We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Inn

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
01373 831 244
Website
Improve this listing
This restaurant is at The Woolpack Inn
Add hours for The Woolpack Inn and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 145 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 55
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
A pleasant surprise!

I have to say that I visited The Woolpack not too log ago and had an average meal. But as it was reasonably priced, I thought I'd give it another try! I am really glad that I did. The service was excellent, with a friendly waitress ensuring that our dining experience was enjoyable. We visited on... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 30, 2015
B S
,
Frome, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015 NEW

I had a lovely evening meal at the Woolpack, the burger was delicious and came with possibly the best chips I've ever had as well as great local beer. It's a lovely pub with really friendly service and friendly locals who were very welcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your lovely review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards HTurberville More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 NEW

I have to say that I visited The Woolpack not too log ago and had an average meal. But as it was reasonably priced, I thought I'd give it another try! I am really glad that I did. The service was excellent, with a friendly waitress ensuring that our dining experience was enjoyable. We visited on a Sunday, which usually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will all look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards HTurberville More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Really lovely old pub with a great bar, restaurant and rooms. I only stayed one night but the room was clean and comfortable. I was in a room on the second floor right at the top and the beams were charming although I would say if you were tall you may hit your head especially in the shower! I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your brilliant review, the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards HTurberville GM More 

Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We ate here a few years ago & thought it was wonderful, so when we returned we were shocked to find an overcrowded restaurant serving poor food which was overpriced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occation. We do offer a menu that starts at £4.99 for main meals, we hope to see you again in future. Kind Regards HTurberville GM More 

Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

We had dinner with friends, attentive staff and local beer together with above average pub food rounded off a very nice evening. If you are in the area, seek it out as I don't think you will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Kind Regards HTurberville GM More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Went there with a friend and found that every thing we had was delicious. From the calamari to the gingerbread pear and toffee crumble with walnut ice cream. Would recommend the Woolpack every time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for leaving this positive review of your recent Visit. We are so pleased when guests enjoy everything about their visit. I will ensure your comments are shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Bryan More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

The Woolpack offers reasonably priced food in a cosy environment. Good vegetarian selection and lovely deserts. Will definitely be back for another visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for this lovely review. Really pleased that you enjoyed both the service and food you received during your visit and I hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area. Kind regards Bryan More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

The food was mediocre, tough steak, over cooked chips, awful fajita. Not good! This is now the second time we have had an unpleasant experience with the food at the woolpack, we shall not be eating there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback regards your recent visit with us. I was concerned to read the comments describing your meals . We usually pride ourselves on our range of food and Clearly we have failed to deliver on this occasion and will address the matter with the whole team. kind regards Bryan More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

nice and quiet place, good value food the room was comfortable and clean, and the local people were very pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and were happy with your rooms and with the service the team provided. Please come and see us again very soon. kind regards bryan More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Great atmosphere, excellently cooked food at very reasonable prices. Service was fast, efficient and un-pressured. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for this encouraging review....so glad that you found us and that you enjoyed the food, service and location during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Bryan, General manager More 

Travelers who viewed The Woolpack Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 2 Warminster Road, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Frome  >  Beckington
  • Phone Number: 01373 831 244

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Woolpack Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Woolpack Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?