 3 letting bedrooms. Serving good local ales, fine wines and quality food using locally sourced produce. This is a very welcoming place to everyone who walks through the door. Also welcoming your four legged friends into our bar area!
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Monday
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Woodman Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?